We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pousada Lagamar(Ilha Grande)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$35
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pousada Cauca(Ilha Grande)(Great Value!)
$54
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$58
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pousada Ouro Verde(Vila do Abraao)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Naturalia(Ilha Grande)
$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
178
83
29
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
83
29
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco suitetaxi boatour honeymoonminute walk to the main townhigher standardlocal beacheslopes mendeshigh tideromantic placethe ownermodern roomshustle and bustlepouring rainincredible viewsover christmaswatching the sunsetperfect island
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 309 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

From the minute we arrived the staff at Ansalem couldn't do enough for us, their approach was very personable and helpful especially Jack and Paola who were very attentive. The location was amazing and the staff were pretty much at your beck and call if you wanted a water taxi into town about 10 minutes. The rooms whilst basic were very good, each has a mezzanine floor for the bedroom and is equipped with a hammock to chill out on. The small terrace area is lovely too with great views. Breakfast is great and so was dinner on the 2 occasions we ate at the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Ilhe Grande. Thanks again Emma and Sam, UK.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmsJones26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

In a beautiful place like Ilha Grande, ideally you need to book a pousada which complements the location. Asalem does just that, with a beautiful view and set so you can jump straight into the water, swim to or take a 5 minute walk to one of the island's beaches.

Breakfast is the usual you find in Brazil, including cakes, fresh strawberry juice and the best scrambled eggs we had all trip. Guests can use their canoes and there is a boat which takes you to the centre of town (otherwise it's an easy 20-25 minute trek/trail). We saw turtles here too!! The staff are very friendly and helpful.

This is not a boutique hotel but it's certainly a boutique pousada. Highly recommended and do contact me if you want to ask any questions about it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Whereas Vila do Abraao, the nearest village, can look like a hell (not a beach but a harbor, a crowd of tourists and nothing except pousadas and restaurants), Asalem is very close to paradise... A peaceful environment with the most beautiful landscape I've ever seen from a window, a nice wooden house nearly lost in a great garden, wonderful meals and, above all, the impression of being at home with such nice hosts! They're really helpful and friendly, have free dvd and books to read, kayaks, etc. This place is more expensive than most of the pousadas in Vila do Abraao, but nevertheless, after spending one night in the village, I'm very glad we moved to Asalem for the rest of our stay - and I wish we could stay longer!
Alice

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank alice c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The stuff is professional and kind, thank you Paula, Paulo and Jack.
It is recommended to eat a dinner in the hotel, they have a great chef!
In general, everything is great except the price that a couple need to pay for the taxi boat of the hotel. If a couple want to take a taxi boat to the center and back to the hotel, it will cost R$ 30 (US$15). Another way is to walk 20 minutes to the center during the daylight (only).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valtniroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We enjoyed our time in Asalem and this is a place we would definitely go back to. The place is secluded and it gives you an enjoyable and private experience in Ilha Grande, far from the 'touristy' hotels and groups(yet just a few minutes trip with Asalem`s boat if you need to get there), this gives you a peaceful and relaxing time. A few tips:
- remember to bring bugs repellent for you to wear
- tennis shoes are recommended for the hiking trails between the pousada and the beaches
- wifi signal is not the strongest so dont plan on using your laptop from your room (which is great as you should relax here!) - but they do have a computer for you to use at the reception for you to use if you have to
- property does have a few staircases to go to different levels, so it is not highly recommended for the elderly or disabled
The food was very good, the views are amazing and the staff is very helpful. They can provide information about things to do during your stay, recommendations on restaurants, etc.
We found that the price here was a little bit more than other pousadas, but the experience was more than worth the difference.
It is indeed a peaceful paradise!

Room Tip: All the standard rooms are on the same level and have great view. The eco suites are really nice and have a higher view, but they are literally a few steps from the standard rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_H-Bonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews