We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB”
Review of Asalem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Asalem
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“SUPERB”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Peaceful and harmony. They take care carefuly of every detail of tourism. Every single person on this hotel is avocated to make your stay be as good as you expect it and more.
When you get to the hotel you think "there´s no TV.." but after a few hours in the Hotel you realize that: You watch TV anywhere you want anytime, but here you are to connect with nature and confort in the middle of a caribean type island. THANKS YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS EXPERIENCE

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastianGian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    80
    23
    15
    4
See reviews for
28
192
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Amazing location. Friendly staff. Great cocktails. Very relaxing. Thanks Andre and co.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location as it is on the side of the island and therefore very quiet with a beautiful view.
However if one is paying in excess of $200US per night you do have some expectations. The rooms are very basic and have no privacy as they are all located on top of one another. The restaurant was closed for the 4 nights of our stay and every time we requested transport to have a meal, we were charged. Like another reviewer we were forced to pay upfront, before we had even seen our room, making us feel as if we would run away without paying.
Overall we felt the hotel to be too expensive and not good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzakJooste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asalem_Ilha_Grande, Owner at Asalem, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Our cook Silmara has been working here for several years and recently had a serious back problem. We are doing our best to find a temporary replacement, offering sandwiches with fruit in the meantime. In light of the situation, we have been offering free taxi boats to the village for dinner. We ask guests to pay upfront because some guests did, in fact, leave without paying. We are located on an island, and cannot resolve unexpected problems with denied credit cards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stunning location let down by spartan rooms, careless management and depressing breakfast.
Hotel has more rooms than water supply (and hence water mains were turned off during our stay every day). Contrary to Lonely Planet's note, taxi boat rides to/from town are not included and together with other chiselling charges added 10% to our bill. Bad value and bad aftertaste. Not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asalem_Ilha_Grande, Owner at Asalem, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
While we understand that short water supply is a big inconvenience, the island itself was experiencing a serious drought. In the ten years that we have been here, we had yet to experience a shortage of this magnitude. We did our best to bring as much water as possible to the rooms, and we hope the rain keeps coming as usual to prevent this from happening again.
Taxi boat rides are included for check-in and check out. Any additional trips do incur a fee of 7,5 Reais. We have four licensed boat drivers, and three boats to maintain in order to run a 24-hour, 7-day service. Our charge does not cover these expenses.
Our breakfast is always a big hit with guests, offering fresh squeezed orange juice, a wide selection of bakery bread, an array of fresh tropical fruits, homemade pastries, cheeses, homemade yogurt, cereals as well as freshly brewed coffee, tea and much more. Eggs are also available upon request.
The 10% charge referenced was only for restaurant services, which practically everywhere in Brazil.
Our managers are bilingual and always more than willing to help, offering their advice to help visitors get the best experience of the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We decided to splurge out and book the Eco lodge at £200 per night for 5 nights but we ended up checking out 2 days early!

After a faultless transfer to asalem we were treated by a smiley young girl- a good start, however, as soon as we walked up the steps to the check-in desk we were asked to pay the remaining balance of our stay - bearing in mind we had already paid a 50% deposit and had not even seen our room, this did not sit well. We have stayed at some of the worlds best hotels and never have we encountered such a request. After a chat with Andrea, the elusive photographer/manager this was resolved and the matter was dropped (until we were questioned again the next morning). Also on arrival we were told that there was a water shortage and that we had to be very careful with our usage- shocking in light of the money we were paying but understandable in light of the hotels location.

Our room was musty, fixtures not well fitted and average in terms of cleanliness. The view however was spectacular! We were on the upper lodge level which did feel rather special and private.

We never walked to the main part of town so can't comment on the walk but did walk to the nearby beach - 5min walk up and down large stones to an average beach but clean water to swim in.

The breakfast was average (processed cheese, ham and bread) but nice fresh fruit.

The hotels facilities were also average - there's wifi(not great from the room however), some games, kayaks but little else. We could not eat at the 'restaurant' because the chef was ill during our stay; we couldn't rent the portable DVD player because it did not work and the taxi boat to town was hit and miss- one night we had to wait 40mins to get home - pretty cheeky as its not a free service - in fact its pretty pricey!

In terms of the water supply- well - there wasn't any!! At times we waited 2 hours for a shower! This does sound shocking but weirdly on our trip was not the hotels downfall as we were quite happy to simply enjoy the view.

The staff were hit and miss - some were clueless, others couldn't be bothered to even try and speak with us if they couldn't speak English and there was one other unnecessarily rather surely girl- the hippy guy was good and helpful however. The owner, whilst not particularly visible had a pleasent way about him. Overall the feel was more hostel than luxury hotel and the common areas definitely reflected this.

The island is however worth a visit for 2/3 nights. Lopes mendes is a lovely beach and the speed boat trip we did was great fun. The town at night is also good fun and pretty to walk around.

Overall asalem's only saving grace is the view from the lodge- other than that I would never recommend this place. Best deploy the pennies in rio/paraty!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asalem_Ilha_Grande, Owner at Asalem, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
As we are located on a far away island without the services of banks or ATM's, we require that the second half of the deposit is paid upon check in to prevent last minute unexpected problems with credit cards. We have experience of guests promising to pay after discovering their cards were denied, promises which were left unfulfilled. For this reason, we, like many other hotels worldwide, ask guests to pay upon check in, gladly offering a look at the room beforehand.
Our breakfast offers two fresh squeezed fruit juices, a wide selection of bakery breads, fresh tropical fruits, pastries, cheeses, homemade yogurt, cereals as well as freshly brewed coffee, tea and much more. Eggs are also available upon request.
The short water supply was a surprise, as the island was experiencing a serious drought for the first time in the ten years that we have been here. We are working very hard on construction projects, including building a well, to make sure this never happens again.
We try to provide our guests with the best service possible, but being far away from the conveniences of the mainland, one must understand that sometimes it is impossible to keep everything functioning 100%. For example, the DVD player broke and because there were no replacements nearby, it took a month to get a new one from the United States.
Those that seek the unspoiled natural beauty the island has to offer, understand there is no way to compare Ilha Grande with cities such as Paraty or Rio de Janeiro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The staff at Asalem are fantastic. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were a delicious way to start the day. The view is AMAZING from every room as well as from the restaurant. We only stayed for 3 days and ate on-site 2 nights because the food was so good. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We loved the location and were happy to be out of the way to enjoy the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed in the basic rooms - we were very pleased and did not feel the need to upgrade to the hone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Asalem is beautifully situated amongst palm trees with a sea view and laid-back feel. The rooms are basic but good with all you need for a stay in paradise. It´s a big plus to enjoy a bed with sea view! I stayed at Asalem for six nights and had one dinner at the hotel. The meal was delicious and service was good. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. All though Asalem is a little boat ride from the Abraao village, the taxi boat is always available and to me this was not a problem at all. Also, the hotel co-operates with Athos, one of the boat companies taking people to Lopes Mendes, and they pick you up and let you off at Asalem which is very convenient. Make sure that you go, the beach is unbelievable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.8 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asalem

Property: Asalem
Address: Praia da Crena, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Asalem 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASALEM is a seaside hideaway situated in Ilha Grande, a protected reserve of natural land where no cars are allowed. All our 5 enchanting waterfront suites are surrounded by the rain forest that overlooks the spectacular Bay of Abraäo. This proximity to the ocean offers rare, intimate glimpses of sea creatures such as starfish and turtles, as well as abundant schools of fish. The forest brings frequent visitors, including monkeys, squirrels, fireflies, blue butterflies and a wide variety of exotic tropical birds. This unspoiled peace of paradise is the perfect spot for honeymooners looking for privacy: we are 20 minutes apart from the main village walking in an accessible path or 5 minutes by the taxi boat we provide. Apart from the taxi boat service, available 24/7, we can arrange boat trips, transfers, massages, scuba diving, snorkeling and guided hikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Asalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asalem Ilha Grande, Brazil
Asalem Hotel Ilha Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing