We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of a 5* hotel spa”

Shambhala Asian Day Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Spas & Wellness in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Shambhala is an Asian Day Spa, offering a stress reducing, beauty enhancing and mind relaxing experience. Every aspect of Shambhala Spa has been designed to soothe - from fragrances in the enriched air and the mood music wafting quietly, to the muted colors of the interior, the natural materials and the fluffiness of freshly laundered towels. You can enjoy your treatments inside our stylish spa, get a relaxing massage in one of the oriental gazebos in our Balinese garden, or just sit and relax and enjoy the view. Shambhala Asian Day Spa is located at 10 minutes walk from the historical center of Paraty, with a beautiful view on the mountains and the Jabaquara bay.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

After having experienced numerous spa's all over the world and ranking them (Mandarin Oriental in Paris and Fontainebleau in Miami are at the top of my list), what a surprise it was to discover this little gem where the service is outstanding, the massages are exquisite and the setting is amazing!
Many thanks for the great massage!

Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans N, Owner at Shambhala Asian Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

On behalf of the Shambhala Team, thank you very much for the review, we are very flattered with this international benchmark! Hope to see you back again soon in Paraty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 233 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a great experience at Shambhala. The staff are really great, welcoming and give really good treatments. We were picked up and taken to the spa which is a nice touch. We were also lucky enough to be there during spa week where they have a 40% discount in April, so it was extreemly good value too. Having said that, we would have gladly paid the full price and are considering going back for another treatment as they were so great!
We went as a couple and it was nice having the treatment done in the same room etc too. We have treatments allover the world and this was really up there in terms of quality etc. The spa is in a nice house too, and is elegant and clean and chic.
Highly recommend and a great thing to do if the weather isn't kind to you.

Thank Oscarlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans N, Owner at Shambhala Asian Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We remember you had the Traditional Thai and Ayurvedic massage. If you visit us again during your stay, I recommend the Shambhala couples massage followed by the Japanese hot tub (ofurô) in the garden, a nice and different experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It's not possible for me to say enough good things about the wonderful scrub and massage that I had recently at Shambhala. The owners are lovely, friendly and caring, and the therapists are so skillful and knowledgeable. All of this combined with one of the prettiest hilltop settings in Paraty. I would recommend anyone to not only find the time, but MAKE the time to enjoy one or more of the spa treatments at this beautiful spa.

Thank mountainpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans N, Owner at Shambhala Asian Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We are very flattered with your comments, thank you! We'll for sure do our best to live up to your comments...hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Shambala Asian Day Spa in Paraty is a great place for an excellent massage. The owners and managers have a family atmosphere in a modern house/spa dominated by windows open to natural breezes. They have very attractive open spaces and quite clean and modern therapy areas. They have a large group of spa treatments with prices noted on their web site. Their therapeutic Shambala deep tissue massage by Fabiana rated 9.5 out of 10 for this massage enthusiast. The owners follow up on email and phone contacts, and speak several languages. They are located in a residential area a bit far from the pier, but offer pickup and delivery service at modest charges. They are definitely worth a repeat visit.

Thank Marvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans N, Owner at Shambhala Asian Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your extensive and descriptive review! Fabiana was very pleased with the high note, and accepts the challenge to improve the score in your repeat visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The whole experience was magnificent. I got the best massage ever. I totally reccommend the Lakshim massage.
I think it's a must-do in Paraty

1  Thank asuzacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans N, Owner at Shambhala Asian Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

On behalf of the Shambhala Team, thank you for the recommendation, and we hope you'll be visiting us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shambhala Asian Day Spa also viewed

 

Been to Shambhala Asian Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing