We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not the second best Hotel in Paraty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Resort Croce del Sud
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is not the second best Hotel in Paraty”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Luca is a delightful man and I wish him well. His property has spectacular views and it is fairly priced. However it is very basic and does not have the facilities one might expect from a four and a half star rating. Clearly given the ratings he has received this is what most of his guests want.We come from Northern Europe and found the bedroom unbearably hot at night and the single fan in the bedroom was not up to the job and noisy. Maybe we stayed in a particularly hot period.

We stayed in a number of other four and five star trip adviser rated properties in Brazil and this frankly does not compare.

As I said before I wish Luca and his staff well in their venture and if a back to basics stay is what you want you won't get much better.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    83
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
149
209
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I absolutely loved this place! Great location with a stunning view of the bay. It's also within walking distance from a beautiful beach and a nice restaurant. Great service, including a fabulous breakfast and clean rooms. The owner is a nice guy who will tend to your every need. I'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Georgous views and very tranquil setting. Luca and his staff were extremely friendly and helpful, with the multi-lingual Luca providing tremendously tailored recommendations on beaches and other attractions. With his directions all of these points were very easy to find and just a short drive away. The handmade and delivered breakfasts were all locally sourced (on site), very tasty and delivered at a time of your choice - a huge benefit to those traveling with kids that wake up early!

The chalet itself was extremlely comfortable, and convenient for families, especially with the kitchen and downstairs for additional sleeping space. The one caution we would recommend is that if you are traveling with small children you will need to be aware of the steep stairs and loft. While these are no problem for older children (maybe 8 and up) you want to be careful with younger children. This one caveat aside, the whole family loved this location, and found it to be an extremely relaxing way to explore both the town of Paraty, as well as all the surrounding beaches. Just be ready to wake up early as you are close to nature (birds will start singing very early…) Strongly recommended, particularly if you are driving!

Room Tip: There are only three chalets and I believe they are all same. But we stayed #3 and that had a safety...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat_Family33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

An eco friendly hotels with gorgeous view and peaceful area. No tv, no wifi, hardly even got handphone's signal, but it's suited to our purpose to run from the busy Rio de Janeiro. Love the layout of the open space room..where the bedroom at the top of the room, overview the living room. Just have to be careful with the long & high stairs, especially for small children & old people. The owners were very friendly..they made homemade breakfast mostly from the garden..really delicious. Overall, it was a great stay in Croce de Sul! For sure we will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rini F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were planning to spend 3 days in Croce del Sud. It was so good that after the first day, we immediately booked an extra day. The view, the lovely breakfast and the surroundings are great. Good tip is to walk to the bay and ask one of the fishermen to bring you to one of the islands. We spent a full day on an island completely alone!
Waking up in the morning to the sounds of nature is enchanting and if the weather allows it, you will see one of the most beautiful star lit skies ever. We highly recommend this to all our friends and are sure to come back for more and to relax a bit from the busy life in Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastiaan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Croze del Sud.
The resort is situated 10km from Paraty so it's better to have a car. It is on a hill which give you the best view of the bay of Paraty. Wonderful when you wake up in the morning.
No sound of traffic, parties... Just beautiful nature.
The host Luca is a charming and welcoming person who really loves the area.
His wife makes the most delicious home made breakfast we had in our 3 weeks trip to Brazil. Everything is fresh and from the garden. Banana cake, passion fruit cake, coconut pancakes... Hummm!
The chalet is confortable and for families.
Thank you !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingwe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place is really fantastic- incredible views, wonderful hospitality, rustic feel. We stayed only for two nights and had a rental car (essential by the way, if you are staying here). We took advantage of the surrounding hills to do some hiking and get some even more incredible views, and we also could very easily drive into Paraty. We loved how this place offered a peaceful retreat. You also get to do all of the thins you could do in Paraty and much much more by staying here, such as seeing some of the surrounding areas, views, mountains, etc. The bungalows/apartments are very well maintained, super clean, and the staff is so kind. They bring you fresh breakfast - all of which is homemade and with much of the food being home grown (on the property) every morning and at whatever time you request, which you can eat while enjoying the beautiful Paraty bay views. It's no wonder this place was voted traveler's choice 2 years in a row!

There's also a very pleasant beach just down the hill and across the Br-101 which we unfortunately discovered only on our last day (although Luca, the owner, had told us about it).

Only thing to be aware of is that the walls between the apartments are a bit thin, so if you are a light sleeper, you probably want to bring ear plugs. But if you enjoy the sounds of nature, you will get that here and sleep soundly.

An absolutely wonderful stay and I hope/plan to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieruelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
3.9 mi away
Chale Recanto da Praia
Chale Recanto da Praia
#9 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pousada do Ouro
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pousada Caminho do Ouro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pousada do Sandi
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#8 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Croce del Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Croce del Sud

Property: Resort Croce del Sud
Address: Rodovia BR-101, Km 565 | Morro da Praia Grande, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paraty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the peace of a large estate, resting between the ocean and the rainforest, three stylish garden flats with enchanting view over the bay of Paraty are waiting for you. Designed and built to offer to its guests an ideal holiday in a charming place, is located just a few minutes from the historic town of Paraty, near to the fishing village of Praia Grande and to one of the most beautiful beaches of the region. Open only to a few exclusive guests, the Resort Croce del Sud is the ideal place for an unforgettable holiday. * Enjoy the space, the confort and the privacy of a private home, with all the finest facilities of an hotel. * Relax in a natural surroundings, enjoying a privileged view of the beautiful bay of Paraty. * Enjoy our delicious natural breakfast in the quietness of your flat. * Prepare a romantic dinner in the equipped kitchen of our flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Resort Croce del Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Croce Del Sud Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing