We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brunello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Brunello
Ranked #29 of 291 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed early January 2013 and were made very welcome. We liked the location so near the beach, also the pool was ideal for our 4 year old, who liked to try out his Portuguese with the reception staff. Generous delicious breakfasts, with variety of home made cakes, bread, fruit and juices. During our 5 days nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Rooms were clean and tidy, Place was quiet, lovely terrace to sit and watch the world go by, with plenty of places to eat acroos the road on the beach. Air conditioned rooms are really welcome with mosquitoes outside in summer time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view from your balcony-we did and had not even asked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    98
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
93
95
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great Place. It’s located in Jabaquara beach, besides Paraty to the north, you can walk from Paraty centre but is a bit of a walk maybe 20-30 minutes. If you are by car is very easy.
They have free parking at the hotel but is also easy to park on the street. It’s by the beach but the water although clean and warm doesn’t look very good as various other places around but is a nice environment in overall and close to a few bars for drinks and even some food.
The rooms are well very clean, nice and simple, the breakfast is great and the best of all is the staff, they are very friendly and helpful for anything!! On our last day we needed to check out but we were spending the last day on the beach so they offered to take care of our luggage and a bathroom for us to take a shower before traveling home, but as the room wasn’t booked or anyone they allowed us a late check out. They push a little bit on some ours which I guess they get a commission, I am o sure their suggestion for the scuna trip was the best (we went on Banzay) but well not their fault.
There is a swimming pool in the back of the hotel and they offer anything you need for mosquitos. There are lots of mosquitos anywhere in that region.
The only problem is that in our room there was a gap in the wall where the air conditioned is, so this was allowing mosquitos but they said they would fix.
The prices were far better than any hotel in paraty.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put besides the reception may get slightly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel based on the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Although we knew beforehand that the hotel would be simple, we expected it to be better than it actually was. Although the staff was friendly and tried to accomodate to all issues and the breakfast was good, the rooms were tired (with a lot of airholes so muskito's kept coming in despite keeping windows and doors closed) as well as the common area's such as the swimming pool (if you are in the pool and look towards the main part of the hotel it really looked run down). I think a lick of paint could already make quite a difference. The place next door looked more appealing to us.
When choosing a place in Paraty you should really consider whether you want to be near the beach (as this hotel is) or nearer to the city center.

Room Tip: Do choose a room with aircon. Probably saves you some muskito damage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMH-Rdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This Inn is right across the street from the beach! The front desk is really friendly and will answer all your questions and book tours for you too. Breakfast is reasonable with: a variety of breads, scrambled eggs and hot dog sausage in tomato ketchup sauce, 2 types of cold cuts and 2 types of cheese, fresh fruits, and a large assortment of desserts. My favorite was the lemon cream pie, it was delicious! We were 3 people and they gave us a room with a double bed and 2 single beds.

It is a 20 minute walk into town. There is a big hill going and coming back from town so it is not just a flat road so make sure you are wearing shoes you can walk in. Old town is all cobbled stoned so you really want to make sure you wear proper shoes or it might be quite uncomfortable to walk around town. There are no cars allowed in that area so it is all just for people and the horse and buggies. The stones are are of all different sizes and is a bit awkward to walk on when it rains. Also please note is that it rains a lot in Paraty. I wished some reviewers had mentioned this but if you come here, make sure you pack an umbrella and a rain jacket and proper walking shoes.

If you want to cab it to and from Town, it costs $25 reais in nov 2012. If you want to take a cab back to your hotel, you need to ask someone, either the shop owner or the restaurant to call you a taxi to bring you back to the hotel.

There a lot of stray dogs but they don't seem to bother anyone so just know that they won't really bother you. They will just look at you and walk past you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xotravelxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilha Solteira
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

To all who are considering going to Paraty, I warmly recommend Hotel Brunello. It is a really nice place with clean nice rooms, friendly staff. In front of the hotel is nice beach restaurant and also really preaty beach.
:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anamarija A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

nice place. next to the beach. 15 minutes of walking from center city. they a small barril de cachaça that you can try for free. they have day trip you can choice in the hotel. great place to eat near by the host that have different prices. Defenitly one of the best places I stayed in Paraty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobjetSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have been 14 people and spent one night in Hotel Brunello. The service was very great and we had a lot of questions and wishes which had been answered very precisely and in the same way as we wanted it. So we are very glad that we had the possibility to get some rooms there. Thank you Guilerme and friends :) !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gui_Tribo, Owner at Hotel Brunello, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello Markus, Thanks for your rewiew, we wait you all here again. All the best for you. Gui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.2 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#23 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jabaquara Beach Resort
Jabaquara Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Jabaquara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paraty Bungalows Hotel
Paraty Bungalows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Jabaquara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pousada do Atoba
Pousada do Atoba
#38 of 291 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pousada L'essence
Pousada L'essence
#21 of 291 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Mar Azul
Pousada Mar Azul
#24 of 291 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunello

Property: Hotel Brunello
Address: Av. Jabaquara, 14, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 2397, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brunello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Brunello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brunello Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing