We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay on a magical island”
Review of Aratinga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aratinga Inn
Ranked #1 of 92 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay on a magical island”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

After travelling through Brazil for a couple of weeks, we ended our trip at Aratinga Inn, and it couldn't have been better. Aratinga itself was wonderfully tranquil, but only a few minutes walk from the centre of Abraao village for restaurants and beaches. Rennie was a brilliant host, offering all sorts of useful advice for for how best to enjoy our time on Ilha Grande, and making us feel completely at home. Afternoon tea was always a highlight, and Rennie has a fantastic DVD collection which we enjoyed when the sun didn't shine. Thank you Rennie to you and all your wonderful staff - we would love to return one day. Robbie and Nicole (London/Buenos Aires).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobbieM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    70
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
51
490
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed a week at Aratinga and on Ilha Grande on our honeymoon. Rennie, the owner of the posada and the staff were very friendly and helpful and we felt really welcome from the beginning. The location of Aratinga is good because it's a bit away from the village centre on a peacefull place just next to the jungle. It's a great place to relax and watch humming birds fly when enjoying a breakfast.

The breakfast was quite complete. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit salad and juices. The afternoon tea with some cake was a plus.

Ilha grande is a great destination with a lot of different activities and beautiful beaches so you should stay more than just a couple of days. We were positively suprised that you could pay with a credit card almost in every restaurant and shop. There are some mosquitoes and bugs, but they don't carry dengue and are really not a big problem.

Suosittelemme lämpimästi Aratingaa ja Ilha grandea matkakohteeksi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutry, Switzerland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a really good time in Aratinga Inn on October 2012 (sorry for the delay on the review Rennie!). The pousada is hidden in the back of the main village (Abrãao) but is still very close of the center (1 minute by foot!). The place is calm and the pousada is surrounded by a very nice “jungle style” garden. The owner of the pousada is a very kind women called Rennie, who can tell you everything you want to know about the island and activities, and even organize some nice trips for you. She really wants you to have the best stay possible, and she’s undeniably one of the “highlights” of the pousada! Rest of the staff is discrete but very friendly, including the cats!
We stayed in the heliconia chalet (if I remember right), small (rooms in the main house seem to be bigger, but you have less privacy) but nice and comfortable, with a clean bathroom. Little inconveniences: despite advices, we couldn’t achieve to get a good temperature in the shower: it was either very hot either very cold! The mosquito net is also difficult to install correctly (it comes on your face when you are lying down and is too small). And it’s a detail but the balcony of our chalet was not the best because it’s the smallest (you have to choose between hammock or chairs), and the view is mainly the roof of the next chalet…
Breakfast room is an original mix from Brazilian and english style, buffet is varied and good (I just wished to have eggs). When you take breakfast you have the chance to see many hummingbirds who come to drink some sweet water in little “recipients” made just for them (very smart idea!).From 16 to 18pm you have a free “coffee time”, the occasion to taste the excellent cakes made by Rennie! Really thoughtful. And if it rains (it happens often on Ilha Grande!) Rennie has a hudge DVD collection.
Compared to the rest of our trip, we found the rooms a bit expensive but it’s probably due to the fact that you are on an Island…In general, we had a really nice time there and recommend Aratinga Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Aratinga Inn is definitely THE place to go if you are looking for a warm welcome and a stress-free holiday: beautifully appointed rooms in a relaxing and quiet environment; incredible attention to detail as regards the comfort and enjoyment of guests. Rennie and her staff could not have done more to make me feel welcome and to help me make the most of an all-too-short stay. The breakfasts and afternoon teas were delicious and served in a charming room with an open view onto the garden, where humming-birds darted to and fro. It was a particular bonus to be able to take a final shower in the afternoon of the day I left before catching the boat back to the mainland - typical thoughtfulness on Rennie's part. I went to Aratinga on a friend's recommendation and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

After a brief search, I decided to go to Aratinga. And it was simply the best. Reenie is a wonderful host. She is very kind and helpful with all you need. The place is very beautiful, close to everything, and at the same time, away from noise. You feel in the middle of the jungle, but surrounded by beautiful details. The cabin was very clean, new, and comfortable. It has a private terrace for you. The breakfast is all what you need and more, and after beach, a perfect coffee with cakes and juice will be waiting for you. Also the staff is very kind and helpful. Reenie recommended some restaurants and trips. So, if you plan to go to Ilha, trust me. Go here, you sure will be happy. I saw other Pousadas that appeared to be nice, but were not located in good spots. This is the perfect stay for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuenosAiresGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Aratinga Inn is located 5 minutes from the Main Street up a steep cobbled path. It's lovely and great value for money. Rennie and Bibi are so helpful giving advice on where to visit in the day and what to do at night. If you're looking for a simple, conveniently located pousada then you can't go wrong with Aratinga. Also afternoon tea was a treat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFlashPackers_AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

As soon as you step through the gate and up the cobbled path to Aratinga, you feel incredibly welcome, peaceful and comfortable. The poussada is beautiful; we stayed in Heliconia which was perfect. The décor was simple but stunning and there was enough room inside whilst not feeling that the chalet itself was overbearing in the surroundings. The hammock on the front porch was a lovely addition!

Breakfast and afternoon tea was delicious; the fruit juice is to die for. Location is great; far enough away from the beach that you feel like you can get away from the hustle and bustle, but still only a few minutes’ walk to the centre.

However, the jewel in Aratinga’s crown is Rennie and her staff. They couldn’t have been more helpful at every point in our stay. You see the same 4 or 5 faces every day, and they’re always smiling and happy; it really does make your stay in paradise that much more special. Rennie gave us so much help and advice on boat tours, restaurants, bars and transfers, and the ‘Ilha Grande Bible’ full of local tips was indispensable. I wouldn’t hesitate going back to Aratinga if we visit Ilha Grande again – the perfect poussada on the perfect island, definitely somewhere to find your ‘island rhythm’!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
11.6 mi away
Vila Pedra Mar
Vila Pedra Mar
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
11.5 mi away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#9 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aratinga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aratinga Inn

Property: Aratinga Inn
Address: Rua das Flores 232 | Vila do Abraão, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Aratinga)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Aratinga, your haven of peace and tranquility on Ilha Grande. Our guest rooms and chalets are built in harmony with the verdant Atlantic rain forest. All of our guest rooms and chalets are simple and cozy, but we are sure you will agree that they are comfortable and very cozy. They are furnished with solid timber beds, with a top quality inner spring mattresses, latex pillows and quality, imported bed linen. Rooms are appointed with A/C, ceiling fan, LCD TV and DVD player, a bar fridge for your personal use, and all rooms have a sparkling clean, modern bathroom. For those seeking peace and privacy, Aratinga offers double chalets and double rooms, the perfect personal retreat for nature lovers. We do not receive large groups, small children or smokers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aratinga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Aratinga Hotel Ilha Grande
Aratinga Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing