We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Lua e Mar

Lua e Mar
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This place is right on the beach, away from the village so it's really nice and relaxing. It's not perfect but the service was generally efficient and friendly, The portions are big and the food quite nice. Overall a lovely place to relax in Ilha Grande.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyds76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    316
    73
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HULL
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice beachside Restaurant”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The restaurant has tables and chairs on the beach as well as inside dining. Lovely location looking out to the sea, the food we had was good. The service was fair as little english was spoken by our waiter, the food arrived prior to plates and condiments.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantida, Uruguay
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant - even without power!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We recently dined at Lua e Mar, recommended by the staff at our accommodation. The first night, we ordered a dish that featured four filet mignon, wrapped in bacon, cooked with mushrooms in a Madeira wine sauce. It was served with both rice and French fries. The steak was perfect - still pink in the middle in spite of submersion in the delicious sauce. It could be cut, as demonstrated by our server, with the side of a spoon. It was a delicious meal and we were certainly looking forward to our planned return visit the next night for a celebration of my birthday. We had already decided we would have the seafood moqueca, a specialty of the house. This is a seafood stew, fish, shrimps, mussels, octopus, squid, in a broth which you can thicken to your taste from a small pot of manioc flour paste. It is also served with rice. However, when we arrived at the restaurant again, the lights were out. They had lost their power about two hours before and were still hoping to have it come back on again. In the meantime, they had illuminated tables of diners and the kitchen with candles. It was business as usual (they apparently have frequent power outages). Our meal arrived in a timely fashion and we enjoyed it along with several of the local drinks. As we ate, most of the rest of the tables, both inside and on the sand in front, filled up. As I said, business as usual. Once again, the food, the reason to visit a restaurant, was just excellent. We were on the island a week and ate elsewhere on other days. This restaurant is the best we tried, by far.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sydblackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, great food”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Sat on the beach, feet in the sand, looking out toward the sea, couldn't ask for more. I had the seafood risotto, so fresh an tasty and the service was great!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlepinkalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicous dinner”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A beautiful restaurant on the beach. We had the fish stew (moqueca) and it was delicious. A must go and if the sky is clear sit on the beach!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MagB-DaveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lua e Mar also viewed

 
Ilha Grande, RJ
 

Been to Lua e Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing