We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal setting with some minuses”
Review of Sagu Mini Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sagu Mini Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
South East London
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“ideal setting with some minuses”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here recently and the setting is absolutely ideal. The beach is just to the side and the rooms are in the grounds which are well kept with interesting plants. The rooms have balconies with hammocks and are very clean.Most of the staff are really helpful and pleasant.However there are some difficulties. The breakfast was just about Ok but foods run short and are limited in variety. There are also a huge number of flies which buzz around the food as soon as you take the plastic covers off. The internet is very erratic indeed and the food in the restaurant is very average. The night we ate there it was also cold. There is a walk along the beach to the village where there are plenty of other restaurants to choose from but at high tide this is impassable. If coming back late at night you definitely need a torch.
Also, check out is early and if you are waiting for a flight later in the day there are very limited facilities for cleaning up ready to travel.

Room Tip: Make sure you carry a torch in your luggage. Beware the flies at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    103
    15
    9
    11
See reviews for
65
185
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed with friends for two nights in April 2014, and was very happy with the stay. Friendly, smiling and helpful staff, nice rooms (great terrace at room no 5), and relaxed atmoshere all around. There is only a very short walk to the village, so we had the option of dining at the hotel or going out. Food at the restaurant was ok, but better than what we had in the village.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Positives:

Great location just outside the village.
There is a jetty so you can catch boat transfers/excursions.
Staff are helpful.
Breakfast is decent but not wonderful.

Negatives:

We had to haul our baggage ourselves across two beaches and hills to get to the resort - no collection by boat.
They ran out of beach towels for guests.
They ran out of yogurt at breakfast.
Rooms are pretty rustic, bathroom needs an upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaneBez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

A very cute, well located hotel in an idyllic setting. When you arrive to town they will send a small boat to pick you up, you just need to call them (which can be an issue if you don't have a phone that roams). The staff is super nice and friendly (I would like to highly recommend Jean Louis, a wonderful French employee who made our trip even nicer thanks to his advises, honesty and help).
The rooms are nice and clean (you have to realize that you are in the jungle, the island is remote and does not have paved roads). The Bkfast is delicious (even though they need badly to do something about the flies which almost ruined the moment, the Bfast is offered outside on the deck overlooking the water and it's beautiful, but it seems they don't want to take care of the flies which is really an issue).
The internet is erratic, don't rely on its presence (it's a luxury and varies with weather or rain).

The other draw back is the location of the hotel; it's beautiful and serene yes, but it's a 15 minute walk from town through a path that can be easily flooded in case of rain or high tide; if it rains you might need to take a paying water taxi and worse if the island loses power (occurred 2 nights out of 4) you might NOT be able to walk back from town in the dark (you can't); the hotel provides umbrellas and they should also provide lights or at least a free water shuttle (i.e at 6pm and 7pm nightly and back at 10 or 11pm).

Otherwise we really enjoyed it a lot and I think despite the drawbacks of the location it is an amazing place from which to explore the island.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffanstorp, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed at Sagu mini resort from the 18 until the 22 january 2014.I was met at the pier on Ilha Grande and after a short boat ride arrived at Sagu.As soon as I arrived I knew this was where I was meant to be!
As a single lady travelling the experience is not always the best - here,at Sagu I couldn't have been better taken care of!
After 6 weeks of travelling in South America I longed for rest and peace and quiet.
My room nr.1 overlooked the garden and the sea.Large bedroom and bathroom well equiped including hairdryer and a quiet and very efficient airconditioner!!! - we did have a power cut as happens when the temps rise - this only added to the charm of the place! I also had a wonderful hammock on my patio which I used every day!
The small rstaurant overlooking the sea served very good food and good service in a most pleasant atmosphere with candlelight - I ate dinner here 3 out of my four nights.Breakfast was served on the veranda - a buffet with a good selection to choose from even eggs etc upon request.The staff were very helpful and attentive nothing was too much trouble.Tea and coffee were also available - self service- here in the late afternoon.
There was a small but pretty beach just a few metres away and the centre of Ilha Grande just about 15 mins walk from the resort.
Just as on the day I arrived, I was taken back on my last day, by boat to the pier in Ilha Grande - very sad to leave.
Thank you Paulo,Jean-Louis,Fleur(Flower)? and Peter for making me feel so welcome and at home - I highly recommend and will definately return if my travels take me there!
*One point to mention - I didn't find any hot tub which was mentioned in the info about the resort - this was NOT of any great importance to me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillyanne343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Staff made very good service!
Very quite and nice ambient.
Rooms are of good value for its money for brazilian prices.
Make a reservation if you want to go to the resort's restaurant, they have not the capacities to welcome every customer they have if the resort is fully booked. The restaurants at the village 10min away are of a good value as well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickDippmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A warm welcome from iris set the tone for our holiday with excellent customer service throughout our stay. The resort has stunning views from the rooms as well as the breakfast & lounge area. Sagu was a welcome tranquil retreat from the bustle of the town. I didn't want to leave....especially after swimming with the sea turtle!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.2 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ilha Grande
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Praia da Crena Inn
Praia da Crena Inn
#14 of 17 in Ilha Grande
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagu Mini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagu Mini Resort

Property: Sagu Mini Resort
Address: Praia Brava | Praia Brava, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagu Mini Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sagu Mini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagu Mini Hotel Ilha Grande
Sagu Mini Ilha Grande
Sagu Mini Resort Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing