We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthwhile but can get pretty crowded”
Review of Lagoa Azul

Lagoa Azul
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.78*
and up
Ilha Grande and Green Coast Tour from Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #2 of 81 things to do in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
184 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Worthwhile but can get pretty crowded”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It is one of the tours available, but I feel it has become a bit too sought after and as a result there are boats all over the place dumping tourist in the water for the snorkeling experience. It is definitely less romantic than the movie version!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AlderleyEdgeTiger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,413
    410
    116
    22
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best snorkelling spot”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Boat trip up there wasn't too long, the stops on the way were lovely. Lots of fish at the 'lagoon' some reasonable coral, not spectacular, but worth a swim around. The restaurant meal arranged by the boat at a seafood restaurant on the way, was expensive for what we got.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NickFerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The lagoon is beautiful, such clear blue sea and great for snorkeling and seeing the fish. Boat tour was overrated as it is a three beach tour but this is the only place worth seeing. No beach here so straight from the boat to the water, fantastic to see but after a while can be a little boring.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kfmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sint martin, guadeloupe
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

gigi, our guide was wonderfull, we discovered some amazing place in the tropical forest and swim with tortles, i highly recommended to everybody, wish to come back

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank olivesxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good trip!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Took a boat trip to Lagoa Azul.. we loved it. A lot of fish (not much variety) but the color of the water is great!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaBoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagoa Azul also viewed

 

Been to Lagoa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing