We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asalem
Nearby Hotels
Praia da Crena Inn(Ilha Grande)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vila Pedra Mar(Ilha Grande)
$237
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Casablanca(Ilha Grande)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Pousada D'Pillel(Vila do Abraao)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Pousada dos Meros(Ilha Grande)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveler rating
177
82
29
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
82
29
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco suitetaxi boatour honeymoonlocal beachesminute walk to the main townhigher standardlopes mendesthe ownerhigh tideromantic placemodern roomsbeautiful spothustle and bustlepouring rainincredible viewsover christmasoverlooking the sea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 307 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Asalem. The site is beautiful, the service thoughtful, the food very good, the rooms nice. No luxury in them but they are perfectly adequate. Certainly one of the nicest places on the island if not the nicest. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfredoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the Asalem resort. It was peaceful and amazingly beautiful. It was a great escape for two days away for the urban rio de janeiro and its buzziness.

Great food at the hotel itself, boat trips are great and easily available. Use the Catamaran to get there.

Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

You arrive by ferry and Asalem collects you by boat taxi. No cars are allowed on the Island and all your travelling is done by boat taxi.

My photos will not adequately show the immense beauty of this Pousada which has the perfect setting. It is well run by very discreet staff who are corteous, efficient and most professional.

The brakfasts - sublime.
The dinners - home made, fresh and the best available on the Island.
The views from the breakfast table - spectacular.
The views from the Bedroom - breathtaking !!
The bedroom - superbly clean.
The Linen - Spotless
The bathroom - roomy and made for real human beings and not midgets.
The bed - clean and comfortable, huge and felt just like home.

The owner - Andre Cypriano - has written many fine books which are available for viewing at the Pousada.

We arrived as paying strangers and left as friends - thank you for sharing your beautiful space with us.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_in_Joburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided to splurge on our stay in Ilha Grande and book Asalem, but we were disappointed with the hotel. On the positive side, the rooms were nice, the location was good, delicious local meals (but expensive), kayaks were great, and there were nice touches like lit candles at your door at night.

But the bedroom and bathroom were not what you would expect for US$180/night - the towels were musty and smelled, the shower was dirty, the bed linens were damp, and there was construction going on AT the hotel (expanding we suspect) etc. And any extras came at a price (water, boat transfer, internet). The way the hotel operated made you always feel like you were an outsider, invading the space of the manager/staff, especially during the day - there was no common space for guests except for the bar overlook with chairs where you eat breakfast. You can walk into town, but it's a 25 minute hike with some hills and water crossings - and if you want to take the Asalem boat it costs $3 or $4 per person each way, depending on whether it's day or night. We normally like to be away from the crowds, but this location was fairly inconvenient and wasn't quite secluded enough to be relaxing with boats zooming by and not-so-great views.

All in all, it's a good place to stay, but we found ourselves feeling like it wasn't worth the price. If we were to go back to Ilha Grande we would probably check out Sagu or another place with more value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvidTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed for four nights in April 2008. The location is fantastic, picturesque and quiet but only a short boat ride from the bustling town of Abraoo. The rooms are clean and comfortable and because of its size there is always space to spread out and find a place of your own.

The lack of a TV means you get to read, but if theres an important football match on you can always ask to watch it in the office. The staff are attentive and the breakfast more than adequate. The dock is also an excellent spot for an early evening dip.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Colinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews