We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The best place in Abraao from what I could see. Right at the seafront but still in the back to avoid the noise (well, except for the church "bells" but they only announce the hour at decent times not during the night or morning).

It's a few steps from the dock (and the path up to it is suitable for luggage on wheels!), about 10 minutes walk from the closest beach. It has all the amenities you might need, pool is nice for a short swim, there's a fridge, good breakfast, friendly staff. Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 490 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We were here for 4 days with our 3 children. This is an island where luxury cannot be expected. The nature is the real attraction! However this pousada has a working wifi, a pool and a playroom (basic, but the children enjoyed this). The location is great. We arrived at night and we were very close to the dock, so the walk was short.
The rooms are not cozy, the bathroom could do with a little renovation and smelled humid (to be expected on the island). When we were there, a storm passed and left the island without any electricity. The pousada has a generator, which is great, but it is loud and kept me up the whole night. The room was not very clean, the bed was not the most comfortable as were the pillows and sheets. Again, this is a secluded area so don't expect luxury! The breakfast was basic, bread, cheese, cake, cereal, coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SachaRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This pousada is completely fine. Nice that it has a swimming pool. Quite value, good location if you want to stay close to the pier. Lacks charm though! I stayed here with two young children for a weekend, and found the location very convinient for such a short stay. I do however prefer the pousadas that are a bit away from the village, further down the beach. I found almost everything about this pousada average. Average rooms, average breakfast, average staff friendlyness and helpfulness.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sildre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely little Posada just minutes walk from the harbour side where the ferry docks. Our room was clean and pleasant, right by the pool area. Breakfast was ok - the toastie machine was the highlight. The staff don't speak English, but Spanish will get you by there. There's no wifi at all, but this is to be expected on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyAnneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just got back from Ilha Grande and stayed at this excellent Pousada for 2 nights. I wasn't expecting much considering that it's on an island with limited resources, but it had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful, the wifi connection was good and reliable, the rooms were very spacious, modern, comfortable with a/c, hot showers and a decent breakfast. The location was also superb- right next to the docks and central to everything. I would def. stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I was in Ilha Grande last March and when I was there, I stayed at Pousada Recreio da Praia. This was one of the nicest hotels that I ever stayed in because it has a swimming pool, free breakfast, a comfortable bed and it is in a good location, right on the boardwalk. The closer you are to the boardwalk, the better it is because all of the fun things are happening on the boardwalk. Another reason to stay at this hotel is because it is located near the boat that takes passengers to Angra Dos Reis, which is on the main land of Brazil. Being close to the dock where the boat picks up and drops off is good because people do not have to walk far to get to their hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Pousada is fine and the rooms are ok. It's quite big, like a residence, and you won't feel a familiar hospitality. In particular we had a bad experience with breakfast: we prepared two small sandwiches to take away and we have been charged of them without any previous advise. In such an amazing place like Ilha Grande you can find much better accomodations! Carlo e Michela

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank giacomellos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#11 of 17 in Ilha Grande
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ilha Grande
274 reviews
40.7 mi away
Portal dos Borbas
Portal dos Borbas
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Recreio da Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Recreio da Praia

Address: Rua da Praia s/n - Vila Do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $97 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Recreio da Praia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Recreio da Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Recreio Da Praia Hotel Ilha Grande
Pousada Recreio Da Praia Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing