We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The fact that the hotel is higher in altitude makes already a difference...
The hammock in the balcony, the veil that hangs from the bed to protect you from mosquitos... everything is beautiful in the room!
But what really made me feel like staying there is the nice atmosphere...Hugo received us in his own calm and cool way! He is so nice and friendly! And he is funny too! I felt at home with my friends!
I DEFINITELY recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lucia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 274 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Me and my girlfriend rate this resort very highly for a number of reasons. The welcome we received by the lovely Nicola, the well decorated accommodation, the all you need facilities, the views on each balcony overlooking the sea with hammock, tables and chairs, the location and the breakfast...all beautifully laid out and accommodating.
We will be recommending this resort to any of our friends and family who may be visiting Ilha Grande and we would defiantly come back here in future to come.
We wish Nicola and family all the best...thank you for everything.

Lee and Rachel. X

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were welcomed very warmly at the pousada, and someone came to pick us up at the pier and carry our suitcases. The view from the terrace was amazing and it was very quiet. We really enjoyed the breakfast and the pieces of cake left for the afternoon tea. I really liked this pousada and recommend it greatly

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our stay at Tagomago beach lodge was absolutely perfect. The hotel is very nice, with great sea views from all rooms and also breakfast place. Rooms are quite spacious, comfortable and clean, no smell, nothing. Every morning we had a great breakfast with fruits, fresh juices, cakes, bread and of course some cheese, ham and eggs. During the day, there was a coffee and a cake available (included in the price). The managers spoke perfect English and were very helpful in everything we asked them - to give us advice, organize a trip, help with transport back to Rio etc.
We really recommend Tagomago beach lodge! Would love to come back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, rooms in upper floor have nice balcony with hammock. Bottom rooms have nice terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jiri-Prokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The location of Tagomago is perfect. Tagomago is a little away from the main drag so is quieter than the ones that are. It is up a path looking over the beach. Sitting in a hammock looking over the bay was just perfect. It rained during some of our stay in Ilha Grande but we could still sit on the terrace and relax. The room itself is fairly basic but I got the impression that most places on the island are. The family that run the Pousada are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and it was nice to be able to help yourself to tea, coffee and cake in the afternoon. This is not a luxury stay but was exactly what we were looking for for our stay on the island.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JandMManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Tagomago is in the perfect spot: on the beach, near enough of the arrival and departing pier and main restaurants, but far from the noise in "downtown". It lacks small amenities like hair-dryer and good, powerful hot showers, but the great view and the attention of the crew and owners more than compensates that.
Abraao/Ilha Grande visitors and inhabitants should be aware to some changes that can worse the experience there. Even in April/May, no longer in high season, there were much more trash than should be tolerated in a island that prides itself on its natural beauty and attracts tourists because of them (cigarette ends, cans and plastic bottles can be found everywhere). There were also a rave-like party every night on Praia do Canto. The beat was far away, but I regard it as excessive (in volume and frequency) and alien to the general mood in the island, where people go to hear the sea and the birds.

Room Tip: Look for upper floor, with view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marcos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

perfect place to stay at Ilha Grande! Beautiful, clean rooms, good breakfast with fresh fruits and Hugo is the best host you can think of: friendly, helpful and always with an ear open for any questions! Will definitely come back to Tagomago when visiting Ilha Grande again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.5 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#11 of 17 in Ilha Grande
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
36 reviews
0 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge

Address: Rua da Praia No 121 | Praia do Canto, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Tagomago)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $102 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful island "Ilha Grande", 140 km / 90 miles south of Rio de Janeiro. The main village, "Abraao", can be reached by bus and ferry in just 4 hours from Rio. Located at the end of the Abraao beach, distant of the commercial establishments to some 500 mts. TAGOMAGO was build in wood, on the slopes overlooking the bay in 2005, and is surrounded by tropical vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing