We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea...”
Review of Aratinga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aratinga Inn
Ranked #1 of 92 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea...”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the Azalea chalet and had an amazing time at Aratinga. Aratinga has a very chilled atmosphere and is nicely set back from the town but it is still well within walking distance of everything you need.

Rennie was an excellent host. She was full of information about what the island had to offer. We took her up on a lot of her advice regarding what day trips to do and where to eat and every time we were not disappointed! A very nice touch was the daily afternoon tea at Aratinga which is a must if you can make it.

Being at Aratinga really made our stay special on Ilha Grande. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Azalea was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    70
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
51
490
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We really struck lucky with Aratinga. We booked in for 7 nights (after 4 in Rio) and wished it could have been 17; we didn't want to leave .. the island, or Aratinga+Hennie. The pousada/pension/inn is small and very pretty, friendly and very comfortable - in all respects. Although it's a little walk from the restaurants, beach, etc, (a five minute stroll) that's a bonus in that it's super peaceful. Ilha Grande was very quiet and uncrowded when we were there (end July/beg Aug), even though at the weekend the visitors doubled (locals popping across for a w/e break from Rio). But I imagine that during the Christmas/Brazilian Summer it could get quite busy .. and then Aratinga's quiet spot would be even more of a treasure.
Nothing is too much trouble for Hennie and her lovely trio of staff, Josi, Lu and Regina. In addition to keeping the inn spotlessly clean they lay on a lovely spread for breakfast, and another for afternoon tea; the latter is really appreciated when you stagger in from a long day on the beach or trekking.
Hennie (Rennie) is great fun! She's led a busy life, full of travel (well she's from Oz, what can you expect) and adventure; she's one of those people you could happily chat to and swap stories with all day. She seems to have thought of everything re running the perfect little inn ... though it seems she still has some ideas up her sleeve for making Aratinga even more appealing - if that's possible!
As the island (and Aratinga) are so easy to get to from Rio we would definitely swing by Rennie's if/when we're in the area again.
Lastly - I can't for the life of me get my Lopes Mendez sand to 'squeak' like it did when we were walking on that glorious beach just a couple of weeks ago ... I don't think I 'collected' enough to get the effect! And it's been baking in the Roman sun for the last few days to get it back to its natural talcumpowder state.... I'll just have to go back! I miss the jungle/forest-treks too!

Room Tip: Our teenagers shared a twin room on the ground floor of the block-of-four (and so had a hammock to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifes_an_illusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent 6 days on Ilha Grande and it was a beautiful place, made all the better by staying at Hennie's place, Aratinga Inn. She is a great host and pays a lot of attention to detail for her guests. The rooms are immaculate and have everything you need and if you need anything else, Hennie is there to help! The breakfast is perfect and plentiful and the afternoon tea is a lovely touch, with delicious cakes and tea/coffee, and we even had soup on a colder day! We didn't need to waste any time wondering what to do, because Hennie was on hand, whenever we needed advice, with a wealth of knowledge about the island and the best things to do with our time. We would recommend this place to families, couples or individual travellers and I think it is really excellent value Thanks to Hennie and staff for a very pleasurable and relaxing time - hope we see you again sometime :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andytinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of hotels and inns in my life, having done extensive personal and business travel. I can say without reservation that the Aratinga Inn is a terrific place to stay if you have the opportunity to visit wonderful Ilha Grande.

The property itself is great - very nice and clean rooms, excellent breakfast and a perfect location which is close enough to the center of town but just far enough away to be quiet and peaceful.

What makes the Aratinga Inn stand out for me is the service. The owner Rennie is incredibly helpful and informative - she made our experience on Ilha Grande all the better because of the advice she gave us on a number of fronts. She is sincerely interested in her guests and it shows in everything the Inn does. Her staff is also excellent.

I would highly recommend this Inn - I can't say enough good things about it!

Jeff R.
San Francisco, California USA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffr0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

In a quiet spot on the island, but close to everything you find Pousada Aratinga. Run by super host Renny who makes sure you will enjoy your stay. She thought and thinks of everything. The 'chalets' and rooms are cosy and comfortable; the bedlinnen superb and the bathroom as clean as at home. Enjoy your breakfast with the table set as if you are in a 5-star hotel or your high tea from 4 to 6 pm. And if one of her cats wants to join with breakfast Renny makes sure the cat won't be allowed to do so. An exception in Brasil...
Her typical English tone of voice with a very high standard on service for her and her staff makes Aratinga an example for many others!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Photacropher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Aratinga, we stayed in the Azalea chalet and it was really clean, cosy and a true home for us for 11 days. What really makes Aratinga special is Rennie, our amazing host. She greeted us with afternoon tea which we then enjoyed every day and she gave us great recommendations for tours, hikes, restaurants, travel and everything in between. As a few people have said, the breakfast was great and Rennie's information book was so handy. The movies are a great evening or rainy day addition and we certainly made use of those! Rennie has put so much work into Aratinga and it really shows. I would recommend it to anyone and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CrazyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were in Ilha grande right after the new year's eve and even with all the tourists in the island we still felt very quietly at home and relaxed thanks to the warm welcome of Rennie and all her good tips on what to do and where to go. I just wish we could have spent more time there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
11.6 mi away
Vila Pedra Mar
Vila Pedra Mar
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
11.5 mi away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#8 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aratinga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aratinga Inn

Property: Aratinga Inn
Address: Rua das Flores 232 | Vila do Abraão, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Aratinga)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Aratinga, your haven of peace and tranquility on Ilha Grande. Our guest rooms and chalets are built in harmony with the verdant Atlantic rain forest. All of our guest rooms and chalets are simple and cozy, but we are sure you will agree that they are comfortable and very cozy. They are furnished with solid timber beds, with a top quality inner spring mattresses, latex pillows and quality, imported bed linen. Rooms are appointed with A/C, ceiling fan, LCD TV and DVD player, a bar fridge for your personal use, and all rooms have a sparkling clean, modern bathroom. For those seeking peace and privacy, Aratinga offers double chalets and double rooms, the perfect personal retreat for nature lovers. We do not receive large groups, small children or smokers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aratinga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Aratinga Hotel Ilha Grande
Aratinga Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing