We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveler rating
554
159
11
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
554
159
11
6
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 733 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2018

Lovely pousada by the river. Charming and comfortable rooms. Having breakfast on the deck by the river was a treat each morning. Best rated French restaurant on the premises, so very romantic. Hosts are wonderful people. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirma-Hostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

Dear Zoya,

Thank you for choosing Pousada Caminho do Ouro and for dedicating your valuable time to answer our page on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our pousada. Thank you for your compliments about our staff and hotel. It is really rewarding to know we could achieve your expectations.

We hope you can return one day to Paraty. All our team will be honored to have you back as our guest.

Kind regards,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017

A beautiful pousada in a stunning location, a real gem of a find! A quiet and secluded ambience, perfect for our stay. The rooms were artfully decorated, clean and with strong air con, great for hot and humid days. Unfortunately my husband was ill on arrival but Adriana (co-owner) was extremely helpful and attentive, even making him a home-made remedy to help. She offered great tips and suggestions of things to do in the area. We ate at the bistro and would highly recommend it to anyone staying at the pousada. It wasn't cheap but the food was exquisite and the atmosphere in the restaurant was quaint and cosy so it was definitely worth the money. The included breakfast was also served personally, freshly prepared and there was a great variety of options for all tastes, still delicious as it was, I couldn't finish everything despite my best efforts! A wonderful pousada which I would highly recommend for a relaxing stay in a scenic environment.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emmarh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Dear Emma,

Thank you for choosing Pousada Caminho do Ouro and for dedicating your valuable time to answer our page on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our pousada. Thank you for your compliments about our staff and hotel, especially me, Adriana. It is really rewarding to know we could achieve your expectations.

I hope you can come back soon to Paraty. All our team will be honored to have you back as our guest.

Kind regards,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

We travelled to Paraty from Rio by bus, which took us about five hours as the weather was awful. We got a taxi to tthis pousada as it was quite late, it was pouring with rain and we had quite a few heavy luggage. It took the driver a moment to find but as soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The building looks very authentic with decorated wooden beams and ornamental features.

Our room was very cosy and spacious. The air con was fantastic! The bathroom was clean but a little update and mantainence won't harm. The bed was very comfortable and we felt rested. We had very good wi-fi connection throughout the pousada and our rooms which was very convenient! The breakfast was nice but there were lots of flies... and there was noone to take our order. When the omlette eventually came, it was pretty standard. The bar and seating area were charming.There were also some
leaves and muck floating in the pool which put us off from going in.

Overall, the location was good for exploring this lovely little town but slightly tricky even for the local taxi driver to get to. The pousada is generally quite tranquil and warming but probably need a little more maintenance.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 474belc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Dear Bel,

We are so sorry but this review is really a mistake. Probably you had stayed in Pousada do Ouro, in the historical centre. Simple, we do not have bar or pool. We would like to have them. Anyway, we invit you to host with us in your next visit to Paraty.

Kindly,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

Excellent little Posada run by a couple; a Frenchman and a Brazilian.....so you have access to excellent French cuisine (infused in the breakfast) and warm braziilian hospitality. Only few rooms (four I think); Caretakers are multilingual and speak decent English. Very nicely stylish decorated rooms and ambience and beautiful deck overlooking river on the backend of the Posada. Pleasantly surprising thing was that there was excellent wifi; enough to Skype / FaceTime; and good AC. Paraty is HIGHLY recommended as it is quite different from Rio and very nice retreat, plus excellent beaches e.g. Trinidade.

Unless you are driving it can be hard to reach. We had a hard time since we did not get a response from the caretakers after several emails through their website; turns out the website does not give them the email address to reply. So we were terrified on how to get there. To reach there, you can take a bus (from Rio, Sao Paulo) to Paraty bus station and then taxi (40 BRL). Once you reach, the caretakers are very helpful and can give you a bus / van schedule and there is a bus just outside the Posada that goes to the city center and Paraty bus station (3 BRL per person). Also no safe in the room but we felt safe locking our belongings in the suitcase; would have preferred a safe. Another issue is that even though this may seem rural it is actually adjacent to other houses and one night we heard what seemed like a domestic / drunken fight from the adjacent house for several hours.....which really defeated the whole peaceful retreat concept. It can be hard to get dinner near the Pousada; there is a restaurant at the Posada but not always open and a bit pricy French food. So must eat in town before coming; there are restaurants nearby but walking is somewhat hazardous at night (no proper sidewalk; stray animals etc).

Room tip: there are only 4 rooms and they seem to be similar
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HMSSantaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's true the website (Decolar.com) does not give us your e-mail. We tried to send you a message to confirm some informations but no response. We do not accept kids, for example, but apparently you didn't know about this and we decided to host the family. About the location, fortunately we are not so far from the city because you had not had a car. With a child, it could be a problem for you.

The family had stayed for 3 night with us. Unfortunately they did not make a reservation for the restaurant. In their last night (Wednesday), they had decided to dinner but in this day we make shops to the restaurant in another city besides Paraty. That's the only day we can't make an exception. We're sorry.

Merci et au revoir!

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful find! The location was breathtaking, whereby they served amazing morning breakfast along the veranda overlooking the river. The rooms are charming, clean and very comfortable. We sensed the owners love what they do as all the little details made our stay most delightful. We hope to return.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kubaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2016

Dear Jason,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us here at Caminho do Ouro and we're very happy that you enjoyed you short visit to Paraty. We look forward to seeing you again maybe in the future.

Our very best regards,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews