We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Despite a very nice localization with a cute view on the sea, I do not recommend this hotel. The administration is disorganized. Both times I went there were some problems with booking: ex. I was awaken at 3 am by a man who was telling me that I was sleeping in his bed; when I asked for help on the reception desk, I was told that this is not their problem. Both times I found my rooms dirty and both times the hostel was very loud until late night. You can easily find a better place in Ilha Grande, for lower price, richer breakfast and better service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 618 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

Well, This hostel is dirty, very noisy and about all, very expensive for what they offer. The regular fare is 55reais to be in a dorm of 6 people with a view on a... trash. This is for the room 4. The breakfast was very simple and every day the same, without juice and with collective butter . There is a kitchen that you just can use... 3 days a week !! because the staff is organizing BBQs or diner 4 days a week, and as they use the comon kitchen you have to eat in restaurant or eat their food (which is not cheap), I really think this is very unfair. If you are tired, you cant sleep before 00h cause they organize parties allmost every night, and when it is not their party, it is the one of their neighboor, aquario hostel ( they work together).

The only good point of the hostel is tthe nice terace with a beatiful view on the bay, it is on a pier. But... There is always an awful smell (maybe the sewage system?) and you dont feel confortable. During the breakfast there is an invasion of bees that does not help...

So we wanted to leave the hotel but they didnt want to make any refund because of the "policy" of the hotel, which says thatt you have to warn them 48hours in advance.

It was a nightmare to be forced t stay there 3 nights, really.

I guess it is good to know that in ilha grande and in abraao, you can find easily a nice Double room with air condicioning, tv, private bathroom and good breakfast from 100rs. We found out this too late.

Once again, the hotel is very expensive. Regarding the low quality of everything, It should cost 30rs maximum. Then maybe i would have been less angry at them.

There are a hundred hostel/ pousadas in Abraao : DONT GO to the che lagarto one!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Axelexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Decent hostel, good bar, awesome staff who will help you find anything you need. Small kitchen, but other than that, our 8 bed dorm was clean, the hostel was handy to everything

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZIRI84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Pros

* wonderful view;
* good live music;
* good night activities (bbq, pizza, massa)

Cons

* definitely bad administration;
* The bedrooms/bathrooms dirty;
* Bedbug's infestation. I had to change the room to because of bedbugs;
* sometimes lacks water;
* the staff tries to help, but most of they are young with no experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Ilah grande is such a beautiful place but the hostel made the whole trip feel like a living nightmare!

Ive stayed in numerous hostels around south america and this one was by far the most expensive and dirty out of all of them! Our room was disgusting and smelled of urine and mould the whole time. You could feel the dampness in the room when you were lying in bed. There was no mosquito nets so we had to keep the windows open and leave the fan on the whole night.
The bathroom was a mess, the cleaners seem to just wipe the surfaces in record time and the water from the taps and shower were brown the whole time . I had to brush my teeth with bottle water. There was also a rumor going round that there were bed bugs and I was so worried that ill get bitten that I scratched myself to sleep!!

And the kitchen .. ! Dont even get me started!!! The only good thing about the hostel was the atmosphere , they have BBQ nights every week on the deck with live music and you meet lots of people. ( even though the deck smelled of dog poo) we still managed to have a good time and some of the staff are ok too.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissChae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This place is old but its not only that because I have been to many hostels in old buildings but its altso dirty. The cleaning you cant even call it cleaning, they just wipe the floor quick. Its mouldy and you can smell it in the rooms and the hall, its a horrible smell! The common toalets and bathrooms in the room are disqusting and so dirty!

The service is bad, exspecialy by the boys they really dont wanna make an effor to smile or try to give any extra service. The girls are better but still the staff is really slow and it look like they dont wanna be there at all.

The only good thing about this place is that you meet a lot of people because nobody wanna be in their dirty smelly rooms and people gather together to talk about the bedbugs;)

Room Tip: Find a cleaner place and come by in the evening and hang out instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Upon arrival you already get the unwelcome feeling. The staff are very slow at doing everything, like check in, booking transfers and other che lagarto hostels, i dont know why but everything is such a hasel to them. They make you move rooms alot and then move you to a room that is more expensive and tell you there is no other beds available, even though upon asking other guests there are many beds in thier cheaper dorms. barman is very choosy about who he serves. will tell some people the bar is closed but then serve others! Some rooms are nice, but there was many reports of bedbugs and blood suckers. the hosel also turns into a bar at night which is very noisey if you need a good night sleep! in the end we were way over charged and we stayed in a pousada after the 2nd night for much better value!Breakfast was the only plus!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.4 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Biergarten Hostel
Biergarten Hostel
#1 of 25 in Vila do Abraao
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlin Hostel
Marlin Hostel
#2 of 25 in Vila do Abraao
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holandes Hostel
Holandes Hostel
#3 of 25 in Vila do Abraao
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande

Address: Rua Canto da Praia s/n, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $16 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diversion, naturaleza y un lindo deck sobre el mar. La combinacion perfecta para conocer una de las maravillas de Rio de Janeiro. Y Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande es la opcion ideal para vivir experiencias maravillosas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing