We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing place with incredible food”
Review of Vila Pedra Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vila Pedra Mar
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We feel fortunate to have been able to stay at Vila Pedra Mar while we were on Ilha Grande. The place is amazing; beautiful rooms with views over the beach, great snorkeling out the front and some nice walks nearby. The closest to paradise we have ever experienced. The fact that the Vila is not in the main town makes the experience even more relaxing.

One thing to keep in mind when considering Vila Pedra Mar is that breakfast and dinners are included, and the meals cooked by Sarie and Riann were some of the best we have ever tasted. Dinner is a 3 course meal that would rival any restaurant. So the fact that this was included in the price made Vila Pedra Mar great value for us as well. The Luxury Suite was R$550 per night for our stay and given we have paid R$250 for inferior dinners than what we had here, the price for Pedra Mar is very reasonable vs anything else we considered.

Sarie and Jo are amazing hosts making the stay all the more enjoyable. They have created a very special place that thankfully for us they are willing to share with others.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite for an extra R$125 looked amazing; unfortunately it was booked for our stay. But...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TraveltimeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Vila Pedra Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 211 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

Trust the reviews; this is the best place we have ever stayed. The Villa is even more beautiful than the pictures show. We were so warmly received by our host, they helped us plan our days on the island and gave us great suggestions. The food was fantastic and the views absolutely breathtaking. I’m trying not to sound like a broken record with the reviews that are already on this page, but you will not be disappointed. We went here for our honeymoon and it was paradise. There is no other pousada on the island that will give you the privacy, luxury and comfort of this one. Stay at least three or four days, we stayed six nights and we could have stayed more. We wish the best of luck to our host who felt more like good friends with whom to share good laughs. We will never forget our time there and hope to go back.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great but it's worth it to splurge on the honeymoon suite.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrysanthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We had a fantastic stay on the gorgeous Ilha Grande, and 99% of that is all thanks to Jo and Sarie at the Vila Pedra Mar. The resort is perfectly situated on the Praia Vermelha beach, with a beautiful view of the ocean and its own pier for snorkeling in the bay. The location also gives you easy access to a number of hiking trails through the rainforest to small villages, beautiful secluded beaches, and even an acai grotto. Inside, the rooms are clean and spacious, the beds (fitted with bamboo sheets) are very comfortable, and the windows open right onto the bay so that you can fall asleep to the sounds of waves crashing and insects chirping (plus, you won't believe how fresh the air is there). And you simply couldn't ask for better hosts than Jo and Sarie: two of the friendliest South African expats you'll ever encounter, they were both very hospitable and knowledgeable about the island, and Sarie cooks the best dinners you'll find anywhere on Ilha Grande, without a doubt. All in all, they really made our stay an amazing experience; we genuinely can't wait to return! (P.S. Getting to the island from the mainland takes a little work, so we'd highly recommend using the private transfer service that Jo and Sarie arrange for their guests. Totally worth it: we had no problems getting to and from the villa, thanks to Andre's very capable driving.)

Room Tip: The rooms are all very comfortable, but if you can afford it, the Honeymoon Suite is truly one-of-a...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Not much more we can say to add to the impression you will have from other reviews...this place is just perfect!

Set on a secluded beach on the beautiful Isla Grande, far away from the hustle and bustle, this is the place to go to if you want first class service from two wonderful hosts and total relaxation in a beautiful setting.

Owned by the most lovely South African couple, Sarie and Jo (and their fantastic assistant Juninho) do everything possible to make your stay as memorable as they can. After five months of travelling the world, I spent my 33rd birthday here with my wife. Not only was it the best birthday ever (the private boat tour and beautiful dinner Jo and Sarie organised helped) but it was also the most fabulous place we have stayed on the whole trip!

Anyway...I could write for ever aout how good this place is, but here are the pros and cons:

Pros
- First class service from incredible hosts
- Beautiful modern house in a truly unique location
- Only 2 rooms so personal service and privacy are second to none
- Superb home cooking from Sarie
- piña coladas from Jo!
- Snorkelling equipment for free
- day trips organised at a very good price
- beautiful private jetty to sunbathe
- the best sleep you'll ever have with great beds (and bedding) and the sea lapping under your window
- feeling like you are at home, but with all the luxury of a top hotel

Cons
- there really aren't any, unless you are looking for bars and restaurants and a busy town. You don't need any of these, but if you are not looking for a secluded paradise, this isn't the place for you!

Just go! We will be going back for sure if we make it back to Brazil.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmycooper78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We had a wonderfull stay. The honeymoon suite was very large, beautifully decorated and bright. Unbelivably beautiful view. The owners are lovely and hospitable. The meals were delicious and healthy conscious.

This pousada was the best of the 3 top we've stayed in Ilha Grande. If you are looking for quiet, virgin like paradise, this is your place!
Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Operatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at Vila Pedra Mar and were overwhelmed with the hospitality we received. Sari and Jo are fantastic hosts and have a beautiful, modern home that they designed and built themselves. Sari´s cooking was exceptional and Jo was always on hand to offer any advice we needed i.e. some of the beautiful walks and beaches to visit. They also arranged private transfers for us to and from Angra Dos Reis and they use a great taxi service (Andre) to take you on to your next destination.

If you are looking for complete escapism from the stresses of modern day living, this is it! This is the best accommodation on the island by far and although it may appear slightly more expensive than other pousadas, the price does include breakfast and a three-course dinner - it is not cheap to eat in Brazil!!!

Room Tip: For the small amount extra the honeymoon suite is beautiful.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Ilha Grande is incredible. Accessible only by boat (no cars allowed on the whole island), with paths through the rainforest (originally cut by native indians with machettes) that lead from the interior of the island to tiny beaches along the way. Ahhhhhhhh, the mere thought is pure joy. The pure air was enough to make me want to live there; the sights of so many birds, monkeys, a giant sloth, a lazy snake, etc. The foliage of the rainforest was a lesson in life itself. The clear water--unbelievable.
Go there!
And stay at Vila Pedra Mar. The #1 lodging on the island for very good reasons. The gracious owners and hosts (Sarie and Jo--delightful from the moment you meet them on the dock in front of their beautiful home) make sure that you arrive safely (they make the arrangements for your transport from Angra on the ferry boat.) and spoil you completely from there. I can only say that I wish I could have stayed much longer..maybe forever.
Thank you Sarie, Jo (and Juninho!) for such an unforgettable experience and a treasure of memories.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
12.4 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
288 reviews
11.9 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
545 reviews
11.9 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
478 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Praia da Crena Inn
Praia da Crena Inn
#14 of 17 in Ilha Grande
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Pedra Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Pedra Mar

Address: Rua da Praia S/N | Praia Vermelha, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $242 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Pedra Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Pedra Mar is an exclusive island villa that combines the beauty of Ilha Grande with luxurious accommodation. The Vila has three luxuriously appointed suites complete with exquisite linens and towels. All the suites are private with seperate entrances and just 3 meters from the sea. The Vila is situated in a secluded and pristine part of Ilha Grande, surrounded by virgin Atlantic rainforest and fronting on 80 meters of private seafront with beautiful views of the bay and the village. It has a private jetty for swimming, snorkeling, sunbathing and docking. Vila Pedra Mar prides itself in providing personal attention and service and provides guests with 3 course gourmet dinners that are included in the price.The Vila has a private motor launch for guests to enjoy sightseeing and visiting some of the beautiful lagoons and beaches of Ilha Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vila Pedra Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Pedra Mar Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing