We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place with excellent food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Caminho do Ouro
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place with excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Just got back from our trip to Brazil. I went with my mom, sister and close friend. We loved this pousada! Breakfast on the veranda with a view overlooking the river and jungle below, exquisite french cooking for dinner, very friendly, helpful staff. The owners offered us a ride into town every morning and were even kind enough to drive us to the bus station early on the morning of our departure. If you do take a cab from the Paraty, it is only about 20R. Being set apart from the city is somewhat nice to be able to relax in the quiet setting. The room was clean and comfortable. We liked being able to all stay together. This would be a good place for families or groups of 4-5 traveling together. I did need my earplugs, at night, however, due to animal sounds of chickens, roosters and dogs barking at night, but I didn't mind this!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank kk2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Emily,

I was reading the old reviews about Pousada Caminho do Ouro and I did not realize we do not respond your comments. We are so sorry! We remember you and your friends and how it will be a pleasure have then with us. Thanks for this visit! If we have another chance, who knows we can not host you again?

Best regards,

Adriana & Christophe Legond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    149
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
61
483
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Me and my boyfriend was looking for a place to stay by the time of Carnaval. We're searching for good prices and nice places, where the relation cost and benefits are advantageous. I send many e-mail to a lot of hotels, and the Pousada Caminho do Ouro was the most attractive. Well, we got there fryday night and Christofe, very nicely, drive to the bus station, taking us to the pousada!! In the same night we're eated a courtesy dinner of dreams, delicious french food, great wine, warm and cozy ambient, friendly host and hostess, the couple Adriana and Christophe (He's also the french chef of the pousada's restaurant, Bistrot Voilá)... we receveid a magnificent treatment!!

The breakfast is wonderfull, nice tropical fruits, bread, crape, croissants, milk, coffe, juice, butter, ham and cheese... and all you dream of, is served on the deck over the river!! There is no better way to start a day, then eat your breakfast on this deck!!

And I didn't say about the view yet, while you eat your delicious breakfast, you are visited by the exotical birds, like the hummingbird that flyes aroud the flowers in the deck, beside the birds, theres a cute little cat (Mimo is his name) that lives in the pousada and walks around, visiting you during your meal!!

The pousada is ideal for who is trying to relax, because it's a very calm and peacefull place! Perfect for couples who's looking for some romance!!

Me and my boyfriend had our honneymoon before we're even think about marriage!!!

Excuse me for my awful englis, but I hope that all of you could understand what I've wrote!!

And thanks to Adriana and Christophe for your hospitality!!

Vanessa e Rafael

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessaaugusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aragonez-Legond, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds words and thoughtful comment.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kindest Regards.
Adriana & Christophe Legond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Lovely place by the river, cozy rooms, not to far from town. The cokery is wonderful, it´s worth every penny. Cristophe and Adriana are a friendly couple and fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aragonez-Legond, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds words and thoughtful comment.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kindest Regards.
Adriana & Christophe Legond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

I contacted many pousadas in Paraty about a month prior to our trip. We were going to be there just before the New Year's holidays, so we figured that accommodations might be scarce - and they were. Fortunately through email and then a phone call we found room at the inn at the Pousada Caminho do Ouro.

The website doesn't exactly provide you with a great first impression, but don't let put you off. The pousada is owned by a great couple, Adriana and Christophe. Adriana speaks several languages, including English, but Christophe speaks just French and Portuguese. I started emailing with Adriana in English, but I called to make the reservation and provide my credit card; half of the stay was prepaid. This was done with Christophe and seulment en français.

We started our Brazilian adventure in Rio, and we arrived in Paraty like most travelers, via bus. Although if you'd think the distance between the two cities could be covered in a couple hours, you'd be forgiven; it's a good 4.5h bus ride through some pretty cliff-hugging terrain.

We arrived at the Paraty bus stop around midnight with the expectation that we would be picked up. However, we were not able to contact the Pousada that day due to not finding a working pay phone. So we had to take a cab to the pousada. The driver wanted R$30; I told him R$20, and we agreed on R$25. Do not pay more than that.

Unfortunately when we arrived at the pousada, some 6km from town, it was locked up tighter than Fort Knox. Make SURE you arrange with the proprietors if you arrive late like us. Otherwise you'll wake up the neighbors, gather a crowd of gawkers and helpers, encourage a boy to hop the wall to open the gate, and 'break in' to the pousada.

By the way he was dressed, it was clear Christophe was not expecting to see us. We were thrilled to be in and quite happy that he wasn't packing heat upon our surprise early morning arrival.

I really cannot say enough about Christophe and Adriana. They are very professional innkeepers and did everything to make our stay a memorable one. They're also very pleasant and willing to engage you in conversation. We learned a lot about Brazil through them.

Christophe is a trained chef, and let's just say that he didn't get kicked out of France for being a bad cook! Breakfast was plentiful every morning with the usual array of ham and cheese, but also with freshly baked rolls and pastry, fresh fruits and juices, and always something special, too.

Because of the holiday, it was required of us to buy a forfait, so we had one dinner included, too. The food was magnificent, and they have a nice wine list, too. All ingredients are locally sourced, and as fresh as possible. The name of the bistro is Voilå, and is open to the public. Even if you choose to stay somewhere else, I would recommend a meal there.

The property has a great setting, perched above a swiftly moving stream. It's very relaxing to be there especially because the pace of Paraty can be a little overwhelming. We used the pousada as our private retreat each night after a long day of sightseeing.

The rooms are spacious, but we found ours a bit dimly lit and dank. The a/c took care of the latter issue. The bed was comfy enough, but could have been better. But safely was never an issue, and everything was clean.

One thing we found interesting was that we were told that we were the first Americans staying at the property in two years of the current ownership. It made us feel a little smugly satisfied!

The place seems to be most popular among visiting Brazilians from the south. We were befriended by one such couple, and quickly became bff's with them. They had a car which was super convenient to get into town or reach the beaches of Trindade. We also ended up having dinner with them every night which we thought was a little odd considering it was their honeymoon. We thought that maybe we were not perceiving a cultural nuance there, but it turns out it was not the case. We really enjoyed our time with them, and tears were actually shed by them as they were bidding us our farewell back at the bus station. They've already invited us to Florianopolis next year!

So, to conclude, I'd highly recommend this pousada. Great out-of-town setting - but close enough to be convenient, super hosts, decent rooms, fantastic setting, and stellar food.

Grant Samson

  • Liked — The innkeepers
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aragonez-Legond, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds words and thoughtful comment.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kindest Regards.
Adriana & Christophe Legond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
2 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Excellent place to stay. The owners are very friendly and ready to help you in anything you need. Rooms are very large, breakfast delicious and the surroundings beautiful! Excellent French dinner! Specialized in mushrooms! The room rate is one of the lowest.

Better if you are travelling with car, since it is located a few kilometers from downtown.

I really loved it. Many thanks to Adriana & Christophe!!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patogiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aragonez-Legond, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds words and thoughtful comment.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kindest Regards.
Adriana & Christophe Legond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Pousada Caminho do Ouro describes exactly how Paraty is: calm and interesting, warm during the day, cool at night, but perfect for who is looking for a relaxing weekend. The location of the inn is perfect because it is not at teh downtown and it is not too far. So you can choose wheter you want to relax or to party! The atmosphere is very peacefully, surrounded by nature and a small river who makes company for who is having meals.
The room is quite cozy, a mix of small town with minibar, hot shower and satelite.
The food is very good but not at the brazilian style. It is perfect for who likes seafood and mushrooms.
To sum up, it is a very cozy and intimate place. Worth going!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ca1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aragonez-Legond, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds words and thoughtful comment.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kindest Regards.
Adriana & Christophe Legond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Paraty is a dream of a city in Rio de Janeiro. Sometimes you have the sensation that you are living in another time...
I had a nice experience there and our stay at the Pousada Caminho do Ouro was above my expectations. First because it is located out of Paraty. About 4 or 5 km above Paraty on the road Paraty-Cunha. If you are looking for a quite stay this is the ideal place. In the city can be sometimes very busy so we could have the magnificence of the silence that they can afford to their guests. Our room was comfortable, with very good space and I was surprise with the closet that we had. I have also to say that they asked a very reasonable rate for what you get. People were very friendly and they have a very nice restaurant above the river that runs behind the Pousada. So we could also enjoy their French kitchen just listening the silence of the "forest" and the water of the river. But if you are not a fan of the French "cuisine" there are a lot of restaurants in the city where you can choose from diferents Brazilian plates. I should recomend the fish restaurants.
It was a short stay but I stil remember the silence and the sweet dreams that I could experience from my confortable bed in our orange room.

  • Liked — The localization.
  • Disliked — The room.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Holandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisienParaty, Propriétaire at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review, May 19, 2008
Hi, Holandes!
Thank you for your visit and review. But I have one doubt: did you like the room or not? Because you said "It was a short stay but I stil remember the silence and the sweet dreams that I could experience from my confortable bed in our orange room" and in the Trip Advisor is "disliked: room". To be or not be? ;-)
Best,
Adriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Chale Recanto da Praia
#9 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Resort Croce del Sud
#6 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Caminho do Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Caminho do Ouro

Property: Pousada Caminho do Ouro
Address: Estrada Paraty-Cunha, KM 4 | Ponte Branca, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paraty
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Caminho do Ouro 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caminho do Ouro is located 6 km from Paraty´s historic centre. It features air-conditioned rooms, a French restaurant and a deck overlooking the rapids of a river among exuberant vegetation.The rooms at Pousada Caminho do Ouro have a cosy, rustic décor. They are equipped with queen beds, satellite TV and minibar. Accommodation includes free Wi-fi access and free parking.Served on the deck, breakfast consists of items like tropical fruit, crepes, madeleines and omelettes. At Voilà Bistrot, guests savour other specialities prepared with truffles, foie gras and game meats.For relaxation, Caminho do Ouro offers balconies with hammocks, massage room, reading kiosk and river beach. Guests can also watch exotic birds in the hotel´s surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Caminho do Ouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Caminho Do Ouro Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing