We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my favorite places in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of my favorite places in the world”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Superb view of the bay from above. Arriving, you follow a narrow landscaped path up the hillside to the pousada. Upper rooms have balconies, and there is a deck overlooking the water next to the breakfast area. The rooms are clear and clean. Nikola and Mario are extremely gracious and make you feel instantly at home. The breakfasts are delicious with homemade cakes that change daily in addition to eggs, various fresh fruits and juices and good coffee. Also, afternoon tea. Nikola helped us in every way, telling us local hiking paths and recommending places for dinner. Most gorgeous beach we've ever seen, and you get there by boat. There are also lovely hikes just next to the arrival beach. One of my favorite places in the world. I'd definitely do it again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    73
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
144
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Tagomago we felt relaxed and like we were staying with friends.

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, with hot water.

The breakfast was delicious with home made jams and juice and lots of fresh fruit.

There was always coffee and cake available and the owners offered great advice about how to spend our time.

Would gladly return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quigimoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited Ilha Grande in June and absolutely loved our stay in Tagomago. The rooms are cute and well furnished (complete with mosquito nets, which we appreciated after seeing the bitten arms and legs of fellow travelers staying elsewhere). The rooms have beautiful views of the bay and second floor rooms have balconies with a hammock. The water doesnt really get hot but it is good enough for a comfortable shower.

The breakfast buffet and afternoon coffee are delicious and well stocked. You eat overlooking the bay and chatting with fellow guests and the owners. The homemade cakes are tasty, but nothing beats the fresh fruit and juice.

The owners are super pleasant and knowledgeable. They have lived on the island for some 15 years and are happy to give recommendations of places to go in day and night. They also speak English and Spanish, which is a plus.

The location is just about perfect. About a 5 minute walk from the central part of the bay, where the bustle (as much as you can have on a tiny island) kind of detracts from the island paradise feel. Here, you are close to one of the docks, close to the main hiking trails in a peaceful corner of the beach without quite being in the jungle. The building is set back from the beach up a small hill so you won't put your feet on the sand the minute you wake up, but I found out nice to walk off the grit a bit before getting back to the room.

All in all a terrific experience. I truly felt like the owners took every consideration of their guests to heart and made it happen on this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kibbles12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived on the island after a horrible day of traveling. Arriving at the hotel was jarring because there was no receptionist. We later discovered that Guillerm, the hotel manager lives on site and was waiting for us, but we arrived much later than planned. He was incredibly welcoming, helped us plan our visit and hike the next morning and put us up in the best room! The breakfast really was the best I had in Rio. Amazing assortment of fruits, fresh fruit juice, guava jam, breads and sandwich meats. (tip*if you are planning on hiking from the hotel to Lopes Mendez Beach, make some mini sandwiches and take them with you as your food options are very limited en route). There is no pool, but the shower worked very well and the room was nice and big and the VIEW was great.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VigorousVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Tagomago 3 nights and had a really great time. We arrived at aquario hostel and it was really close to the tagomago beach entrance. Apart from that we have had our carriage carried too from the beach to the house which was arranged by TM. Location is very good, i.e. towards the left part of the beach from main pier and also elevated in second row of houses giving best views. Room was great, clean with balcony, hammock, a/c wifi and really nice view. Breakfast is the highlight too being served on the terrace overlooking the bay and variety of local fruits is available etc. But the most important is Guilerhme the manager who is taking care of you, tells you all the local tips and trips suggestion depending on your preference and time and is a very nice and welcoming person. Overall we really liked our stay and we have wished to stay longer if we could. Warm regards Guilerhme! Andrew&Marzena

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at Tagomago for 2 nights and had a terrific stay. We were dropped off at the Aquario hostel without any real direction from the boat, but we wandered down the beach until we saw the nice tile mosaic sign for Tagomago. It's set up on a hill off the beach, which is nice and quiet, and feels a bit more private and protected.
The breakfasts were great, like everybody has said. Plenty of fruits and fresh made juices, plus scrambled eggs, yogurt and cereal, and ham and cheese to make sandwiches.
Guilherme(spelling?) was especially helpful. After we came back from our hike with super muddy sneakers, he offered us a brush and laundry detergent to clean them better. Even better, he helped arrange an earlier transfer boat the next day. There was really no way we could have ever taken care of that, but he got right on the phone and made a few calls and we were all set. It was great.

Room Tip: Get one of the top floor rooms with a hammock. The view is better and there is a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GummyTeeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location next to the Aquario hostel pier and very near from the Abraao village.
The Lodge t's in the middle of nature surrounded by forest with a great sea view.
Warm service and welcome by staff & owners.
Spectacular breakfast, you have it all. Also there is coffee, tea & cake in the afternoon.
Peaceful place, perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floor with balcony for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ititraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.5 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Praia da Crena Inn
Praia da Crena Inn
#15 of 17 in Ilha Grande
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge

Property: Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Address: Rua da Praia No 121 | Praia do Canto, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Tagomago)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful island "Ilha Grande", 140 km / 90 miles south of Rio de Janeiro. The main village, "Abraao", can be reached by bus and ferry in just 4 hours from Rio. Located at the end of the Abraao beach, distant of the commercial establishments to some 500 mts. TAGOMAGO was build in wood, on the slopes overlooking the bay in 2005, and is surrounded by tropical vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing