We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, excellent breakfast!”
Review of Pousada Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Casablanca
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Loved this little place in Ilha Grande! It's a beautiful little B&B type place nestled between lots of other hotels, but it was definitely the best of the bunch as the exterior of the place was just so well maintained, really lovely. Also very nice location, a short stroll along a bustling side street to the beach. Our room was so nicely decorated, had a fridge and a nice tv, nice ensuite bathroom. The cleaning ladies did a great job each day (we stayed 4 nights). And leaving the best til last, the breakfast was amazing, literally the nicest breakfast I had in South America, selection of fruits, bread rolls with ham, cheese, nice coffee and hot milk, little buns and every day there was a different cake made, like chocolate, madeira. Sounds a bit too much for breakfast, but I always took a piece for later and it was so tasty!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 173 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights during new year. The room was ok, although not very large, the same goes for the bed. The room was on the second floor with a small balcony from which you could see the ocean (albeit at a distance). The location is very central as the pousada is in a side street of the main ocean facing street and very close to the pier where the ferry docks (1st street on the right coming from the ferry). Location is not as quiet as hoped for as many people walk through the street and you can hear them speaking, but it is not overly noisy. The building has a nice colonial feel to it.

Breakfast was very nice, wifi only in the reception area and pretty slow, service good and overall it was very clean. At a small cost towels were provided for going to the beach. Room had a safe, fridge, tv with local channels, AC and a fan. They have a rooftop terrace where it is nice to sit and read or take a nap if you arrive too early for your room to be ready.

It was expensive for what we got but this was probably the most expensive period to go, so in other weeks it might be different.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sebbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel is situated close to the beach front and restaurants in the paved area of the village but is surprisingly quiet - perfect for getting away from it all, yet still being at the heart of the village. our only problem was that we weren't staying long enough! Our room was small but totally adequate and had a lovely balcony. The breakfast was typical of what we had experienced in South America, plenty of fresh fruit, breads and cake.
The staff were very helpful whenever we asked for anything and were very obliging on our last day when we needed to leave our baggage while we waited for a later ferry.
When we return, we will be staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greengal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is the perfect place to stay. The staff managed so well by the lovely thoughtful Natalie who speaks good english, the location and cleanliness of facilities and the communal space where we sat around sharing our experiences.
We addded on to our already booked four nights on two occasions as it was difficult to leave.
As a well travelled couple this experience rates as one of the best.

Room Tip: upstairs has great view but the lower floor room was comfy too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and have no real complaints. The room was a little on the small side but it was nice to have a balcony and the bathroom was a good size. The breakfast was good although we preferred to help ourselves rather than be served (as we were on the last morning). As the staff didn't really speak English it felt a little odd at times (we are used to chatting away to people!) but, that said, everyone was really helpful whenever we needed anything. We also found the price to be very reasonable, which was very good for us as the exchange rate is pretty bad at the moment.
The pousada is in a good location just behind the seafront, and it also has a rooftop terrace with a couple of loungers and chairs.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heyjo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Lovely pousada. One of the best places we stayed in in South America for the price. Spotlessly clean!! Breakfast was gorgeous too. Staff didn;t speak much English but were very helpful all the same! Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caitriona714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Two doors from Elite dive centre, and one minute from the dive boat :-) Poussada Casablanca is by far the prettiest B&B on Ilha Grande.

Matched only by the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and staff - I visited on my own (for diving and hiking), but never felt alone (or unsafe) thanks to them.

As with all poussadas, accommodation is basic, but extremely clean. Similarly breakfast, but what a great selection of daily-fresh breads and exotic fruit included in the price. GREAT value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wozza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.1 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
551 reviews
40.7 mi away
Portal dos Borbas
Portal dos Borbas
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casablanca

Address: Rua da Praia 719 | Jardins Buganville, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $89 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Casablanca 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Abraao, the main town of Ilha Grande, seventy meters from the beach, the inn Casablanca offers a touch of sophistication, with a charming terrace in front, wireless internet, included breakfast and a staff ready to meet any requests of the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Casablanca Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing