We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aratinga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aratinga Inn
Ranked #1 of 92 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“Great place for a great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had an amazing time in Ilha Grande, and this is thanks to Rennie and her staff. From the moment we arrived, we recieved a warm welcome and felt at home in the Pousada. Rennie's tips were spot on and the cakes were as good as it gets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    67
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
484
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Once again we went to the wonderful paradise island Ihla Grande, and there were no doubt in our minds of which hotel/Pousada we should choose.
We were not disappointed we were getting the same high standard and very committed service from Rennie and her entire crew what a team.
We stayed in one of the luxury chalets at first and have to say it was fantastic lots and lots of room a great deck.
We held our new year celebration on the Island and the night before Aratinga Inn invited the guests for before party with live music, champaign, drinks and food, it was so great.
So thanks to the entire Aratinga Inn team for yet another unforgettable super vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikkelBoesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed four nights in Aratinga Inn in mid-January and could not have chosen a better place to stay. The location was good; only five minutes' walk from the centre of the village. The breakfast and afternoon tea were delicious and our chalet (Azalea) cosy and clean. Rennie (or Hennie how the locals call her), the owner, was most helpful. I can warmly recommend this pousada to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mersu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Aratinga Inn. The location was perfect - not too close to the centre of Abraao but close enough to pop in when needed. Rennie, the owner, and her staff were very helpful from begging to end. The Pousada was very clean and breakfast was delicious. I loved watching the hummingbirds feeding in the patio while having a cup of coffee. I was also surprised with the quality of the afternoon tea, which was not even expected.
We also fell in love with Lucy Lu, the beautiful grey cat that visited us on a number of nights.
I would def go back there and to be honest, I really hope I do!
Ilha Grande got really busy while we're there so am hoping to choose a less busy season next time but I can certainly say I will be staying at Aratinga Inn next time we drop by!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Camila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Renee looked after us really well, providing helpful advice and good anecdotes about the island. We booked through ‘booking.com’ which only offered rooms. When we arrived, we saw the chalets. These are preferable, book with Renee directly. Breakfast and afternoon tea both plentiful, nourishing and enjoyable, and good for chatting with other guests. Although the beaches local to the town are fine, we would recommend getting a boat or walking to further beaches. Lopes Mendes is amazing. It is about 3km long, and much of the length of it has very few visitors. The town during the day doesn’t look quite as stunning as some of the pictures painted in the guide books, but the beach restaurants are very pleasant in the evenings. Aratinga Inn provides good respite from the hassle and bustle of the town, but if you’re looking for more peace and tranquillity you might need to head well away from the main town.

Ilha Grande receives its power from the mainland and this can be unreliable. Be prepared for the occasional night without A/C. Internet connectivity throughout the island can also be quite wobbly.

Room Tip: Get a chalet if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a last minute cancellation at Aratinga last week and stayed for 4 nights. It's paradise. Rennie and the staff can't do enough to help. There is a wonderful book of 'must do's' in the rooms covering activities and restaurants. The breakfast changes every day and is always delicious and there's the added bonus of home-baked afternoon tea each day.
We had a gorgeous new hut, spotless, cold air con (amazing), TV, huge bathroom, fresh towels and a big bed to watch DVD's from in the evening.

I couldn't recommend this Possada and island more highly. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolly580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Aratinga inn.. Rennie is an amazing host, she manages the place and her team with so much love, dedication and perfectionism. She is always there for you, to give you tips and anything you need. The place is beautiful, the bungalows are comfortable, it is close to the village and beach, the breakfast and afternoon tea are delicious. I would recommend this place to everyone!

Room Tip: We loved the new bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birke14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#4 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
11.4 mi away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#8 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
11.5 mi away
Vila Pedra Mar
Vila Pedra Mar
#2 of 92 in Ilha Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aratinga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aratinga Inn

Property: Aratinga Inn
Address: Rua das Flores 232 | Vila do Abraão, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Aratinga)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Aratinga, your haven of peace and tranquility on Ilha Grande. Our guest rooms and chalets are built in harmony with the verdant Atlantic rain forest. All of our guest rooms and chalets are simple and cozy, but we are sure you will agree that they are comfortable and very cozy. They are furnished with solid timber beds, with a top quality inner spring mattresses, latex pillows and quality, imported bed linen. Rooms are appointed with A/C, ceiling fan, LCD TV and DVD player, a bar fridge for your personal use, and all rooms have a sparkling clean, modern bathroom. For those seeking peace and privacy, Aratinga offers double chalets and double rooms, the perfect personal retreat for nature lovers. We do not receive large groups, small children or smokers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aratinga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Aratinga Hotel Ilha Grande
Aratinga Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing