We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's House Hostel
Ranked #58 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple nights in September in a private double. The rooms are basic but that's offset by the amazing breakfast variety and the very laid back vibe of the hostel. The owner Pablo is really helpful and I'd definitely recommend the waterfall tour that he does, great fun! Great location, very near to supermarket & bus station. Might be hard to find hostel the first time you get there though!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank liketotravel0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Backpacker's House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 95 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

i stayed only 2 nights in this hostel. but would come again anytime. its a lovely hostel with a friendly owner. and the breakfast is great!! the best i ever had in a hostel. its 2 minutes away from a big supermarket and the bus station. and only 10 minutes to town. i really recommend this hostel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina25887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely little hostel run by very nice people. It was so nice to be in a homely environment. The place is spotless, the breakfast is amazing and the staff can't do enough for you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jr27387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had a great time at this hostel - 2 full days. I did a boat tour recommended by Pablo on one day (excellent value for money at 30R, and a really good trip). The second day I visited a waterfall that you can slide down, and then spent the afternoon/evening exploring the historic centre and walking up to the fort.

The staff weren't particularly friendly when I first arrived. It is a family home, and there are always lots of family friends around. I tried to sit with a group of them, but they didn't make much effort to welcome me. That said, when Pablo hosted a BBQ a few nights later, there was a great atmosphere among both guests and family friends - the BBQ was excellent.

Rooms are fine, possibly a bit musty, but not bad. Kitchen and bathrooms are clean enough. As everyone says, the breakfast is the best I've ever had in a hostel, and it is a good opportunity to chat to other travellers as people tend to sit around together. There is a nice 'living space' with sofas to sit and chat at.

There are other hostels inside the historic centre and on the beach, but Backpackers House really is only 5min walk from the centre and 10/15min from the beach - not far at all. Paraty feels safe to walk around, and the hostel is also right next to a supermarket and the bus stop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We ended up in this hostel by accident. However it proved to be a very good accident. The staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to help you. There is a possibility to rent bikes for excursions through them as well. The rooms are clean and fine although a bit crowded (8 per room). The staff will help you if you want to go on kayaking tours or bike tours and get you sorted with all of that. Beds are fine and rooms are ok, just a bit crowded as said since you'll be quite a few per room. Breakfast is a real hit. Loads of fruits and plenty of other things as well. Quite a bit more than usual in hostels. I really liked this place, and would re om end it to anyone searching for good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

By far one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Very good location, two seconds from the bus station, right behind a supermarket, 5 minutes to the historic centre and 10 minutes to the beach. Pablo the owner is fantastic and definitely deserves all the praise he gets on here and on hostel world. He welcomes you into the hostel as if its his home and makes you feel very comfortable. If you need any information he's the man to ask. He knows everything there is to know about Paraty. The tours he runs are also amazing, just ask and see what's on. We went on both the kayaking tour and the waterfalls and cachaca tour, both of which were incredible and a fraction of the price of what the agencies in the centre charge. The hostel is well equipped with plenty of sofas, a TV, a computer and printer and many swinging chairs and hammocks. The terrace upstairs is a lovely way to get some peace and enjoy the sun. There are DVDs and playing cards you can use, and the hostel is just generally somewhere you can relax. The best thing about he hostel was the food. The most amazing breakfast you will get when travelling (all included in the price!). The table is laid with fresh fruit, fresh bread, meats, cheeses, vegetables, scrambled eggs, cake, fruit juices etc, just fantastic. As well as this some evenings Pablo puts food on for and amazing 15 reals. We had Lebanese food, homemade pizzas, empanadas and BBQ. The food was of an amazing standard, especially the pizzas which we watched Pablo make from scratch. Some of the meals came with free caprinhas - the best I've had in Brazil. The atmosphere at the hostel is like your in your own home, which is very nice when travelling. Pablo's daughter also gives the hostels homely feel, she is very full of energy and keen to chat and play with the tourists. A fantastic stay which we extended from two days to a week!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Nicola11491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

When you arrive in Paraty by bus you will find Backpackers House just around the corner of the busstation, with some nice snack outlets and a supermarket as neighbours. So the location is great, the breakfast -as others mentioned- as well with lots of fruit and cakes and decent cheese and ham.

The place itself is rather old and eventhough it is very clean, it always looks a bit dirty. But the rooms and bathrooms and kitchen are all kept very clean. And relaxing in the hammocks was great.

Not only travellers like this place, mosquitos love it here as well. And too bad that the provided mosquitonets contain even more holes than there are mosquitos, so just bring your mosquitospray.

The staff was very friendly and helpfull (Adriano is great!) though at night you could feel like being with a family that you are not a member of. Luckily i´s not a partyplace so you can get your nightrest. All in all a great place if you want good breakfast and a convenient location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.1 mi away
Vibe Hostel
Vibe Hostel
#27 of 268 in Paraty
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carpe Diem Hostel
Carpe Diem Hostel
#7 of 268 in Paraty
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bossa Nova Hostel
Bossa Nova Hostel
#26 of 268 in Paraty
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hostel Canto Caicara
Hostel Canto Caicara
#52 of 268 in Paraty
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maracuja Hostel
Maracuja Hostel
#4 of 268 in Paraty
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Canguru Hostel
Canguru Hostel
#3 of 268 in Paraty
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's House Hostel

Address: Rua Adelmar Coelho, 20 | Corner With Manoel Torres, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Price Range: $18 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homely hostel with good breakfast included, 2 shared rooms and to suites; kitchen for guests, and many common areas including terrace, deck and swimming pool, bbq, tv room etc. We organice pizza nights, bbqs, and other common dinners, and also day trips including our waterfalls trip, boats tours and kayaks day. English spoken, and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker's House Hostel Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing