We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sea food... the best of the island!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lua e Mar

Lua e Mar
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Seafood, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
montevideo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sea food... the best of the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The tables are on the beach, with feet on the sand we ate a fish with banana, the special dish of the restaurant. Exquisite! If you like sea food and fresh fish is the correct place to go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank uguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    303
    69
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Delicious fish stews to share, fab beans... And lovely music on a my night. It was perfect. Staff very accommodating, and spoke some English which a helpful for me. Went back a second day to have more. , had the fish,coconut and palm oil stew, other time had the banana and fish stew.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzielee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The experience is amazing. Foot covered by sand, waves rolling right in front of you, the lights of the boats reflecting on the water.
Food was ok, huge portions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mateusiglesias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on Ilha Grande!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try this restaurant after reading reviews on here. It is slightly out of the centre, walk left as if you are looking at the shore, along the beach and you come to it. We were welcomed by a very friendly waiter, Reverson who spoke English. Like other restaurants on the island they serve dishes for 2 people, or you can pay 60% and have it for 1 person. I decided to have a fish and shrimp stew which was really delicious. My boyfriend had the seafood linguine and said it was the best meal he has ever eaten!!! The portions are HUGE though, so make sure you turn up really hungry! Reverson was very attentive bringing over Parmesan for the linguine and chatting to us about our trip. This restaurant is by far the best on the island! Go and try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenD1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beach, cocktails, great food. What more could you want”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Right on the beach. Amazing setting. Very romantic. Food was great, as where the drinks. 2nd favourite place on this island just behind Cafe du Sol. Only reason is that we went to Cafe du sol more as just seemed a bit better atmosphere and food was just as good.

Def worth a visit. As everyone said the banana stew is worth a try

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_Anders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lua e Mar also viewed

 

Been to Lua e Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing