We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Time Here and not Disappointed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Porto - CLOSED

Restaurante Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Brazilian, Mediterranean, European, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
143 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Second Time Here and not Disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was our second visit to Porto in five years. The restaurant is very nice, the staff excellent and the food very good. I had a risotto with veal and my partner a ravioli. Both were very good. The crab cake was not the best, tasted as if it were made with frozen crab.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markroy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    51
    26
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Intimate, great atmosphere, good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is a intimate restaurant with live music (just instrumental and not noisy), decorated with paintings from local artists!

I had the fettuccini with sea food and I recomend it. As starter I had the "crab meat cake" and It was average (not special). As a dessert I had the coconut icecream with ginger, which was a tasteful combination.

Be aware about the size of the dish you order. If you are hungry, the size of some dishes could be disappointing.

The service is not that fast, but it is friendly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mnovoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1,246 reviews
660 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,721 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant atmosphere, nice service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a great fine dining at this cozy restaurant right next to our hotel. The fish was very good, the waiter Dado was friendly and the live soft music (brazilian Bossa Nova) performed by one cello and another voice and guitar guy was something unforgetable.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank GUSDALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Holland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Intimate, creative with pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We 're always happy to find a place with a bit of a different menu. And so we had ravioli with some pretty creative filling and sauces, and liked it. There was live piano being played which gave a nice atmosphere but you're indeed charged 8 reais pp for it. Cover charge of 12 pp includes a selection of bread and mini snacks that you can also turn down. The service is very nice.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank indegloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Found this restaurant because it was written up by the NY Times as one of the best places to eat and I was delightfully happy with the choice. The restaurant is a little pricey but the food was cooked perfectly. We both started with soups and the I had the Tbone steak and my husband had the fish. Service was great and they evem spoke English. The steak was a recommendation by the staff and they were very helpful is helping us make the right choice.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLover912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Porto also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing