We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A piece of paradise”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Living area/ balcony
The house on arrival by sea
Nearby Praia Vermelha
Praia do Bare, closest beach
View of the house from approach
Location, reached only by sea
Saco de Mamangua
SUP heaven!
Snorkeling at nearby Ilha Comprida
In front of house
we have 2 double kayaks
BBQ with a view!
Breakfast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
LauraEvan...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We loved the tranquility of Casa Cairucu, set right on the water in the bay. The house has everything you need- we enjoyed using the BBQ, the kayaks and snorkels. Being able to dive off the deck for a swim and kayak to a nearby bay was amazing. The setting is quite remote which is what we were after following a busy time in Rio. Paraty is a boat ride away from the house, a lovely colonial town. Casa Cairucu is ideal if you're looking for a getaway and to lose yourself for a few days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyGoad
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Paradise in Paraty”
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed at Casa Cairucu for 11 days in December/Jan and couldn't recommend it enough. The house is beautifully positioned, a 20min boat ride away from Paraty- right on the edge of the jungle and the see and the views are magnificent. The owner Simon was incredibly helpful in organising our stay and with tips on things to see and places to go when we were there and helping with car and boat transfers. We spent almost every morning going out on the boat with the wonderful Luis to discover the nearby islands and beaches which the children loved. The water is incredibly clear and warm and we did some great snorkelling- and twice saw Turtles from the pier at the house. There are lots of little beach restaurants for lunch serving very simple local fare. Before you arrive at the house you are sent a shopping list of things so the kitchen is well stocked upon your arrival, and the maid Adriana comes in every morning to make beds, do laundry and some cooking. The nearest shop is in Paraty so if you are staying a long time you do need to do another shop there one day as there is nothing near the house. There are two kayaks at the house which we used most days to go to local beaches or to visit the monkeys on the island opposite. Anyway all in all a great stay and incredibly helpful owners - we couldn't recommend it more highly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspirati...
1 review
“A dream family holiday”
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Casa Cairucu for a week with friends and a whole bunch of kids. It was a dream holiday which exceeded my expectations in every way. The house and location are really beautiful and there is so much to do. We swam, snorkeled, kayaked, used SUPs, took boat trips to Paraty and various beaches and lagoons and walked through the rainforest to jaw-dropping local beaches. We saw rare golden lion tamarin moneys, turtles, dolphins and all kinds of brightly coloured fish and birds. The kids were in wildlife heaven! There is a great team on hand to look after guests. Adriana, the house keeper, took wonderful care of us. Harry translated and guided for us, whilst Louis is a boatman extraordinaire! And we ate like kings thanks to Adrianna and a number of small local restaurants that are easily accessible by boat. And there's an extra treat in store if you go swimming at night....
I would go back in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly42rc
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in a perfect location”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Casa Cairucu was the perfect place to relax and spend Christmas with my family and I would highly recommend it. The villa is in a stunning location a 20 minute boat ride from paraty. It overlooks the bay with a lovely view from the deck and the 3 double bedrooms. There are hammocks to relax in and sun loungers which we used on the deck by the pier. The swimming is perfect from the pier and there is a small beach a short swim away. Adriana, the housekeeper, looked after us extremely well cooking delicious meals and her husband Luis took us on a great boat trip. Simon and Fabiola, the owners, were extremely helpful in organising our trip arranging a transfer for us from Sao Paolo airport with Claudio and arranging for food to be bought for us. Harry, a local guide, who met us in Paraty and took us to Casa Cairucu was excellent and arranged everything we needed. This is a very special place which I would highly recommend and would like to stay in again if we go back to Paraty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmd6
london
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great way to start our honeymoon”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Harry picked us up in the car from Rio de Janeiro and drove us to Paraty which took about 4 hours. Harry speaks English and was very interesting and informative on Brazil's history and current affairs. He is also the translator for the guests as the other staff did not speak English.

The house is only reachable by boat which takes under 20 minutes from the main quay. It has 3 en suite rooms, lots of outside area with double hammocks and a spacious living room with glass walls so you can look out at the magical views. There is a decent size kitchen, a good sound system with lots of CDs to choose from, kayaks and snorkeling equipment.

There is a choice of meals you can order for your dinners before you get there and Adriana, who cooks and cleans the house each morning, can prepare it for you so that one only needs to heat it up in the evenings. You also have to order what wines you want for your stay there before you get there. Adriana also prepares breakfast every morning for you. There is a washing machine which you can give Adriana your laundry to do. Her husband, Luis, can take you on a boat ride anywhere for a cost. There are lots of islands and beaches to explore.

This is the most romantic place I have stayed at, partly due to having it all to yourself once Adriana has left in the morning. We stayed for 3 nights and I wished we had another night. There is a phone provided with Harry, Adriana and Luis' numbers saved so you can call for help if needed. Paraty is also a gorgeous town, very colourful and picturesque.

The negatives : you are in the tropics so there are bugs. We found a cockroach in our room and in the living room. You could probably ask Adriana to spray the rooms if you were uncomfortable with it. The generator didn't work one evening but we used that opportunity to have a super romantic evening with just candles lit. A place I would love to come back to.

Suggestion : We had to switch on the generator each afternoon for 2-3 hours which was a bit noisy and it's also easy to forget. Perhaps Adriana could switch it on in the mornings when she arrives and switch it off again before she goes.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2015
Dear Anna and Jonny, wonderful to read you loved our house so much, and we hope you can come back one day!

As for bugs yes they are a reality of the tropics but we do our very best to minimise them as much as we can.

We have solar panels which provide electricity during the day; at night we need the generator for a couple of hours to provide light and recharge the batteries. Electricity should be arriving soon (long promised).

Very best and congrats! Simon, Fabiola and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George M
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and stunningly diverse wildlife in tasteful and serene private villa”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My girlfriend and I had the privilege of having Casa Cairucu all to ourselves but there was plenty of room for three couples or more. The house is well equipped with a bbq, books, snorkelling and kayaking gear, stand up paddle boards etc. The house comes with a maid who cooks delicious local cuisine and keeps the very tastefully decorated house immaculate. Harry, a local guide and friend of the owners, is also on hand to provide any information you may need.

We spent most of our time reading in the hammocks or kayaking around the local area. We were luck enough to spot dolphins, golden tamarin monkeys, capuchins and many other interesting animals. I particularly recommend a walk or kayak to one of the local beaches (40 mins) Praia Vermelha which is pretty much deserted in the mornings and you really feel like you are on a desert island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Insects
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Adriana the housekeeper
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing