We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great good and atmosphere”
Review of O Pescador

O Pescador
Ranked #20 of 72 Restaurants in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We ate twice at this restaurant during our stay in Ilha Grande. The food was really good (once ordered grilled fish, the other time steak with green peppercorn sauce), but surprisingly (being already quite used to Brazilian portions) portions weren't massive, perfectly fine for two people though. I particularly enjoyed the setting of the tables, directly on the beach with little lamps on each, very romantic. Also, compared to other restaurants service was very efficient and food arrived after a reasonable amount of time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aga_Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for O Pescador
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 154 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I ate here 3 times on our trip to Ilha Grande which is something we never do! The first time we were caught out on the beach in a torrential downpour and the poor waitresses were still running inside and out! The bruschetta as a starter was really delicious. The Muqueca (we tried the seafood and the fish) was delicious. The barman also mixes a great caipirinha! We found the service to be great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Fresh fish and nice tables on the beach, good food, but don't try to have a normal discussion with the owner. Very rude person. Expect to be trated as a criminal if you have problems with the check...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cleber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPescadorDaIlha, Proprietário at O Pescador, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Mr. Cleber
in fact we are really surpryse to reed this review.
As long we rembember , me and the receptionist, the problem was your attitude , not mine.
We always help our guest to resolve there problems with calm policy,
and we roslve trusting in you .

Againd, we are really desapointed with your attitude not fair at all, and really impolite.

Wish best,
Marco Mantello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Compared to other restaurants in the Island, I think this was more expensive while the quality of the food was similar. The service was great, I must say and quicker than other places and maybe the creativity on some dishes (pasta filled in with fish was excellent) may justify pay a little more. Anyway, we really enjoyed the dinner and everything, including desserts, was incredible.

Thank AnaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed two excellent, fresh fish dishes (good portion sizes) here on two separate occasions here. It is situated right on the beach front and there are tables inside or on the sand. In general customer service on Ilha Grande is not the best (sooo slow) but this restaurant bucked the trend and waiting staff dealt with us attentively and politely. They serve great meals for 2 at a very good price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Pescador also viewed

 

Been to O Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing