We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Caminho do Ouro
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Pousada Caminho do Ouro describes exactly how Paraty is: calm and interesting, warm during the day, cool at night, but perfect for who is looking for a relaxing weekend. The location of the inn is perfect because it is not at teh downtown and it is not too far. So you can choose wheter you want to relax or to party! The atmosphere is very peacefully, surrounded by nature and a small river who makes company for who is having meals.
The room is quite cozy, a mix of small town with minibar, hot shower and satelite.
The food is very good but not at the brazilian style. It is perfect for who likes seafood and mushrooms.
To sum up, it is a very cozy and intimate place. Worth going!

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank ca1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aragonez-Legond, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds words and thoughtful comment.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Kindest Regards.
Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 675 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2008

Paraty is a dream of a city in Rio de Janeiro. Sometimes you have the sensation that you are living in another time...
I had a nice experience there and our stay at the Pousada Caminho do Ouro was above my expectations. First because it is located out of Paraty. About 4 or 5 km above Paraty on the road Paraty-Cunha. If you are looking for a quite stay this is the ideal place. In the city can be sometimes very busy so we could have the magnificence of the silence that they can afford to their guests. Our room was comfortable, with very good space and I was surprise with the closet that we had. I have also to say that they asked a very reasonable rate for what you get. People were very friendly and they have a very nice restaurant above the river that runs behind the Pousada. So we could also enjoy their French kitchen just listening the silence of the "forest" and the water of the river. But if you are not a fan of the French "cuisine" there are a lot of restaurants in the city where you can choose from diferents Brazilian plates. I should recomend the fish restaurants.
It was a short stay but I stil remember the silence and the sweet dreams that I could experience from my confortable bed in our orange room.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Holandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParisienParaty, Propriétaire at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2008

Hi, Holandes!
Thank you for your visit and review. But I have one doubt: did you like the room or not? Because you said "It was a short stay but I stil remember the silence and the sweet dreams that I could experience from my confortable bed in our orange room" and in the Trip Advisor is "disliked: room". To be or not be? ;-)
Best,
Adriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank IgnacioUgalde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Venicio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fernando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: todos otimos!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ana paula g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
575 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
545 reviews
Recanto da Praia
#11 of 28 in Paraty
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
548 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
359 reviews
Resort Croce del Sud
#7 of 28 in Paraty
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Caminho do Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Caminho do Ouro

Address: Estrada Paraty-Cunha, KM 4 | Ponte Branca, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range: $105 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Caminho do Ouro 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caminho do Ouro is located 6 km from Paraty´s historic centre. It features air-conditioned rooms, a French restaurant and a deck overlooking the rapids of a river among exuberant vegetation.The rooms at Pousada Caminho do Ouro have a cosy, rustic décor. They are equipped with queen beds, satellite TV and minibar. Accommodation includes free Wi-fi access and free parking.Served on the deck, breakfast consists of items like tropical fruit, crepes, madeleines and omelettes. At Voilà Bistrot, guests savour other specialities prepared with truffles, foie gras and game meats.For relaxation, Caminho do Ouro offers balconies with hammocks, massage room, reading kiosk and river beach. Guests can also watch exotic birds in the hotel´s surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Caminho do Ouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Caminho Do Ouro Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing