We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Paradise in Paraty”
Review of Maris Paraty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maris Paraty
Ranked #1 of 298 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Little Paradise in Paraty”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stela's and Neto's Pousada is the perfect place for a quiet and special stay in Paraty. They take great care of their guests, make excellent recommendations about what to do, where to eat in Paraty and are just lovely people. The rooms are very spacious and make you feel at home. The breakfast on the private porch is simply uncomparable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaDGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
172
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were delighted to find Maris, a peaceful stylish and comfortable oasis within easy walking distance of the historic town centre. Neto could not have been a more attentive and informative host. A wonderful room and a great pool too, and really great value. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadridPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Lovely bungalows, spotless and bright, with breakfast on your private patio in the morning. What makes it special, though, is the level of care and attention provided by Neto and the staff. They made us feel completely at home, and Neto took the time (even before we arrived!) to recommend great things to do and make sure we knew how to get there. Couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay,Neto and Stella made us so welcome and gave us great tips for restaurants and places to visit.
The accommodation was perfect,very well furnished,spotlessly clean and great breakfasts delivered to your own patio each morning.Well done x

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FleurDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Maris Paraty is perfect. From the welcome we received from Neto to the style and standard of accommodation and everything in between. Could not be faulted. We had a lovely self contained bungalow with a little kitchenette to make coffee and tea. Everything was squeaky clean. Breakfast was delivered to our bungalow and was delicous and very filling. The bungalow has a very private feeling with nobody overlooking you - in fact there are only two bungalows.The walk into town is very scenic along the banks of the river and it is only about 5-10 minutes into the centre but we did get a bit distracted by the wonderful beers at the micro brewery on the way... Neto was full of helpful information and went out of his way to ensure that we had everything we needed - including a hairdryer! (Not always available in Brazilian hotels so take your own). The pool is a wonderful way to relax after a busy day out and about.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vouliagmeni, Greece
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Pousada Maris was an extremely pleasant surprise. Located just outside of the old town of Paraty (easy walking distance), it offers a clean, comfortable and personal accommodation. Staying there felt more like being at home than at a pousada. Residents are given their own spacious bungalow with a kitchen, bedroom and toilet/shower. The bungalows are laid out in such a way so that complete privacy is ensured. Also, each bungalow has its own veranda with dining table (and hammock) where a delicious breakfast was served every morning!

The accommodation combined functionality and comfort. All facilities were brand new, tasteful and well kept. The garden (a passion of the hostess) is impeccably kept and creates a very relaxing atmosphere. the accommodation also includes indoor parking space.

All staff were extremely polite, friendly and offered plenty of advice on sights and dining within and beyond Paraty. Overall an excelent experience.

Vassilis

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vassilis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Maris Paraty is a unique place of peace. Starting the day with a fine breakfast, where the small staff is attentive to guests' preferences. Later, after enjoy the many options of Paraty, a relaxing pool bath prepares the mind for another experience. The sound of the birds and the smell of flowers after the rain is definitely striking. Awakens the senses. I'll be back whenever I get a chance.

Room Tip: All rooms aer excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristides2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
516 reviews
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
548 reviews
Pousada Villa del Sol
#18 of 28 in Paraty
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eliconial
#4 of 298 in Paraty
694 reviews
Historic City Center
Casa Colonial Paraty
Casa Colonial Paraty
#3 of 298 in Paraty
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maris Paraty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maris Paraty

Property: Maris Paraty
Address: Rua Beija Flor 11 | Cabore, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Maris Paraty is small and exclusive with only 2 bungalows and one suite. It is ideal for those searching for tranquility, romance, privacy and sophistication. The Pousada has a beautiful tropical garden and a swimming pool area, where we can serve drinks to our guests. Our rich breakfast is served at the room's private terrace. The location in Caborê neighbourhood allows fast and easy access to Historic Centre by a 10 minute walk along the riverside promenade, while ensuring a silent and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maris Paraty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maris Paraty Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing