We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would absolutely stay again”
Review of Pousada O Pescador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada O Pescador
Ranked #44 of 94 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would absolutely stay again”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I loved this pousada. The owner was kind. The room was clean and air conditioned and perfect for a stay on Ihla Grande. It does get a little loud at night because of the restaurant below, but I was stirred from a day in the sun I didn't mind. Didn't want to leave and would definetly stay again.

Room Tip: Loved laying in the hammock overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
66
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First time to Ilha Grande and so glad we happened to stay here. Christina's English is excellent - so friendly and helpful, she even walked us to our water taxi and helped us plan our day to Lopes Mendes. The room we had was small and spartan but clean with a nice bathroom and very good for the price. We didn't eat at the restaurant but the smells were outstanding. You wont be disappointed here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigmawest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights looking for a beach holiday after several stays around south America. The hotel is located just at the end of the pier where you depart the boat, so hardly any distance to walk,...and what seems to be a busy local area for diners and drinkers. Francis, who runs the hotel, is very friendly and more than happy to give advise and help to anyone who needs it, he also speaks every language imaginable....the rooms are good especially the balcony ones, but you need to book in advance to get these as they book fast. The cable is good, with a wide selection of channels. The breakfasts are good though they don't do hot food in a morning other than eggs and toasties but we never complained as the food is very fresh and tasty. If you are looking for a lazy beach holiday then this is a good place in brazil to go.

Room Tip: Book a balcony room for views and hammock time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Noisy ac.
We had the luck of getting one of the rooms with the view towards the beach.
The room was small and furniture poor.
Maybe due to a late reservation and poor timing the room was quite expensive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wittsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

After reading the excellent comments about the Pousada O Pescador, I decided to stay.
I think that whoever wrote those comments, or never been in a good hotel (hostel) or stayed in the room only to change clothes ...
It is impossible to sleep with so much noise!
The hostel is located opposite the beach, next to a youth hostel (with a big flow of people singing, drinking and talking until the wee hours of the morning ...),
At dawn at around 7:00 am it is possible to hear the horn of the boats, ships and catamarans beyond the taxi boat ...
The room is spacious but very simple at the amount paid, the bathroom is horrible and disgusting!
The breakfast is very poor and definitely not like this hostel at the same price you can find much better hostels!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naturelleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus,Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Been to Ilha Grande three times and the best place to stay is absolutely O Pescador
Just love to sit on the balcony and enjoying the seaview. VERY nice staff and a VERY nice restaurant downstairs. See you again in February next year.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

My husband and I, together with a friend, stayed at Pousada O Pescador for 2 nights in April 2009. There are a number of horror stories on TripAdvisor about accommodation on Ilha Grande and we were really pleasantly surprised by our stay.

Our room was at the front of the pousada, overlooking the beach. We had a small balcony (complete with hammock!) which was perfect for sipping a drink looking out at the sunset and the activity in the bay. Not all the rooms have balconies so if you would like one, make sure you ask when booking. The room itself was a perfectly good size, with a double and single bed, pretty furnishings, a fridge with beer and soft drinks and an ensuite shower room. There was a fan for cooling down and there was air conditioning as well - although we didn't check to see whether it worked. Whilst we weren't there in high season, it was just before Easter, and we didn't find noise a problem at all. Mind you, on the morning we left we had to get up early to catch a ferry so we didn't experience the Good Friday rush whilst still in bed. The morning before, however, we didn't notice much by way of noise.

The food in the restaurant downstairs is excellent, and the breakfast was pretty good too (although not as good as we'd had elsewhere in Brazil). The owners were friendly and helpful, although we did have to pay to borrow beach towels - having said that, I expect they have long experience of the things getting lost on the lovely beaches, so we didn't mind over much.

Ilha Grande itself is really lovely and definitely worth a visit. I would thoroughly recommend O Pescador - for what you pay, it is excellent value, and if you're bothered about room 'feel', ours was cosy and prettily laid out.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LambethBarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ilha Grande
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cama & Cafe Pe Na Areia
Cama & Cafe Pe Na Areia
#3 of 13 in Vila do Abraao
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pousada Caicara
Pousada Caicara
#3 of 94 in Ilha Grande
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 94 in Ilha Grande
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Tropicana
Pousada Tropicana
#2 of 13 in Vila do Abraao
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada O Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada O Pescador

Property: Pousada O Pescador
Address: Rua da Praia, s/n, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-970, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada O Pescador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada o Pescador Hotel Ilha Grande
Pousada O Pescador Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing