We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard rooms, good location, relaxing place”
Review of Magnu's Pousada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnu's Pousada
Ranked #20 of 294 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Standard rooms, good location, relaxing place”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Pousada grounds is cute, relaxing and cozy but as there was three of us the room was too small. They put us in a room with a double bed and bunk bed which could have slept four and left less space for a trio of three girls.

The bathroom had a lot of ants, round the toilet seat, the walls and floor, was not nice! It was uncomfortable to sleep if on top bunk as the air con blasts out at you. The TV (not that you need to watch as there is soo much to do in the city) was ridiculously old and all Spanish.

The breakfast was basic, not bad but the Pousada obviously suffers from Ants. The staff are around 24/7 cleaning which is brilliant so it is very clean. The computer is available 24/7 and the reception/ lounge is comfortable to chill if you please.

When we arrived they had an amazing map of the streets and tours on offer and we did a lot via Paraty Tours which is one road away and reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl_guide_to_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    137
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
86
90
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Staff was helpful and friendly, clean rooms, nice breakfast, good location, no hammocks, too small a pool. At Magnu's they have a fair policy in the sense that I was able to book 2 rooms with them in March when all other hotels blocked their rooms while they waited for better asking prices. Also a week before our arrival, we suddenly were 4 teenagers instead of 3 and therefore needed an additional room or an extra bed in one of the rooms. Magnu's just put 4 beds in one of the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aura4Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a simple and cozy Bed and Breakfast very well located, close to the Historic Centre, pharmacies, restaurants and the most important attractions in Paraty.
The staff was very helpful and friendly since the first contact (thanks to Raphaela), I took a group of 15 people, the bedrooms are clean, good mattress, and you can have a very good breakfast (many fruits, cakes, different breads, juices...) by the (small) pool.
You don't need a big budget to stay here, and there's a security guard at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lúcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We arrived in Paraty with no reservations, but armed with several trip advisor B & B recommendations. Well, due to lack of a decent map, we were unable to find any of them. I parked in the square and my husband went hunting a came up with Magnu's Posada. It is a little gem about 1/2 block from the historic Colonial Old Town and 2 blocks from the bus station. Being outside the limits of old town brings the price down considerably. We had a nice room overlooking a not very noisy side street. The owners speak no English, but are very friendly and it is possible to negociate prices with pencil and paper. Breakfast very nice with fresh fruit, ham, cheese, rolls and great Brazilian coffee. Be advised, if you plan to leave town on the bus, book when you arrive, buses fill up fast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.0 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada Rosa Cafe
Pousada Rosa Cafe
#90 of 294 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Conchas De Paraty Pousada
Conchas De Paraty Pousada
#93 of 294 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pousada Mar Azul
Pousada Mar Azul
#26 of 294 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Paisagem
Pousada Paisagem
#13 of 294 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pousada Magia Verde
Pousada Magia Verde
#32 of 294 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnu's Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnu's Pousada

Property: Magnu's Pousada
Address: Rua Jose Vieira Ramos, 78, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 294 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnu's Pousada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnu's Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnu's Pousada Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing