We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the worst dining experiences of my life as well”
Review of Voila Bistrot

Voila Bistrot
Ranked #1 of 1,024 Restaurants in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $77
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant opened in 2007 in the area of Ponte Branca (6 km from downtown), it has 7 tables and capacity for up to 20 people. The kitchen is headed by the Parisian Chef Christophe Legond while the room is up to his wife, Adriana. The menu features some classic French cuisine and some copyright options. The starters are single and the main dishes for 2 people. Due to the small structure and size of the room, does not accept groups or children. Bistrot with romantic atmosphere, candlelight and French music. It works only on weekends (Thursday to Saturday) and eventually (with reservation, high season or local events) on other days and times. It is recommended to book in advance.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I am not one to take to the web to comment on negative restaurant experiences, but upon reading this restaurant's reaction to a review of a dinner I actually partook, I feel it is my duty to set the record straight.
Using TripAdvisor as a guide, a group of friends and I chose to dine at Voila Bistrot while visiting Paraty. Our experience there would be almost comical had it not been so aggressively unpleasant.
To begin with, the food was expensive and bland at best. I understand other people have had better experiences at this restaurant, but the food was definitely was one of the low points of the evening.
The meal itself, however, paled in comparison to the behavior of chef/owner Christophe Legond. Upon finding out that a couple of the people in our party spoke French, Mr. Legond refused to speak anything other than French to the table even when prompted repeatedly in Portuguese.
Shortly after our arrival--we had a late reservation--a guest of the hotel who had just finished dining with her partner, fainted as she was exiting the premises. Mr. Legond watched as her companion and members of my party rushed to her aide and finally made a comment about the lady not being able to handle her liquor after the couple exited. When the gentleman returned to request a bottle of mineral water for his sick partner, Mr. Legond responded, without a hint of compassion, that water was available in the minibar in their room, even though it was obviously readily available at arm's length.
Shortly after that Mr. Legond turned his attentions to our table, a party of 6. When one of the ladies in our group said she would only be having an appetizer, he asked her if she was on a diet. When a second guest said she would only be having wine due to an upset stomach, Mr. Legond replied curtly, "This is not a hospital".
Lastly, when my sister in law asked if she could have Parmesan cheese to ad to a truly drab mushroom risotto (I tried it) billed at R$135 (US$60), Monsieur Legond, scoffed and said "I knew it", openly implying that the guests at our table knew nothing about fine cuisine.
I wish our experience at Voila Bitrot was a more positive one. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this establishment.
I am in no way connected to the Paraty hospitality industry, or any hospitality industry, for that matter, and, to the best of my knowledge, am of sound mind, contrary to what Mrs. Legond implied of my fellow reviewer.
Perhaps if this restaurant dedicated more time to fine tuning it's chef's etiquette as it does aggressively attacking its negative reviewers, experiences such as the ones I had at Voila Bistrot won't be repeated.

16  Thank marcelolessa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Voila Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013
Google Translation

Prezado Marcelo Lessa,

Acredito que o senhor seja brasileiro, portanto acho que podemos respondê-lo em português, idioma da maioria de nossos clientes e avaliadores.

De fato não estamos entendendo do que se tratam as duas primeiras avaliações ruins que acabamos de receber em 5 anos, quando passamos a figurar no TripAdvisor. No entanto, percebemos um fato: o avaliador é um só e está empenhado em desconstruir a imagem que conquistamos ao longo de quase 7 anos de existência. Somos pessoas sérias, bem intencionadas, que tinham (e tem!) um sonho: receber e agradar pessoas, mimando-as e fazendo-as se sentirem únicas, como acreditamos que sejamos todos. Não temos funcionários, cuidamos nós mesmos do início ao fim de cada cliente que recebemos, justamente para garantir a qualidade dos serviços que nos propomos a oferecer. E isso é como doar um pouco de nossas almas, já que mesmo gostando do que fazemos, o ato de receber exige generosas doses de abnegação e esforço. Portanto, jamais poderíamos ter recebido um grupo e tê-lo contrariado tanto. Nenhum dos fatos descritos aqui poderiam acontecer da forma como foram relatados. Por isso, ratificamos mais uma vez que estamos sendo vítimas de um grande equívoco. Esperamos contar com sua ajuda para a exclusão desta crítica.

Saudações,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

There is simply nothing positive to be said about this pathetic excuse for a restaurant, run by the most pompous, arrogant, ill-mannered and singularly untalented Frenchman I have ever seen (I am French-American). In addition to wildly overpriced even by Brazilian standards, the food is bland to the point of utter tastelessness. But given the service, which took hours and included a litany of insults by the chef/restaurateur himself, the insipid food was actually the highlight of this hellacious experience. The details of the ordeal were too elaborate to warrant going into, but in short the restaurateur scoffed at a customer who passed out cold on the floor right next to our table, called one of the diners in my party anorexic because she didn't order enough to please him and openly mocked my sister as "classless" for having had the audacity to request Parmesan cheese to mask the fact that the 150USD white rice he served in guise of risotto tasted like cardboard.

Just having to suffer through the insufferable restaurateur's blatant contempt was punishment enough - having to swallow his tasteless food and then pay more than top dollar for it simply added insult to injury. Avoid at all costs

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
17  Thank jbarchfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Voila Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear J Barchfield,

We believe that your review only can be a serious misunderstanding. First because we do not recognize any of the facts reported here. Second, because we had conquered our current position on TripAdvisor (9th best restaurant of the world) just by offering good food, nice ambience and especially the gentle and respectful we treat every customer that comes to visit us. Therefore, we believe that it would be almost impossible to give someone so bad experience, as described in the title of this review with such passion. Thus, we kindly ask you to request this site deleting your wrong comment, which both hurts and stain our honor and dignity.

Regards,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

if you want to eat good french food go to Voilà Bistrot Restaurant : the chef is a french guy who cooks very well, with his brazilian wife , they do a very good cooking, french tastes, with good wines too, inside the pousada, the restaurant is small, friendly, close to the river, good AC, ask details to understand the menu and choose unusual things for brazilian people... meat or fish , difficult to choose ... fish Bar was very good ... white branco wine from Chile ... ( please Chef try white branco Brazil wine ... )

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Olivier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Voila Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Olivier,
We enjoy having people in our home. Then, the minimum attentions to our visitors, are part of the art of welcoming. We are happy you enjoyed our place. If you ever have another chance, come visit us again and you will be always welcome.
Best regards,
Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The owner is a French chef and his wife is a very lovely Brazilian woman. Everything we ate was excellent. I stayed at their guesthouse with my traveling companion who had an accident and wound up in the hospital. The owners were helpful beyond the call of duty as well as extremely kind and caring. I cannot compliment them enough. I actually feel like I made friends for life there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank gollywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Voila Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear David,
Very nice to receive your comments as well, after so long. It was a great pleasure to have received you, and even greater when we had been able to help you in those difficult days. You are always welcome in our home.
Best regards,
Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I am still trying to reply some delicious things we tried in this posada. at breakfast, salty caramel with crepes, and for dinner simple and clean fish. Delicious food and great ambiance. We love it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank acaballero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Voila Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Ariadne,

Thanks for your review. We are so happy when the guest apreciate what we do. We are here only for this. We hope to see you again one day. It will be a great pleasure!

Best wishes,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Voila Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing