We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Paraty's unspoilt areas the adventurous way”
Review of Paraty Explorer

Paraty Explorer
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Kayaking Adventure in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Try something different in Paraty! Guided Sea Kayaking (suitable for inexperienced paddlers), Hiking & Stand Up Paddling (SUP) trips on the green coast from Paraty by specialist tour operator. Day trips & multi-day trips available in the Bay of Paraty, the Atlantic Rainforest and Mamangua Tropical Fjord. Paraty Explorer also offers shore excursions, guided tours of the old town, the Gold Trail, jeep tours and cultural, educational and community based tours. Try something different and experience a fascinating and fun side of Paraty!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Visit Paraty's unspoilt areas the adventurous way”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Most operators in Paraty offer tours in a 4x4 or a schooner. Paraty Explorers covers similar areas but allows you to do it in more environmentally friendly way, and you get some good exercise along the way!

We took a bus and small boat and hiked up the Mamangua Sugarloaf (reviewed separately). Other excursions are available.

They offer walking, kayaking and stand-up paddleboarding. Don't let Google fool you - they don't have a physical address, so a phone call is the best way of getting through to them. They are very accommodating and Michael, our guide, was friendly and helpful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lelionrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique experience of a beautiful fishing village”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We hiked along gorgeous beaches, to stunning waterfalls and in thick forest. Our overnights were spent in a beautiful fishing village of 300 people, with no electricity or internet. It was a wonderful and unique experience to witness their lives, watch them fish, and enjoy their beautiful village. Our guide spoke great english and could translate for us in the villages. The food was caught fresh and cooked before us - and it was great. This was more than a hiking trip - it was a glimpse into another world.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 154943Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The previous reviews pretty much sum it up. I too had been in contact with Michael months prior to arriving in Brazil. He was responsive and even helped us find plans for New Year's Eve. My wife and I did the Gold Trail (great way to get history lesson on the area) and the trip to Sono beach which was unbelievable. Rodrigo was our guide and he lived up to the hype the other reviewers raved about. I will recommend these company to anyone.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Guides, beautiful location, customized adventure-tourism”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My brother and I had an AWESOME trip. Michael the owner treated us like family. We got exceptional service with great value and laughed the whole time. We took a 3 day hike to Ponta Negra, saw some amazing scenery, swam at secluded beaches, and climbed waterfalls. We even got to go net fishing with the locals. Back in Paraty Michael helped us find a place to stay on the beach for a good price. We sea kayaked a day in the bay which was spectacular. We did another day hike and had a rafting trip arranged which was great. The paddle was a bit technical but that made it all the more involved and fun. We spent a half-day canyoning which was arguably the most fun I have ever had! On the last day Michael helped arrange a tour guide for us in Rio for a few hours prior to our flight home. The trip of a lifetime with my big brother!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great warm weather Sea Kayaking on the Green Coast of Brazil”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I was interested in finding an accessible area to enjoy a natural experience in Brazil. Paraty is it! Paraty is full of islands and secluded tropical beaches. With Paraty Explorer I was able to experience this area in my preferred method of travel, sea kayak. They provided expert guiding with a solid connection to the local culture and environment. Our guides live and work in this area and clearly enjoyed meeting us and showing the region that they love. I hope to return to explore more.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nkl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paraty Explorer also viewed

 

Been to Paraty Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing