We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest”
Review of Geko Hostel Paraty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Geko Hostel Paraty
Ranked #16 of 299 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Reviewed January 30, 2012

To make a long story short, they improperly charged us and since they had our credit card information and we were on vacation just kind of stopped arguing and let happen. Not a nice place, bathrooms big downer. They are literally a hundred better places to stay than this one...

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank IHateDaysInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GekoHostel P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Costumer,

On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please know, this is not the experience neither the hostel nor I want to deliver to our guests. We are very concerned and we want to assure you that we take this matters very seriously.

This missed opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by. To ensure that this will never happen again, we are working hard improving our internal organization in order to offer the best travelers experience we can.

We appreciate your message regarding the deficiencies in care during your stay and any inconvenience.

We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers.

Please count on our cooperation and understanding, and please accept our sincere apologies. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided.

Once again, apologizing for what happened in the provision and continuing.

Sincerely, Camila.
Manager – Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 326 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

The hostel is beautifully located by the beach, but the beach is not the best. I only saw some locals bathing there, all the tourists went to the nearby Trinidade (possible by both car and bike) with beautiful beaches. The walk from the hostel was short to the docks (where a lot of popular boatrides departed from) and to the historical centre of Paraty, where you could find a lot of great restaurants, shops and bars.

I slept in a dorm with about 10 beds, the comfort was what you can expect of a cheap hostel. Shared bathroom which was a bit too dirty for my taste, and the security of the rooms was not the best - the doors were open all the time, and occationally a stray dog would lay sleeping in the enterance of my dorm. Well.. No lockers as I can recall, so you had to bring valuables with you.

The hostel rented out surfboards and bikes, and they also arranged barbeque-night. The hostel also had a bar outside, where you could by deilicious caipirinhas etc. and hang out with the other guests. A couple of computers located at the reception were to be used by the guests for free.

Room Tip: The dorms are ok if you can handle sleeping with other people and sharing a small bathroom. It´s che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggimaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed in a 12 bed dorm with one shared bathroom... on further inspection the shared bathroom was without a toilet, a plastic bin covered the hole in the wall where the exposed plumbing made for a seriously unpleasant (and unhygienic) smell.

On returning to my bed after eating out in the Historic Centre I was told that a stray dog had been camped out there for a few hours. Nice.

Filthy beds, filthy bed linen, filthy towels, filthy rooms.

The whole hostel appeared to be waiting for a non-existent maid to come and clean up.

Thankfully I was only booked in for one night so was able to get the hell out of there in less than 24hrs - how this place gets good reviews is beyond me.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngryIrishGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

If I were in your shoes, I’d feel just as you do. I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced.

On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please know, this is not the experience neither the hostel nor I want to deliver to our guests. We are very concerned and we want to assure you that we take this matters very seriously.

This missed opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by. To ensure that this will never happen again, we are working hard improving our internal organization in order to offer the best travelers experience we can.

We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers.

Sorry to have caused you this inconvenience. If there is any possibility, we would offer the opportunity to return on another occasion.

If you want to accept the proposed offer for you contact us.

Please count on our cooperation and understanding, and please accept our sincere apologies. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided.

Once again, apologizing for what happened in the provision and continuing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and the big plus point is the location - it is right beside a nice beach and only about 3-5 minutes walk into the town centre. Unfortunately the bad points outweigh the good, the staff couldn't care less, sometimes it looked like they were the ones on holiday, playing loud (terrible) music and hanging about drinking or using the hostels computers to mess about on facebook instead of working.
The rooms were quite shabby but ok for the price, the bathroom looked about 40 years old and had tiles falling off the wall, could def have done with some updating. Also the rooms were not cleaned once in the four nights and when you consider that the toilet paper can not be flushed you start to get an idea of how disgusting and smelly the whole hostel becomes when nobody is emptying the bins in the bathrooms!!
Overall it's ok for the price but if you can find somewhere in a similar location for the same rice I'd stay there instead!

Room Tip: Get a room as far away form the reception as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ss1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This hostel is right across the street from a great little beach. The hostel also offers free breakfasts (at the bar on the beach!), inexpensive dinners (also at the bar on the beach!) AND free pre-dinner caipirinhas, which bring most of the guests out to the bar and helps creates a very open and friendly atmosphere. The rooms are small and simple, with fairly thin walls, so it helps to be a heavy sleeper. A community kitchen is also available for those who want to make their own meals. What makes this place great is its location and other services (ie meals, daytrips, transfers from the bus station) that are offered here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AggieR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed here last weekend. The sheets and towels had been washed but were stained. The room and bathroom was damp and mouldy. The windows did not close properly. I woke up covered in bites and not sure if mosquitos or bed bugs. The staff were very helpful and it is right on the beach but really needs a thorough clean and re decorating.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

If I were in your shoes, I’d feel just as you do. I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced.

On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please know, this is not the experience neither the hostel nor I want to deliver to our guests. We are very concerned and we want to assure you that we take this matters very seriously.

This missed opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by. To ensure that this will never happen again, we are working hard improving our internal organization in order to offer the best travelers experience we can.

We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers.

Sorry to have caused you this inconvenience. If there is any possibility, we would offer the opportunity to return on another occasion.

If you want to accept the proposed offer for you contact us.

Please count on our cooperation and understanding, and please accept our sincere apologies. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided.

Once again, apologizing for what happened in the provision and continuing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed in a twelve bed dorm for $29 reais each per night. This was two six bed rooms with one bathroom between everyone. Bathroom was not great, toilet leaked when flushed, floor always wet and dirty, nowhere to hang towel/clothes. Rooms had no a/c, just a big fan in each, pretty noisy. No filtered water available either, had to buy bottles. Staff were friendly, the bar is cheap and they do good cheap dinner/ BBQ each night, great if you're on a tight budget. Overall not bad but they could easily improve it with a few changes.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crowbar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel Paraty, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work.

Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.

Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#22 of 28 in Paraty
365 reviews
Hostel Sereia do Mar
#76 of 299 in Paraty
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic City Center
Breda Hostel
Breda Hostel
#1 of 299 in Paraty
258 reviews
Vibe Hostel
#32 of 299 in Paraty
138 reviews
Conchas de Paraty Pousada
#137 of 322 in Paraty
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geko Hostel Paraty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geko Hostel Paraty

Address: Avenida Orlando Carpinelli 5 | Praia do Pontal, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 299 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Price Range: $17 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Geko Hostel Paraty 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geko Hostel is everything you need if you are looking for fun: • BEACH-FRONT LOCATION, 5 minutes walking from the Historic Centre,• All for a really LOW PRICE, • Mixed or all-female dormitory style accommodation, and private rooms ALL with an EN-SUITE BATHROOM,• Daily accommodation includes en-suite bedrooms, kitchen, a Free Taxi from the Bus station, friendly environment,• Bilingual services and a great atmosphere, • Geko’s treat, a full Brazilian breakfast with your feet in the sand of the Pontal Beach. • OUR BEACH BAR, Geko Chill, it´s famous for its outrageous parties! Our beers are always icy cold and our barmen make the best caipirinhas on Pontal beach! We also organize barbecues and cocktail parties in our Beach Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Geko Hostel Paraty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geko Hostel Paraty Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing