We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouldy and noise”
Review of Pousada Marendaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Marendaz
Ranked #163 of 300 Paraty B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was part of our gapadventures tour and far the worst place in Brazil. The mold in the bath and bedroom (see photos) have a horrific smell. The only window to the crowded small patio area was kept closed as everyone can see u if lying in bed. Open the door and you are meet by the reception lady and her neighbors/friends who seem to live in the building. The above was not the main issue. Only decided to write this review when we reported a fault in the Brazilian style electric shower with it's wires exposed and nothing was done.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franciscosrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Marendaz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 80 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

It's about a 5 minute walk from the bus station & a 3 minute walk from the old town... so the location is perfect! The room wasn't impressive... small, nothing fancy - bed was kind of hard & the outlets didn't work that well. However, it was clean & the AC worked well. The breakfast was pretty good - fruit was fresh. The owner was extremely helpful & really made the place worth the stay - even let us stay 4 hours past check in because our bus was leaving at 5! The internet worked perfectly. Overall, it's not a place to stay if you're looking for comfort or extras, but if you just want a simple room that's not TOO expensive & has a great location - this place is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Situated within easy walking distance to old town this was a nice place to stay, unfortunately we didn't have the good weather. Our room was upstairs, bright but very noisy from other guests and street noise. Beds are typically uncomfortable which seems to be the 'norm' over here. Breakfast is basic. We discovered on arrival that if it rains a lot there is no water, which we went without for 24hours??????

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tassie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The sisters are very pleasant, the Pousada is fine and the only negative is that it's a bit overpriced for what you get. Rooms are clean and well set up. The rooms are well set up and breakfast. The jacuzzi is in the middle of the courtyard and judging by the leaves in it the water it doesn't get used too often.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ving_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very nice atmosphere in this lovely little pousada in the heart of Paraty, very clean and charming. Good breakfast as well and within walking distance of anything you could want to see in Paraty. Rooms are spacious, and well equiped, TV fridge, some have air conditioning and if not then they have a fan which works well as well to keep you cool!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had just one night in Paraty this trip and this pousada was suggested by a restaurant owner close by (subject of another review I hope)
Our room was small but clean and fairly quiet for being on the ground floor and just behind reception! The bathroom was small also but very clean and all we needed.
Breakfast was a typical Brazilian breakfast with fresh fruit, cheese ham bread and coffee as well as fresh juice was excellent and included in the rate.
There are MUCH fancier, and more expensive pousada in Paraty, but this one suited our needs and was close to the old city and the rodoviaria (bus station).
Good value in high season

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Nice room, nice breakfasts, free internet. Main issue was one which someone else raised, about safety. The main door was open, and often reception would be empty. On several occasions, when I was on the computer in the reception area (using the internet), people would just wander in and sit by the desk, or sometimes go through to the back. I had no idea if these people were guests, or friends of the owners, or what. So it felt a bit unsafe in that regard.

I'm not sure about the hot water, I can't remember, but I have a feeling it wasn't that hot.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Magnu's Pousada
#24 of 300 in Paraty
251 reviews
Pousada Crystal
#206 of 300 in Paraty
15 reviews
City Center
Pousada Talisma
Pousada Talisma
#100 of 300 in Paraty
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Familiar Calamares
#175 of 300 in Paraty
7 reviews
Pousada Solar do Algarve
#230 of 300 in Paraty
52 reviews
Pousada Konquista
#127 of 300 in Paraty
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Marendaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Marendaz

Address: Dr Derly Ellena, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range: $44 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Marendaz 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Marendaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Marendaz Hotel Paraty
Pousada Marendaz Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing