We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

excelente hotel. good locación and service. Have a polo to enjoy when comino back from baches. Not good internet connection.

Room Tip: From No. 1 to 5 are the best rooms located in front of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carito70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    170
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
174
169
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This pousada is only 150 meters from the Abrao port, so is very easy to find it!!!
The pousada is owner operated like the mostly ones in the island.
Comfy rooms with LCD tv, Air Aconditioned. Wifi is available if the weather is OK, because is a Satellite conection.
Breakfast was good. All the staff are very helpful specially Denisse who help me a lot with all the indications.
Could we back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RICKBSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This pousada is very clause to the main harbour of the island so it was very easy to get there with the luggages. The room was quite standard, not really clean but overall ok. Swimming pool is small but confortable. Wi-Fi connection only in the reception area. I would eventually suggest this pousada for a trip to Ilha Grande

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indierocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I am a student from Pace University, green mapping sustainability in Brazil and stayed at the Pousada Recreio da Praia for roughly 4 nights. We have set up a free website with different destinations around Illha Grande discussing sustainability, and the business practices. This is a very nice Pousada located in a perfect location in Illha Grande. Once the boat docks, you have literally steps until you reach your destination. Located on the water and is beautiful inside. Rooms are a nice size but the showers don't get too hot. Nice size pool and sauna, as well a delicious complimentary breakfast. Definitely would recommend.

http://ilhagrandemap.org/site/

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazil_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Perfectly located right on the beach at the center of Abrao, conveniently placed near the best bars and restaurants on the island too, this was the best place to stay to explore Ilha Grande!! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious. The breakfast served the best local fruits and pastries. I visited with a group from Pace University in New York City. We studied sustainable business developments on Ilha Grande. Pousada Recreio Da Praia was really concerned with maintaining the environment on Ilha Grande. I would definitely stay here again on my trip back to Ilha Grande!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zanakaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This is my 3rd year to visit Pousada Recreio da Praia. It is one of my favorites. The location is perfect right in the middle of Abrao and the staff are excellent and cordial. The breakfast is also great. Each year, I lead a trip of approximately 30 college students to Brazil to understand sustainable businesses. They also enjoy it and the price is very affordable.We are making a free website for sustainable businesses in Ilha Grande and will be adding Pousada Recreio da Praia because they serve traditional local foods, hire local people, have traditional architecture. Areas where they could improve are in recycling and using energy efficient light bulbs. Here is the website for Ilha Grande.
http://ilhagrandemap.org/site/

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank professorcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We have just returned from Ilha Grande and really enjoyed staying at Pousda Recreio da Praia.

We had a room booked for 2 people and enjoyed a very large room that actually had a 3rd bed and in general felt spacious. The pousada's rooms has been recently refurbished and the look brand new incluing the bathroom that apparently also is being upgraded to a better shower system. The pousada is in the middle of town and right by the beach front with great views directly to the oceans from breakfast hall. The breakfast is good and has everything you need incl. fresh juice.

If you can't be bothered to go to the beach the pousada also has a pool with a recreation area incl. pool, fussball table etc.

All in all we had a fantastic stay and can only recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viking75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ilha Grande
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada dos Meros
Pousada dos Meros
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Recreio da Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Recreio da Praia

Property: Pousada Recreio da Praia
Address: Rua da Praia s/n - Vila Do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Recreio da Praia 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Recreio da Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Recreio Da Praia Hotel Ilha Grande
Pousada Recreio Da Praia Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing