We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asalem
Nearby Hotels
Praia da Crena Inn(Ilha Grande)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Lagamar(Ilha Grande)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Pousada Cauca(Ilha Grande)
$61
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$151
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Portal dos Borbas(Ilha Grande)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pousada Armacao dos Anjos(Ilha Grande)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jungle Lodge(Ilha Grande)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
178
82
29
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
82
29
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco suitetaxi boatour honeymoonminute walk to the main townhigher standardlocal beachesthe ownerlopes mendeshigh tideromantic placemodern roomshustle and bustlepouring rainincredible viewsover christmaswatching the sunsetperfect island
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 308 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The stuff is professional and kind, thank you Paula, Paulo and Jack.
It is recommended to eat a dinner in the hotel, they have a great chef!
In general, everything is great except the price that a couple need to pay for the taxi boat of the hotel. If a couple want to take a taxi boat to the center and back to the hotel, it will cost R$ 30 (US$15). Another way is to walk 20 minutes to the center during the daylight (only).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valtniroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We enjoyed our time in Asalem and this is a place we would definitely go back to. The place is secluded and it gives you an enjoyable and private experience in Ilha Grande, far from the 'touristy' hotels and groups(yet just a few minutes trip with Asalem`s boat if you need to get there), this gives you a peaceful and relaxing time. A few tips:
- remember to bring bugs repellent for you to wear
- tennis shoes are recommended for the hiking trails between the pousada and the beaches
- wifi signal is not the strongest so dont plan on using your laptop from your room (which is great as you should relax here!) - but they do have a computer for you to use at the reception for you to use if you have to
- property does have a few staircases to go to different levels, so it is not highly recommended for the elderly or disabled
The food was very good, the views are amazing and the staff is very helpful. They can provide information about things to do during your stay, recommendations on restaurants, etc.
We found that the price here was a little bit more than other pousadas, but the experience was more than worth the difference.
It is indeed a peaceful paradise!

Room Tip: All the standard rooms are on the same level and have great view. The eco suites are really nice and have a higher view, but they are literally a few steps from the standard rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_H-Bonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Asalem is the perfect place to stay on Ilha Grande. The rooms are simple but with beautiful views and we enjoyed breakfast every morning on the stunning terrace which overlooks the water. We ate dinner at the hotel one night, the food was delicious and the candlelight made it very romantic. The staff were very helpful and we loved their old dog which who was very chilled out! Asalem’s only downfall is their private taxi boat system – it is always available to transport you when you need to go across to the town, but on 3 different occasions during our 4 night stay when we called to be collected nobody answered the phone which meant we were practically stranded until we could eventually get through. This felt like a frustrating waste of time especially as you are charged per journey. But by the time you get back to your room you’ve forgotten why you were annoyed and are too busy enjoying the stunning setting. Definitely worth a stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SouthAmericaVibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Asalem gave us an amazing welcome and never disappointed from there on out. Our bus from Rio was delayed and we caught the last boat to Ilha Grande. It was night and we were tired, hungry, and not sure what to expect next. From the boat, a newly-made acquaintance phoned ahead to Asalem for us. By the time we reached the dock, and before our schooner was even secured, Asalem's little taxi boat pulled up beside us. We threw our luggage onboard and while everybody else started trudging around in the dark looking for their Pousadas, we knew we had already arrived in paradise. After a short ride, we arrive to our room, with the gentle sound of the ocean and a piping hot meal of calamari already waiting for us. It wasn't untll the next morning that we saw the amazing view. This really is an incredible place.

Beds are very comfortable. Staff are super friendly and speak perfectly fluent English, French and German. Rooms are very large with loft sleeping areas. At night, everything is lit with candles.

The only real drawback is accessibility. By foot, the trail is inaccessible at night or high tide and a bit tricky even at the best of times. A taxi boat costs 15 Real each way for two people. So budget for this. Even if you don't stay here, come for a dinner (need to call ahead). The food/view combination is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveldad31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

What an amazing stay!!! We spent 5 days during our Honeymoon in the Eco-Honeymoon Suite and were absolutely delighted with our stay. The private and tranquil setting was perfect and waking to waterviews every morning through the scrub reminded us it was just another day in paradise. The owner Andre is an interesting and likeable person as is the rest of the Asalem family. The staff are always willing to assist in any way or just to provide great company and a friendly chat. The view from the breakfast table is inspiring and a very enjoyable way to start the day. For dinner you can't go past the fish in coconut sauce...devine. I recommend going out on the speed boat for the day. Asalem provide the driver and you make your own itinerary. Even though it was mid May we had 5 glorious days of sunshine. The 24hr boat service makes it worth staying out of the main town Abrao. Definitely a place to return to.

Room Tip: Eco-Honeymoon suite is a must for Honeymooners.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gianni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews