We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Laguna Blue
Ranked #32 of 322 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Myself and two girlfriends stayed for 5 nights in the beginning of April - and we could not have been happier with our choice! The woman who runs the pousada as well as the rest of the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We made sure to make every breakfast and tea time at 5pm - especially for the delicious homemade breaks baked by the owner. The place was always clean, and it provided a calm and quiet place to return to after a day of trekking around Paraty. It's about a 15 minute walk from the Historical Center, but it's an easy walk and worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 179 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

I am extremely pleased about the service and the Place itself. I had booked 2 nights through Venere.com (will think twice before booking thro them next time though) for 24th to 26th Jan. Apparently the Pousada was fully booked and they had sent Venere an email saying the same, but Venere never informed me and we went there for our Paraty trip unaware of the fact that we had nada. At the front desk, the owner of the guest house very sweetly showed us the email that he had sent them, but even better, he made an arrangement for the first night in his hotel. For the next day he personaly showed us the available guest house near by. I feel this was a very cool gesture from the owner.
The place is nice and charming, breakfast is good. room where we stayed was spacious and tidy.
Bathroom shower can be better though ;)
I have positive opinion about the place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelcrusader007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights en route to Rio to enjoy the fun of Paraty. Great little hotel in keeping with the Colonial style of the town and a small pool for a dip to cool off from the days heat. Slightly out of town, it’s a 15 min walk in and a 20 real’s for a cab back. Friendly owner, who helped with local recommendations. Good breakfast with lots of fresh fruit plus tea and cake to welcome you home after 5pm

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wansfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Laguna Blue is a nice cozy Pousada. A really comfortable place to relax after a long active day in and around Paraty. They have great breakfast to start the day as well. It's quiet and simple with a cool tropical feel. I loved the pool and the staff were super friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RadTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Imagine standing in the lobby of this pousada at 11:30 at night after an 8 hour bus ride from Sao Paulo only to be told that your reservation had been cancelled. That's what happened to my friend and me. The owner adamantly claimed to have e-mailed the cancellation to my friend and the booking agency two weeks prior to our reservation dates. When my friend went back through all her messages, in her inbox and trash, she found no messages from either the pousada or the booking company. The only reason this place earned one point from me was because the owner called and booked us a room at the place around the bend. Think carefully before you book here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank DTWKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Although the hotel is about 15-20 minute walk (or $10 cab fare) from the "old city", I discovered that this was an asset and not a liability - given how noisy the old city is at night - fireworks going off and, much worse, people riding around the streets on bikes with big boom boxes attached to the bikes, playing loud music and advertising for some local elections that were going on. You would not want (nor be able) to sleep at a hotel located adjacent to the old city.

The hotel itself was very nice. The lobby was very tropical and beautiful and the furniture throughout appeared to be made of beautiful, solid mahogany (which of course was very unforgiving if one had the misfortune of bumping into some of it as, alas, I did). The hotel appeared to be run/owned by a nice German couple that spoke English absolutely perfectly and who were always very outgoing and helpful. Only two small nits: the hotel does not provide any toiletries other than soap (so bring your own shampoo, hair conditioner, etc) and the hotel subscribes to only basic TV service such that there were no US channels. [In most of the hotels I visited in Argentina and Brazil, the hotels subscribed to an expanded TV service with 3 or 4 channels in English.] Admittedly, one is not on holiday to watch TV, but it is nice to to able to watch the news or catch or rerun of Friends on occasion.

All in all, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSR_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Beautiful - like a little heaven.
Good rooms, gorgeous pool area - staff excellent.
Only downside is it is a good walk from Paraty historic centre, but work it as you get to relax in this lovely hotel.
No safes in rooms, but front desk let us use their safe for free - no isses for any of the 15 of us on our tour.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have better pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littleboxofchocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#22 of 28 in Paraty
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Magia Verde
Pousada Magia Verde
#42 of 322 in Paraty
198 reviews
0 mi away
Pousada Eclipse
Pousada Eclipse
#9 of 322 in Paraty
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Eliconial
Eliconial
#3 of 322 in Paraty
729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Conchas de Paraty Pousada
Conchas de Paraty Pousada
#137 of 322 in Paraty
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maris Paraty
Maris Paraty
#1 of 322 in Paraty
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Laguna Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Laguna Blue

Address: Rua 1 s/n | Portal de Paraty, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range: $64 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Laguna Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are spacious and have air conditioner, fan, minibar and 21" TV with English movie channels. The breakfast is served from 8 to 11 am, on our straw roof-covered terrace next to the swimming pool. We have an afternoon coffee-break. The pousada offers swimming pool with hydro massage, wet sauna, wireless internet, beach towels, parking and 24 hours service, all included in the rate. We arrange boat trips and ecological tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Laguna Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Laguna Blue Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing