We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical stay”
Review of Sagu Mini Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sagu Mini Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights as a treat on the end of a trip around Brazil. The Sagu was perfect, and the staff were really helpful - even when a storm hit the island on our final night, cutting all power and bringing a tree down on the porch of our villa! Even with that drama, I couldn't recommend it enough. The room was great and the breakfast was perfect, overlooking the bay and the private dock - which was ideal for sunbathing and snorkeling around. Given the opportunity, we'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 328 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Sagu. Beatifull rooms, very good Italian restaurant and good service. Only at breakfast service was poor, even yhough Jean Louis made a lot of effort. But we can really recommend this hotel. Electricity was sometimes an issue, but candles did a lot! We toured the island on foot and by boat, really enjoying our stay. It sure is a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirjam95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights with two children, 3 & 5 years. The room (nbr 5) was a really nice 2-etage room with a terrace with lovely view over the ocean. In addition to nice, clean and cozy room, right by the beach, the djunge around the corner and really friendly staff, the food was excellent! An italian chef who made perfect pasta and other dishes. Also the breakfast was super. We traveled around in South America for 5 weeks and this was the best resort in the whole trip. Somewhat pricy, but it was defenitly worth it. You will not be dissapointed! / Max

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Ilha Grande is a Natural reserve that is being overly exploited at the moment, but despite the crow on the Island, Sagu is placed in a way where you do not see the massive amount of people that is hitting the Island. Still on Vila Abraão but far enought to have peace and quiet.
2 Beaches are nearby, Praia da Biquinha on the left side of the Pousada and Praia Comprida on a short walk to the left of the Pousada. The welcome was done by Jean Louis and he takes the time to provide all the info about the place. Very helpfull and aproachable if you have any question or concerns about the place. In matter of fact all the staff is very friendly and provide a great service. As Brazilians we have a knack for Coffee and upon request we got some hot watter boilled for us so we can make our own coffee. Of course it will be a great Idea to have a coffee machine so we can brew it (on the rooms) or a Keuring on the comon area.
Breakfast was good, cakes and fruits and despite a little trouble on one morning (some items were missing) upon notification Jean Louis worked out the issue and the next day all was perfect.
This is as Island and you will possibly will have to cope with electricity issues but light some candles and sit with your love ona and enjoy the peace and quiet of this beuatifull little resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C4ipp3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you go to Rio do not miss Ilha Grande such a beautiful preserved island with no cars access by boat only. Call Jean Louis at the Segu mini resort and he will organize everything for you. The Posada is the only one on the water a great place low key great value with a warm welcome.The rooms were.full of colors . As we were 3 they gave us a great room with an upper floor so our daugter could be on her own. It was such a charming stay. We had dinner at the restaurant runned by a wonderful italian couple. and it was fresh and delicious. They were very professional. Jean Louis organized the complete tour of the island the next day and it was beautiful.. a must go..for a great price value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

we loved the setting of Sagu Mini Resort. It is embeded in the tropical forest overlooking the bay of Abraao. A small beach lies just at the entrance of the resort. For us the 15 min walk to Abraao was just perfect to have the tranquility we appreciate. We received a very hearty welcome and some good first start information on the beach and walk excursions. All employees were very friendly and helpful (thank you!!) We enjoyed the restaurant menue with its tasty alternatives to the good local cuisine offered in Abraao. The room we had was spacious very well maintained and clean with a big balcony. Overall the small resort was very well kept in shape. Breakfast offered a good choice of fruits, typical brazilian cakes, eggs of your choice, very good whole grain bread, etc. The only critic would be that sometimes the goodies ran out (eg pao de queixo) if you came late. We are already thinking when to visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was a wonderful little resort/pousada - tucked away on Ilha Grande. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. They had tips on the island, getting around, restaurants, and more. The place was clean and inviting. The restaurant at the resort was also delicious!!! The location was great for exploring, hiking, and the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.2 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#16 of 17 in Ilha Grande
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
277 reviews
40.2 mi away
Portal dos Borbas
Portal dos Borbas
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagu Mini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagu Mini Resort

Address: Praia Brava | Praia Brava, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $178 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagu Mini Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sagu Mini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagu Mini Hotel Ilha Grande
Sagu Mini Ilha Grande
Sagu Mini Resort Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing