We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday - can wholly recommend this...”
other travelers have booked this property
Main Deck and View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Deck and View
Hammock on Main Deck Sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Main Deck and View
Hammock on Main Deck
Sunset
Casa Tartaruga
Main House Entrance
Sunset
Main House deck
Sheltered beach by dock
View from private dock
Main House Living Room
Main House Living room
Main House - View from Living Room
Main House Master Bedroom
Main House - Living Room
Main House - View from Master Bedroom
Main House Bathroom
Inside Dining Area
Dining under the trees
View from deck
View from the sea
Stone House - Blue Bedroom
Stone House - Turquoise Bedroom
Stone House
Stone House
Fisherman's House Living Room
Fisherman\'s House Bedroom
Local restaurant
Nearby Beach
View from decks
View from deck
View from deck
Sunset from the dock
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lyn H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday - can wholly recommend this property.”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The house is new, but beautifully designed to fit into the exotic trees and plants of the surrounding rainforest. Both the living room and master bedroom have vista windows which make the most of the stunning views/sunsets across the bay. We swam every day from the beach and pottered round the local islands and restaurants by boat. Boats can be hired with ease, as Yara the manager is permanently on call and looked after us so so well. An appreciative word here also about Suelee the cleaner who busied herself each day with our housework, and Tipa who tamed the gardens. The colonial Portuguese town with cobbled streets is said to be the best town for tourists in Brazil, and I wouldn't argue with that. People should remember that the property is only accessible by boat which was the good news for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility and views
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fiona W
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blissful”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a wonderful place to relax after 3 weeks of International travel. The views are stunning and the access to small, practically private beaches perfect. It was lovely to be able to pop over to Paraty but return to peace - especially as we were there during the Music Festival. The house if gorgeous and has everything you need. Yara, the manager, perfectly balanced making sure we had everything and allowing us the peace and tranquility which we wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prizz22
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Myself & 7 of my friends stayed at the Casa Tartaruga for 5 nights during our World Cup Adventure in Brasil. We are the adventurous type and we loved the fact that the house was off the grid.

Yara was an exceptional host and helped us coordinate travel to and from the house on a regular basis as needed. She also helped set up a driver to and from Rio and also a great, affordable day trip (snorkeling, booze cruise, etc) on a boat with a very friendly and fun crew.

The house itself was nothing short of amazing and we throughly enjoyed our stay. I hope that we will have a chance to visit again in the future. Our time in Paraty and at Casa Tartaruga was huge highlight of our very memorable trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Boat taxis tough to arrange without Yara
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewed January 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LuizPenno
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing house in a fantastic location!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a large group of 4 couples, and stayed at the house for a week.

The house has spacious and well decorated rooms, bathrooms with very good showers, a fully equiped kitchen, satellite TV and wi-fi connection. It accomodated all of us very well.

Yara, the manager, did all she could to help us during our stay: took care of buying all the groceries prior to our arrival, so when we got to the house everything was already there and stored (an the beer super cold!); because we were a large group, she arranged for someone to come everyday from the city to bring us extra-ice for the beverages, which was a great idea; and arranged for someone to clean up the house everyday, prepare breakfast, etc.

We had a great time, and we are already planning our next stay at Casa TArtaruga!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo M
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
“We found the paradise!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

It was definitely much better than we all ever expected! The place seems the paradise...nice and calm sea just in front of an amazing house rounded by trees.
Very comfortable rooms and well equipped kitchen for the cooking lovers. We loved and will return for sure! The only recommendation is to plan very well the food if you plan to stay for a long period, because there is only 1 refrigerator. (that was not a problem for us, but needs to be thought)
Enjoy it!!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing