We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but a tad overpriced”
Review of Pousada Guapuruvu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Guapuruvu
Ranked #36 of 96 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I think anywhere on this island is expensive so this is no different, but we were expecting a bit more from here to be honest. The room was comfortable, but the bathroom was not the cleanest - the loo seat was broken and the door didn't close meaning the always open windows allowed mosquitoes to come right in to the room. Breakfast was really good (scrambled eggs!) and the owners were nice and helpful. Well located, short hill to climb on the way in but it's no problem.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank allyrambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Guapuruvu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 108 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here in April and were so happy to find such a relaxing and safe haven after all the commotion in Rio de Janeiro. This pousada is a little outside the center and at night, it is best to carry a flashlight with you as the path is not all illuminated. Once in the pousada, run by two very friendly and helpful sisters, you really feel at ease. A wonderful breakfast is served on the veranda over-looking an inner courtyard full of tropical vegetation. Very nice place. One warning, your clothing WILL NOT DRY due to high humidity unless it is in direct sunlight...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelsForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just arrived back in Rio from here today, and I must say...we were sad to leave!

A bit of a walk back from the beach, however this allows you to really feel like you are sleeping in the jungle! Our balcony opened onto lush greenery (we had birds fly into our window twice!) the sisters who run the place are fantastically scatty; we felt massively welcomed (we tried to pay on arrival, she shooed us off telling us to rest and do it when we left!) both were always very chatty whenever we saw them.

The place itself was gorgeous; we had a small living area with fridge and bathroom downstairs and a small room with double bed and balcony upstairs, complete with air con (hurrah! It was a necessity!) however, with the island being prone to blackouts don't rely on the aircon!

Breakfast at the pousada guapuruvu was nice, selection of fresh fruits and juice, coffee and tea and pastries (and scrambled egg of course!) being set in the junkie you really should not be squeamish about bugs! There were ants in the sugar, and flies on the fruit - but hey, who cares, when you get to eat breakfast next to a mini waterfall surrounded by jungle?

The rooms were made up every day and cleaned thoroughly, to a very high standard.

One thing I would recommend to anyone staying anywhere on ilha grande: take a flashlight! The power was out 2 nights out of 3 for us, and as you can imagine it is PITCH BLACK! Our flashlight was invaluable!

Other than that - enjoy! This island, and this guesthouse are truly magical!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BenW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here as a back packer with two friends. It was quieter than the hostels we were used to but it was amazing, and the same price as a dorm but we were in a private room with bathroom (we shared a room with a double bed and single bed in it). Its a bit of a walk from the main drag but worth it 100%. You feel like you are really amongst the local community. The breakfast is the best I had anywhere in brazil, great coffee, fresh home made breads and cakes, lovely fruit, granola etc etc. You also sit in the most beautiful spot to eat your breakfast next to a babbling river amongst the tropical vegation with bright coloured birds flying past and tiny cute monkeys, its really heavenly! The rooms are basic but spacious and secure. The owners are lovely people. We didn't meet other travellers at this place, it was mainly couples at breakfast who we didn't chat with, but we went on boat trips during the day and met heaps of people so we still found Ilha Grande a very social place. Book a boat trip with the swedish guy that owns the Kebab Lounge if you are looking for a fun time he matches groups together to make sure everyone wants the same package!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cphelan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A couple of weeks ago we've spent 3 nights in Pousada Guapuruvu. I had chosen this pousada based on the positive reviews on this site. We had the best time over there. It is one of those places were you feel at home from the first minute. The room was very clean and looked very inviting. Also our bathroom was very clean and modern. We had a nice terras with a bank and a hammock. We had to cross a little bridge surrounded with atlantic forest to get to our room.
Breakfast was delicious and was served on a cosy terras in the main area.
The owners are very friendly and are always ready to give advice about trips and hikes on the island. The pousada is located on a 5 -10 min. walk from the center of Abraao.
I can recommend this place to everyone. If we ever come back to Ilha Grande we will come here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wouter000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a great stay at Pousada Guapuruvu. It is located outside the busy main roads and surrounded by tropical vegetation. Our room was accessible by a small bridge which added to the remote tropical paradise feeling. The rooms are quite basic though, but they are clean, have a bed and a hot shower so there's not much more t ask for.
The owners of this place are very friendly and helpful and were always interested in our daily adventures.
The breakfast was very good and with the amazing surrounding scenery it was the highlight of the day.
If you're comfortable with basic rooms i can only recommend this place. We were havening a great experience here and will gladly return if we ever go back to visit Ilha Grande again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We've had a warm welcome by one of the two sisters. Our room was simple but spacious.Because things don't dry very well on the island we got fresh towels every day.
The breakfast was very fresh and served with care. At the breakfast table, the hosts we're interested to hear our "adventures" from the previous day and could help identifying some of the animals spotted. They also helped choosing activities/hikes for that day with accurate information about the tracks and expected weather...

We felt at home!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbjh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.0 mi away
Estalagem Costa Verde
Estalagem Costa Verde
#35 of 96 in Ilha Grande
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Recanto da Ana Alice
Recanto da Ana Alice
#40 of 96 in Ilha Grande
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Armacao dos Anjos
Pousada Armacao dos Anjos
#14 of 96 in Ilha Grande
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Suites Cantinho da Pedra
Suites Cantinho da Pedra
#55 of 96 in Ilha Grande
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Porto Girassol
Pousada Porto Girassol
#31 of 96 in Ilha Grande
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Recanto Da Pedra
Pousada Recanto Da Pedra
#32 of 96 in Ilha Grande
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Guapuruvu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Guapuruvu

Address: Rua do Bicao 299 | Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $55 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Guapuruvu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Guapuruvu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Guapuruvu Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing