We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beachside Pousada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful beachside Pousada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonderful stay on the beautiful Ilha Grande. The room and the view was amazing, and we enjoyed swinging in the hammock in the late afternoon. We were greeted at the ferry and helped with our bags, served a wonderful breakfast each morning and treated like royalty throughout our stay. Gui and the rest of the staff were so friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the island activities. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham_and_Johanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    73
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
142
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Sunken into the hillside just off the beach, Tagomago is set in a beautiful, peaceful location. I received a warm and friendly welcome from the host who, throughout my stay provided superb local knowledge and advice. The breakfast is excellent, made all the better by the views across the bay and resident hummingbirds. A perfect stay!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms with sea views are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had some bad luck with the weather so we left after two days, but this can happen everywhere and Pousada Tagomago at least made those two days a nice experience.

The pousada is located a bit away from the main part of the town and offers a nice view of the bay. Guillermo, the manager gave us really good advice on restaurants and things to do (despite the rain) and really made us feel at home. We had a room with balcony and while some other reviewers here say the rooms were simple we thought they were perfect for an island lodge. So overall we were quite sad to leave, but ultimately it was better to move on to better weather.

If we have a chance to visit Ilha Grande again we will definitly stay at Tagomago. I booked through an agency after having some rather complicated experiences with other pousadas before. In this case everybody is very professional and they speak english, so I would recommend booking directly with them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Captain_0veur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spend 10 day vacations at Tagomago,and were perfect!
Everything was nice,delicious breakfast,comfortable room,beautifull view and silence.
The manager was very helpful and friendly.I would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLUZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Tagomago was a pleasant place to stay. Rooms were simple, but adequate with plenty of hot water. View was lovely from the rooms and I imagine better than many other pousadas. Breakfast was lovely.

We had good advice about restaurants and activities when we first arrived but not much after that. Wi-fi was only available in our room in the morning.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife, 7-year old daughter & I began our month-long Brazil-Argentina sojourn with a 10-day stay on Ilha Grande at Tagomago. We picked this one off the internet and we scored. Willi, our German host, was gracious, helpful and, in fact, became a friend. Our daughter played with his daughter. We had the upstairs corner room with a fantastic view and a nice (if a bit cramped) balcony. The location is perfect -- at the edge of town and a small climb up some steps for a great ocean view. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, and we had an AMAZING dinner with chef Buddha (yes -- chef Buddha) -- a great chef who taught my daughter & me how to make fresh pasta. The room was just a touch small for three of us -- we had to keep our suitcases under the beds -- but everything else was entirely positive. As we looked around the island, we realized that we had picked the very best accommodation on Ilha Grande. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: I liked the view from upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here in jan 2012. We researched everywhere on the island and picked this for the following. It's a short walk to restaurants and shops but far enough away to be away from the noise. Great views of the beach. Friendly staff. Rooms are a little dark but balconys with hammocks make up for that. We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilha Grande
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Hospedagem Acorde
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Pousada Casablanca
#9 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Praia do Jardim
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
#1 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge

Property: Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Address: Rua da Praia No 121 | Praia do Canto, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Tagomago)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful island "Ilha Grande", 140 km / 90 miles south of Rio de Janeiro. The main village, "Abraao", can be reached by bus and ferry in just 4 hours from Rio. Located at the end of the Abraao beach, distant of the commercial establishments to some 500 mts. TAGOMAGO was build in wood, on the slopes overlooking the bay in 2005, and is surrounded by tropical vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing