We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Paradise!”
Review of Vila Volta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paraty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vila Volta
Ranked #28 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise in Paradise!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great quiet place near Paraty. Loveley pousada, big, beautifull, clean, incredible food and very nice people. You can also do trekkings 1-4 days wich are very nice! We were sorry to leave. There is also a nice small spring to swim and hang out!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EvelienBrons B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I Know Paraty very well, I know many places over there, but definitely this is the best place and my favorite!

You can relax with the surrounded, the sounds of Nature the beauty of the Atlantic Forest and of course with the great welcome of André and Dus!

I fell at home also because of the great evenings of conversations and the most health food you can ever have.

P.S As far you are from car's, noise and to many people you can enjoy a place like this and feels like you been in a therapy.

Room Tip: Dilma Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LarissaPantanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We, 17 girls, had a great time at vila vilta, gert is an amazing chef and made us a wonderfull breakfast/lunch/diner, which made us feel right at home. Andre took us on a guided tour and showed us the best the forest and beached had to offer. The acommodations during our hike were also great. They have a nice natural pool and the rooms has a nice atmosfere. We would one day love to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EsmeeBlijdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Best stay in paraty: most friendly hosts, best cooking, beautiful surrounding, amazing tracking etc etc.
With 16 girls we had 3 lovely days in paraty, and even the weather wasn't great they did everything to make our stay the best!
Gert & andre, you're the best. Thank you for the memorable stay at vila volta!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is one of the fewer places that we always return. Pousada Vila Volta is right into the Atlantic Forest, surrounded by trees of all kinds, with a natural pool, extremely good taste on its decoration, surprisingly delicious food prepared by Chef Dus de Bruine. The place is run by Andre and Dus and they surely know how to bring home hospitality to the place. A must is the highest house on the hill.

Room Tip: rooms above kitchen may have some food smell and bother the most critical noses... the room far away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This pousada is a 'must-go' for all of our visits to Brazil, and it has now been the 4th time we visited this place, and every time again we wished we could have stayed longer. What makes this rustic place so special is the excellent, very personal service provided by the owners (it almost feels like visiting good friends) and the location, natural and very, very quiet, in the middle of hills covered by forest. The place is worth staying a whole day in the hammock, chilling and enjoying the sounds of nature. One of the (very) few places where I'm able to 'let go'. And not to forget a perfect place to watch a perfect sky full of stars at night!

There are three rooms offered in the 'main house', where also the communal areas like kitchen, breakfast/dining room are, and uphill there is a separate building with three larger rooms. Rooms are rustic and all have a nice, creative touch to them. Breakfast is always offered with fresh, homemade bread and if wished for, dinner can be prepared as well. Gert is a good cook and always manages to prepare out of the ordinary dishes, which we like as a variation to all the typical food offered by the restaurants in Paraty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicoutimi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

More than once we went to Vila Volta. It's always a pleasure to be there and we're eager to go back again. The natural pool and sauna are excellent to relax. The cooking is awesome. It's quiet and cozy. We love it! Guys you rock!! If I had my own, it would be exactly like that.

Room Tip: Up the hill, the red house has a big room on the second floor with a giant terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tin691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.6 mi away
Pousada Orquidea
Pousada Orquidea
#238 of 294 in Paraty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
3.7 mi away
ReMo Hostel
ReMo Hostel
#14 of 248 in Paraty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ytororo O som das aguas
Ytororo O som das aguas
#139 of 294 in Paraty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pousada dos Deuses
Pousada dos Deuses
#75 of 294 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
7.0 mi away
Happy Hammock Eco Guesthouse
5.7 mi away
Canguru Hostel
Canguru Hostel
#3 of 248 in Paraty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Volta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Volta

Property: Vila Volta
Address: Estrada de Pedras Azuis, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Volta is a pousada but looks like a friends' house, located in the middle of the well preserved Atlantic Rain Forest, 11 kms far from the center of the historical city of Paraty, South coast of Rio de Janeiro State, Brazil. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vila Volta Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing