We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and reasonably priced!”

Shambhala Asian Day Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Spas & Wellness in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Shambhala is an Asian Day Spa, offering a stress reducing, beauty enhancing and mind relaxing experience. Every aspect of Shambhala Spa has been designed to soothe - from fragrances in the enriched air and the mood music wafting quietly, to the muted colors of the interior, the natural materials and the fluffiness of freshly laundered towels. You can enjoy your treatments inside our stylish spa, get a relaxing massage in one of the oriental gazebos in our Balinese garden, or just sit and relax and enjoy the view. Shambhala Asian Day Spa is located at 10 minutes walk from the historical center of Paraty, with a beautiful view on the mountains and the Jabaquara bay.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service and reasonably priced!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had the couples massage with milk bath and body scrub. It was the perfect treat after our Machu Picchu trek.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1798A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans N, Owner at Shambhala Asian Day Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Good choice too: a massage and a hot tub is the ideal combination to relax and recharge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    16
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“it transformed our stay in paraty”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

having grown up in asia, i have a spa/massage addict. when i came upon shambala, i was skeptical as i thought, "how good can a brazilian asian spa be?" i was so pleasantly surprised. the spa is beautiful and has a wonderful atmosphere. rooms are perfect. service is exceptional. the owners (a beautiful brazilian lady and her wonderful dutch husband) are extremely attentive and warm and knowledgeable and the therapists are extraordinary. we (me, my husband and a friend) were in paraty for 4 days and went there 3 days in a row. we tried thai, shambala and shiatsu. All very excellent. the therapist are well-trained and knew exactly what they are doing.

it's the perfect place to go after a day on the beach (or hiking) before going to dinner!

we had a car but the spa offers a pick up and drop off service for just 10 reis.

don't leave paraty without going to shambala.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 5poissons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans N, Owner at Shambhala Asian Day Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much, that's about the best compliment we received! Our team of therapists remembers you very well, and are sending their warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We loved the time at the spa. The service was excellent, with the staff being very warm and welcoming and took great care in looking after you during your time there. The Indian messages my wife and I had were amazing along with the lovely milk bath. The best way to chill out after 2 weeks of exploring Brazil.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon_R_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans N, Owner at Shambhala Asian Day Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments, our team was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your spa treats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
240 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Thai Massage”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A stand alone spa on the very outskirts of Paraty, Shambhala offers a very nice menu of relaxing spa services. On a recent trip, my husband opted for a Thai massage which took place in a quiet room with floor mats. As a devotee of this type of massage, he could only pronounce the services as excellent. He liked it so much, in fact, that he desperately wanted to rebook another massage on our return to Sao Paulo from Rio. Sadly, the Spa was closed on Mondays. I'm certain Paraty will be featured on our next itinerary primarily for the Spa. I opted for a standard Swedish massage which was also excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boudecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans N, Owner at Shambhala Asian Day Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation! And for next time, please be informed that we can also attend you on Mondays in the massage room of one of our partners, Pousada do Ouro. We hope to see you both back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An oasis of serenity!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a find! Paraty is the most wonderfully chilled and relaxed place, so to find a day spa like the Shambala was excellent! Everything about Shambala is just so right - we visited twice, not just for the wonderful treatments but also for the atmosphere which is beautifully relaxed and beguiling. The booking arrangements and service were wonderfully welcoming and efficient, the treatments were beyond reproach and my Balinese back massage was the best I've ever experienced! The building itself is beautifully furnished and perfectly equipped and at the end of the visit we were driven back to our villa by the owner!! It honestly does not good any better!

Shambala Day Spa is absolutely divine and worth the air trip to Brazil just for the experience - if you visit Paraty then you absolutely must visit Shambala at least once - oh, and the value for money is exceptional as well but don't tell them - they might put the tariff up!! Terrific!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans N, Owner at Shambhala Asian Day Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you Julia! We are very happy to hear that you particularly liked the admosphere, or in more holistic terms, the energy of the spa - it relates well to the origin of the name Shambhala. And as of next month...prices up (just joking).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shambhala Asian Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing