We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Casablanca
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Posada Casablanca was a great choice for us. It's just a couple of streets away from the pier and easy to locate. The rooms are clean and comfortable, not spacious (it's a quaint island posada after all). The breakfast is tasty - fresh fruits, juices, coffee, toast, cold cereal. The wifi is spotty. We loved our stay there, and it was very affordably priced.

Room Tip: Stay in the upstairs rooms. The downstairs rooms don't have as good a view and are less private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaintrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    79
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
102
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had a great visit and we were really happy to have chosen this hotel after seeing the choices first hand, on the island. The roof patio had a great view of the bay but could have been better prepared for guests. Food was good. Coffee great. Comfortable beds and friendly hosts. We were able to get three rooms i the same area so the kids felt safe being in their own room!

Room Tip: Best Wifi access is closer to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WebmanRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The owner and other guests were very loud making it difficult to get to sleep. I understand that you can't control the guests but the lady we understood to be the owner should have known better. The staff that helped us (checking in, breakfast) were very helpful.

Our room was very small and crowded. The balcony was too small to be useful. Breakfast was good and had lots of variety.

Room Tip: Plan to stay up late!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant and comfortable pousada with friendly staff and in a great location: 5 mins from the pier, the square and the seafront restaurants.
Very noisy air conditioner so be careful if you come in the summer. Lots of hot water in the bathroom.
Good breakfast of fruit, cheese, ham etc plus fresh juice and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidbaker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was the best pad on the island. We had a very comfortable and pleasant experience during our stay. The rooms were clean, spacious and of all the very well kept. Reasonably priced and at the best location on the island.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was a very charmy pink building with great location in the middle of the village. We had a twin room (not much space) with a small balcony. The room was clean, the beds were Ok. the air-conditioning was so noisy, that we really couldn´t sleep, when it was on. The breakfast was nice; it was our first stop during the vacation in Brazil - so, we were very happy about the fresh juice and fruit:-)) There was a big problem with English; the lady in the kitchen and the girl, who met us during the check-in, they couldn`t speak Englsih at all. There was only one lady, who spoke some English:-(( But the biggest problem was the toilet - we followed the rules and didn`t throw the paper into the toilet, but it still didn`t work... and no one cared, no one cleaned it, we couldn`t use the toilet starting from the second day of our stay and had to find the other ways to.... So, be careful with the toilet!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ullake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

OVERALL:
I would stay here again. I slept well, it has a charming vibe and a great location in the little village.

PROS:
1. This hotel has a charming; almost fairy tale look.
2. The lobby is open to the outdoors on three sides with many places to sit.
3. Our room was on the 2nd floor, in the corner, right above the pedestrian street. It's quiet at
night. We had a wonderful balcony with a view of the shops and a small view of the ocean.
It was relaxing to sit and read at night.
4. There is air conditioning!!!
5. Our bed was very comfortable and I slept great.

CONS:
1. Our room and our friend's room had a queen bed and a twin. We just plopped our suitcases
on the twin bed. The CON is that there is no desk. I'd rather have a desk and a dresser
than the twin bed.
2. In the bathroom there is small ledge above the sink for your toiletries. This was way too
small. There is no other cabinet available so I had to pile my stuff on the floor.
3. No hair dryer.
4. The staff was sweet but on the shy side. There is a list of rules and infractions on the back
of the room door and I was paranoid I would get charged for all sorts of crazy stuff. There
is a sign, posted above the mini fridge, that lists about 12 items that are in your fridge. We
had 2 Sprites in our fridge. Our friends had about 4 items in their fridge. The hotel didn't
charge us when we checked out of the hotel but it made us paranoid.
5. Wi-fi only available in the lobby.
6. Breakfast is just so-so. One morning we opted to go to a pastry shop instead.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.0 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#11 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Paraiso
Cabanas Paraiso
#19 of 82 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
11.5 mi away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#7 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casablanca

Property: Pousada Casablanca
Address: Rua da Praia 719 | Jardins Buganville, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Casablanca 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Abraao, the main town of Ilha Grande, seventy meters from the beach, the inn Casablanca offers a touch of sophistication, with a charming terrace in front, wireless internet, included breakfast and a staff ready to meet any requests of the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Casablanca Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing