We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach time”
Review of Cafe do Mar

Cafe do Mar
Ranked #3 of 72 Restaurants in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: This is one of a string of restaurants on the beach just outside the center of town that don't actually have addresses (as far as I know). Others of its ilk are included in major guide books, like Foder's. I'd really like to give this restaurant a review because it was amazing food, fantastic atmosphere, and wonderful, English-speaking staff (a rarity on the island). Thanks!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“beach time”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

this place has a great ambiance at night. nice lighting, cool staff who speak english, very laidback. great for drinks after a long day of walking and basking in the hot sun. food wise, we were there for the bbq which they put on every few nights. we opted for the huge steaks which were not great to be honest, a bit chewy. the prawns looked delicious but as we had eaten boat loads of prawns the weekend before we didn't go for them. rats! the cheese and beef skewers looked great also. i think we made a bad choice. only thing about the bbq is that it is not cheap for brazil standards - around £10 for each item. suppose it doesn't matter though when you have such a nice setting!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oliP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    201
    44
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food, Great location”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Sat on the beach, feet in the sand, looking out toward the sea, couldn't ask for more.
I visited twice, for an evening meal, I had the fish with prawn sauce, so fresh an tasty. And once during the day, for my last cocktail on the beach, great!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littlepinkalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good Brazilian BBQ on a Saturday night”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday night, you pre order the BBQ before they cook it. We were fortunate to eat when there was a black out. Which added to the romance. Candle light and sounds of the ocean, perfect ! This restaurant is right on the beach. I had a BBQ barracuda which amazing. Great location and good drinks. Recommended

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barramax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Can't beat this location!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This small, laid-back restaurant is directly on the beach, walking distance from the centre of Abraao village. In the evenings (and lunch on Sundays) they have a BBQ menu: different skewers (beef, shrimp, chicken, veg) served with rice and salad. They were also grilling whole fresh fish on the BBQ - looked amazing. They do a great (but STRONG) caipirinha! Good music and lanterns in trees make for an unbeatable atmosphere. Sit with your feet in the sand and enjoy! *Take note that they only take Visa or cash.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ fish”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed on Ilha Grande for 3 nights and ate here twice when they had the BBQ. The fresh fish selected daily from the market was delicious. All dishes were served with rice and a side salad - simple but effective. I had fantastic prawns the first night but these were not available the next time we went as the prawns at the market that day had been too small.
I loved the ciapirinhas and my husband could have listened to the music all night. Lovely beach side setting and a great atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshireTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe do Mar also viewed

 

Been to Cafe do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing