We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilha Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Island Experience
Ranked #73 of 96 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 31, 2007

I found the Island Experience on Trip Advisor, it looked amazing and thought I'd try it. A girlfriend and I went and really enjoyed it. At first it wasn't exactly as expected. It was a bit more
'regimented' than what we thought it would be but loved it either way. The island is beautiful, the lodging perfect and very cool, very relaxed. All staff were very qualified and professional but still made you feel at home. The yoga isn't exactly the same as what you'd expect by North American standards but still good. Be prepared for a real cleanse food-wise. We were slightly hungry for the first couple of days and then after that you got used to eating to healthy and so well that you weren't even hungry anymore. I highly recommend this retreat if you're looking to get away and concentrate on nothing
but yourself and give yourself a challenge with some tough hiking, kayaking, etc. I came back feeling very relaxed and centered which is unusual for a typical holiday. A great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank goddessnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 52 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2007

This is the best one-week vacation ever! I've been twice and I plan to go back again. By the time I leave the island, any stress or tension in my body and mind has left and I am completely relaxed and blissful. The island is spectacularly beautiful and untouched and the daily hikes are amazing; the people are wonderful; the food, delicious and healthy. the daily massages are great too! highly recommend this trip.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2006

The island experience was really great. Very well run. The people in charge were absolutely great. The hikes were all very well planned, the food was very good...and all very healthy. The massages were great, the yoga instructors were wonderful. I just had a really good time on this trip and I left feeling very happy and healthy!

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank leecylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2006

Wonderful, adventure spa on one of the most beautiful islands in the world. Challenging hikes, beautiful kayaking and terrific yogas classes twice a day. Focus is on health and detox. Lovely, private accomodations. All meals are healthy, beautifully presented and the awesome staff is mindful of your well-being at every moment of your stay. Simply put, the best adventure spa in Brazil.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank WallStreet612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vabafaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
2.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
291 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palmas Roots Hostel & Suites Ilha Grande
Palmas Roots Hostel & Suites Ilh...
#19 of 25 in Vila do Abraao
2 reviews
4.0 mi away
Recanto Dos Lima
Recanto Dos Lima
#8 of 86 in Ilha Grande
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Pousada Cruzoe
Pousada Cruzoe
#21 of 96 in Ilha Grande
74 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pousada do Preto
Pousada do Preto
#26 of 96 in Ilha Grande
42 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pousada Portal do Sol
Pousada Portal do Sol
#19 of 96 in Ilha Grande
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Experience

Address: Estrela da Ilha | Praia de Freguesia de Santana, Lagoa Azul, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $275 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the spellbinding island called Ilha Grande, just off the coast of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, our unique adventure spa and fitness program is a seven-day program designed to detox your body and de-stress your mind. A typical day is filled with meditative yoga, challenging physical activities accompanied by experienced trainers, delicious and healthy meals that purify and energize, and euphoric massage that leaves you completely relaxed. The combination of all these elements are truly life transforming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Island Experience Hotel Ilha Grande
The Island Experience Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing