We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Niteroi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Niteroi
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Niteroi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This Hotel has one of the best views I have ever seen from an Hotel and our large balcony was perfectly placed to view Corcovado, Sugar loaf and most of the Rio waterline.
The room we had was large and spacious if a little dated. It was an apartment style room with minimal equipment but that was no major issue.
However the air condtioning is old and very noisy and kept us awake.
The swimming pool and pool area are great
The reception staff were friendly and helpful
Major drawback of this Hotel is there are no shops or restaurants within walking distance, so be prepared to pay for taxis. However the local taxis charge reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureNiteroi, Gerente at Quality Hotel Niteroi, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013
Google Translation

Prezado hóspede,

Obrigada por deixar seus comentários referentes a sua estada no Mercure Niteroi.

Esperamos poder recebe-lo em breve em nosso Hotel.

Grata,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Niteroi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 651 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Rooms are small but comfortable enough. View is spectacular if you are set towards the bay, not too shabby if you are looking the other way either. If you are a fan of everything related to transport -like me- you'll love the constant mercant ship traffic across the Guanabara bay and the great spotting view directly across Santos Dumont airport. But beware! First flight in the morning is at 6 a.m. and will wake you up rather violently. If what you seek is peace and quiet go elsewhere. Service is good and attention is respectful and kind, but don't expect red carpet treatment. Breakfast is always a strong feature in mid to uplevel hotels in Brazil, and the Mercure is no exception.The pool is nice (I've loved the chance of taking a dip very early in the morning, a luxury for a mountaneer like myself), and getting in and out of the Hotel for a stroll is a nice though somewhat long walk. To sum it up, I have the impression that this particular hotel was thought for young and fit professionals on business trips, not quite so for R&R, families or senior guests.

Room Tip: Demand a view on the Guanabara bay, it's really worth the sacrifice!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstebanOnTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was born in Niteroi and have family in the area. I needed a place to stay for the xmas break and chose Mercure Orizzonte, given the lack of options in the niteroi city area. I was travelling with my wife and two little kids (3 years old and 1 year old) and needed a quiet place to relax and enjoy my stay in town. We have enjoyed the Mercure hotel in Queensland (Australia) and thought about giving another go!

1. The pros

The hotel is nicely located in the Gragoata neighborhood with stunning views of the main landmarks of Rio.

The swimming pool is excellent! A good way of spending your time and entertaining the kids!

The staff is very helpful and managed to assist us quite efficiently and fast with some housekeeping requests. Not to mention that everyone working in the hotel is very friendly.

Good quality free wifi is provided, which allows you to keep track of what's happening in the world out there.

2. The cons

The hotel is partially a condominium with some flats used as permanent residency for different people. So be prepared to deal with pool parties with loud music and people shouting/singing/etc. throughout the weekend. We have complained to the reception about the excessive noise in the room but have been completely ignored with the party continuing until late at night. It seems the hotel management prioritises the permanent residents, instead of caring for the people that have paid a premium to spend a week in their premises. That was an awful experience!!!

Another problem resulting from the pool parties is the cleaning of the facilities on the next day. I had to take a beer can out of the pool.

Although a fully functional kitchen is available, no utensils are provided. So ok, you have an electric stove, but no pans, plate, cutlery? So what's the point?

We had prepaid the entire stay in the hotel 3 months in advance and requested a cot for our infant. By the time we arrived we realised that not only the requested cot was not in the room, but we only had linen and towels for two people. We requested linen and towels for my older one and the cot for the little one which were readily provided. But come on, the booking was made and prepaid three months in advance!!! A little bit of organisation would avoid frustrating moments like these!

Upon booking it is mentioned that a microwave will be available in the room, for our surprise ours did not have one. But that was quick fixed calling reception which promptly provided one.

Although the suite is of considerable size, don't be fooled by the photos. They don't really tell the story. Our apartment had old tube TVs (14-16 inches), stained couch, the balcony doors wouldn't lock and wouldn’t provide any acoustic insulation and cable TV was not working at the time we stayed there.

Pretty average breakfast, considering Brazilian standards.

Overall it was a good stay, but Mercure Orizzonte needs to readdress their noise policy so people can enjoy a more relaxing time on their premises.

Room Tip: If you get the "top rate room", beware of room 202! It has a beautiful view, but the acous...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedroncio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spent five nights here on business.
The location is difficult unless you have a car or use taxis to get around.
The facilities are OK but the bar has disappered since I last stayed here. You can still get drinks in the restaurant.
The rooms are spacious but facilities are lacking if you were staying here and self-catering. Bathrooms and showers are rather small. There isnt even a kettle but you could boil water in the microwave.
There is excellent free Wifi throughout the hotel.
Buffet breakfast is OK for Rs24.00 a day but the selection is rather limited.
Restaurant food is quite reasonable and not too badly priced. If only they would switch off the interminable TV!
The view over the bay back to Rio is probably one of the best views anywhere in the world - worth staying here just to experience.
There are a few local bars up the road towards Niemeyer's wonderful Contemporary Art Museum but for other restaurants and bars you must take a trip into Niteroi to find them.
I have no other Niteroi hotels to compare but this one has been a good stay for me for several years.

Room Tip: Try to get a front facing room, not one on the left side
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hogget-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

On the advice of a friend who lives in Niteroi, we booked a stay here while attending a wedding. We were told it was the best place to stay in Niteroi. That very well could be true, but this was generally disappointing.

The Good : Great pool area to hang out, great view of the bay & Rio, very relaxing & comfortable setting. Well appointed entrance & front desk. Free & abundant parking (unheard of in Rio & Niteroi , as far as I can tell). A good breakfast buffet at a reasonable price. Safes in the rooms to keep your valuables protected. They had some limited english speaking help at the front desk, which was very helpful as very little english is spoken in Brazil. The views from the rooms are great

The bad : Electrical sockets were falling out of the wall in our room. Another traveler in our group in another room had the electricity go out in their room & had to fix the circuit breaker himself. The internet in the rooms didn't work more ofter than it did work. It usually worked in the lobby, but it didn't always work there either. The sauna & hot tub were either broken or not turned on.

Other : The rooms were adequate - nothing special but clean. Rooms have a stove & fridge, so they are set up for extended stays if you need to do that. Views from the rooms over the bay & over to Rio are great.

Note : When we visited in Sept 2012, the Mercure sign was partially covered up, so it is possible that they may be heading towards some sort of ownership change inn the near future. Hopefully they can clean up some of these issues & it will be a better place to stay,

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for the best views of the bay & Rio
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

It is the best view in Rio... Rooms are spacious and most of it see view. The swimming pool is also beautiful. Walking distance to the ferry and easy access to domestic airport. Parking space available.
.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meyhofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a suburban hotel in the middle of a huge, solid city. It is a great place if you have a car (free parking) or if you are done with Rio and want to explore this side of the bay (great quiet beaches, small neighborhood feeling). The rooms - apartments really - are huge, sparingly decorated, big kitchen with a full-size fridge and balcony. Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and free use of computer in the lobby. The swimming pool, whirlpool and steam bath are big. Nice outdoor tennis court. -- It is probably not your choice of hotel if you are planning to use taxis and leave the hotel often.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and a great view of Rio de Janeiro.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conocer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niteroi hotels
H Niteroi Hotel
#1 of 13 in Niteroi
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Icarai Praia Hotel
#4 of 13 in Niteroi
163 reviews
Icarai
Icarai Suites
Icarai Suites
#10 of 13 in Niteroi
25 reviews
Hotel Cantareira
#8 of 13 in Niteroi
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Niteroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Niteroi

Address: Rua Engenheiro Roberto Velasco Cardoso, 321 | Gragoata, Niteroi, State of Rio de Janeiro 24210-735, Brazil (Formerly Mercure Niterói Orizzonte)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Niteroi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Niteroi
Price Range: $79 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Niteroi 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large rooms with small kitchen. They have sofa, safe, amenities, dining table, microwave, wi-fi free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Niteroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Niteroi Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing