We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, relaxing and a little far away from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Resort Croce del Sud
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing and a little far away from the city”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We had an amazing stay at Croce del Sud. Every morning, breakfast would arrived promptly at 8:30am, beautifully served and wrapped in banana leaves. We ate overlooking a spectacular view. It rained for much of our stay in Paraty which was too bad, but it didn't kill our morale. Instead of exploring the beaches, we read for hours on the deck sitting on a swinging chair and looking at the clouds move across the bay and the mountains. Not bad!

We did have one half day on a quaint, under explored beach before the rain settled in. It was only a 20 something minute walk from our room (down a steep hill), through a small fishing village (with men loading their catch of the day into ice filled trucks) and there was a little bar by the beach where we drank coconut cachasa drinks and ate mediocre fried calamari.

Only 4 stars instead of 5 because it really was too far from the city center to not have a car. We relied on the bus, which was fine, but it took at most 45 minutes (with the construction project going on the main road) to get into Paraty. And in the evenings, we had to be very vigilant to make sure we got off at the right stop through dark, foggy windows. If you stay here, expect to either be isolated (this was our most relaxing part of the trip). If you want to stay in Paraty and go out to bars late, maybe not the most convenient.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms. I imagine they're all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    83
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
149
209
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We (my girlfriend and I) stayed for 10 days at the Resort Croce del Sud. Besides the fantastic view and quite atmosphere the owner Luca is very friendly. The small size of the place makes it unique with great personal service, which you can not find in bigger places. The breakfast is delicious and carefully prepared with fresh ingredients. It is recommended to have a car to explore the area but there is also a bus going to Paraty frequently. Overall I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a great stay and really enjoyed the wonderful breakfast which was served in our room sitting on the balcony enjoying the beautiful view. Only downsides are the car noise from the street at night and the "moving" bed

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Reise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Resort Croce del Sud. Luca met us as we arrived and made sure we were settled. The views were fantastic from our porch, the villas are new and very nice with custom furniture and hand made decorations.

We will definatly return. The breakfest was all fresh and I already miss it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rzd7h0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

the only place in the world that the reality is much more beautiful than the photos!
pure joy!!!
the owner- Luca and his lovely wife are a rare and honorable people!
the view, the cabin and the service are top notch!!!
Ami Haim Israel

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amihaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We spent a quick 3 days here after our wedding in mid June and Luca was a wonderful host.
Great value and warm hospitality.
The views are breathtaking and the breakfasts terrific
We arrived late ( around midnight) but Luca came down to meet us. Our room was decorated with flower petals (my wife had told them this was a honeymoon) which was a really nice touch.
The "resort" is really 3 bungalows overlooking the bay with glorious views greeting you in the morning. It was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. There's a full kitchen equiped with everything you need (except sharp knives or bottle opener) and a lovely balcony with hammock. The bedroom is upstairs loftstyle with the high ceilings giving a comfortable feeling of light and space.
Be forewarned its hard to spot the entrance to the property at night. When we did find the right turn off we had a steep dark climb up a winding narrow (very dark) lane. Its much easier to find during the day. Common to many hotels outside of the major cities, they don't accept credit cards so a reservation via deposit is complicated if youre not Brazilian ( Brazilians can transfer money via ATMs). I'd say its essential to have a car if you stay here as its about 10 minutes to Paraty proper. Resort Croce del Sud is great value and a wonderful base from which to explore the area.. 5 STARS!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We arrived at night (later than expected) and Luca, the owner, was the model of helpfulness and a gracious host from the outset. This continued throughout the 5 days we had the pleasure to stay here. Both him, his wife, and staff truly understand how to make their guests at ease and welcome, not mention providing a wonderful service which rivals the best hotels I have stayed in. It has the added benefit of feeling like a home.

Waking in the morning to a breath-taking view was amazing, and it continued when going to open the door to the most wonderful fresh breakfast delivered in a hamper. This was repeated every morning, with different delights, all freshly prepared, and presented with care and thoughtfulness. The little touches like fresh flowers, and banana leaves wrapping the food, added to the feeling of genuine care and attention, confirmed on eating! A great way to start the day.

A further illustration of their personal attention, was a special birthday dinner which I had asked for them to arrange, and serve in the chalet. This was taken care of while we were out for the day, and was presented as a surprise on our return. The table set with white linen, flowers and candles. The basket arrived with great food, good wine and a lovely dessert. A truly memorable evening and great way to end the day for someone special.

Of course the location, with it's views, beaches and the near-by historic town of Paraty are all part of the experience - all unforgettable, and within an easy reach by car, taxi or even buses.

Over-all I could not recommend this place enough, and Luca and his family are part of what makes it so special. It is true to what it offers and is a little bit of personal paradise!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DVAL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
3.9 mi away
Chale Recanto da Praia
Chale Recanto da Praia
#9 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pousada do Ouro
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pousada Caminho do Ouro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pousada do Sandi
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#8 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Croce del Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Croce del Sud

Property: Resort Croce del Sud
Address: Rodovia BR-101, Km 565 | Morro da Praia Grande, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paraty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the peace of a large estate, resting between the ocean and the rainforest, three stylish garden flats with enchanting view over the bay of Paraty are waiting for you. Designed and built to offer to its guests an ideal holiday in a charming place, is located just a few minutes from the historic town of Paraty, near to the fishing village of Praia Grande and to one of the most beautiful beaches of the region. Open only to a few exclusive guests, the Resort Croce del Sud is the ideal place for an unforgettable holiday. * Enjoy the space, the confort and the privacy of a private home, with all the finest facilities of an hotel. * Relax in a natural surroundings, enjoying a privileged view of the beautiful bay of Paraty. * Enjoy our delicious natural breakfast in the quietness of your flat. * Prepare a romantic dinner in the equipped kitchen of our flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Resort Croce del Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Croce Del Sud Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing