We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast, pizza and caipirinha make up for everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's House Hostel
Ranked #48 of 236 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast, pizza and caipirinha make up for everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited in a busy time. Though we made the reservation long before lots went wrong so we had to move dorm bed three times and even once to a befriended but not as good/clean place. We did get compensated a bit. And besides the breakfast is the best we had in a long time and the home made pizza with caipirinha was brilliant. Atmosphere is what makes the hostel very good though. There are better hostels closer to the beach but Paraty is nice to walk around so we didn't mind the location ten minutes from the beach, five from the historical center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
2
20
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I usually do not complain when I pay a low rate but this place was so nasty, buggs were running all over the place when you mattress is almost on the ground, it was awful, not to mention the bathroom. The management also partied all night so we couldnt sleep at all and people come and goes out of nowhere, no even guests.
Security wise, it was a disaster, our jacket got stolen and to make it perfect, they canceled our reservation so we couldnt leave any feedback on hostelworld. Well you can on tripadvisor! Very unprofessional and again super super dirty...and i promise that i am usually very fair.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliviadh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloparaty, Proprietário at Backpacker's House Hostel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
we NEVER had buggs, there is a locker for each costumer, This is not a party-hostel, and we don´t stay too late, never...só if you feel so bad with people talking better go to a normal hotel. The people that comes and go here are staff, costumers and some family or friends that helps us or people that works with us (like the Kayak guide). Your comment is dirty, and completely diferent of the other people reviews that stay at the same time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great location: The hostel is very close to the bus station (where you take the bus to all the beaches) and only 5 minutes from the historic center! Good kitchen facilities, helpful staff and clean! The last night I stayed there the hostel owner, Pablo, made all-you-can-eat amazing pizza and all-can-drink caipirinhas for just 18 reales pr person - we had so much fun! The breakfast is the best ever: different kind of cheeses, bread, a lot of fresh delicious fruit, scrabbled eggs and fresh juices.
I have been traveling around in South America for 2 months now and it has been the best hostel

Room Tip: Get the dorm upstairs! It has more light and is cleaner and newer than the one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mettefr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013


Do not stay here whatever the pictures look like. It was absolutely vile.....crowded dorm with dirty mattresses and tiny 3 tier bunks not suitable for anybody over the age of 3.

The common areas being the outdoor porch and the owners lounge were full of bric-a-brac/crap and felt like they were crawling with insects. Shower room was tiny and a note saying 'please be brief' was on the wall......not very inviting and you would need a long shower after sleeping in those bunks

The 'swimming pool' was a makeshift hot tub in the back garden full of dirty rainwater which should have been covered up if not in use.

Needless to say,we left half an hour after we arrived,happy to depart with one nights charge for the pleasure of not having to stay there. The owner however was a nice man but not enough to make us stay - sorry Pablo

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lh1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pabloparaty, Proprietário at Backpacker's House Hostel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
who sent you?obviously you are interested to lie as you do....money 4 it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed only 1 night, since we pre-booked our bus tickets to Sao Paulo, but if we haven't we have probably stayed more. Very nice hostel, very good and relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast is incredible. Definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Happened upon this hostel near the bus station in Paraty while with a traveling companion. Pablo, the owner is a great conversationalist. Many resources for activities while in town. Just a few blocks from colonial center and affordable restaurants on main drag. They will do laundry for a reasonable charge and hold your bag if you check out but not leaving.
Clean bathrooms with good water pressure. Nets on bunks.
Even though not a "party" hostel, a bunch of us bought ingredients for capirinhas and had a little Cocktail hour.
Oh, and the MOST AMAZING BREAKFAST EVER! Amazing!

Room Tip: It's a hostel. Also have double rooms for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glowballerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
City Center
Hostel Recanto Azul
Hostel Recanto Azul
#68 of 236 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Vibe Hostel
#22 of 236 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic City Center
Breda Hostel
Breda Hostel
#2 of 236 in Paraty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Casa Anis Hostel
#195 of 294 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's House Hostel

Property: Backpacker's House Hostel
Address: Rua Adelmar Coelho, 20 | Corner With Manoel Torres, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 236 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homely hostel with good breakfast included, 2 shared rooms and to suites; kitchen for guests, and many common areas including terrace, deck and swimming pool, bbq, tv room etc. We organice pizza nights, bbqs, and other common dinners, and also day trips including our waterfalls trip, boats tours and kayaks day. English spoken, and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker's House Hostel Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing