We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Pousada Manaca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Manaca Inn
Ranked #7 of 96 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nice place with a very good situation in front of the sea, directly on the beach, but not in the noisy part of vila do abraao. The best breakfast we ate in Brazil... Very nice owner, full of advises...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girondinshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 260 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon in June. We originally booked for 2 and then added an extra night. We had the ocean view room for the first few nights then moved to the back of the pousada for the last night. Although both rooms were nice the ocean view one is the better option for not very much more money.
As per the other reviews breakfast here was amazing especially coming from Rio. Lovely fresh fruit and breads. Eggs made to order and fresh juices.
The location is just as you would want it. Not too far from town but far enough for it to be quiet at night.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank RichKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We spend 4 nights at Pousada Manaca at Ilha Grande and it was a really good experience. The location is perfect, excellent breakfast, close to the city, right next to the beach and with a really good restaurant next door. The owner is very helpful!
We would definitely recommend this place to everyone going to Ilha Grande

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this delightful little pousada which is located right on the beach, close enough to all the shops and restaurants but far enough away for complete tranquillity. We had a sea view room which was comfortable and clean and it was lovely to hear the waves crashing on the shore. The breakfasts were superb - fresh and plenty of choice. Gerard, the owner, was pleasant and helpful. My only negative would be the poor wifi; it only really works on the decking at the back and at times we struggled to get a signal at all. Overall though I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelizzari2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Pousada Manaca Inn. The location was great as we were able to walk there easily from the ferry (about a 5 min walk). The room was very tidy and had a balcony facing the water. It was nice to have A/C during humid days. There are several restaurants close by that are very good. My husband hasn't stopped raving about the complimentary breakfast or Laura, who manages the Pousada when the owner is away. Laura provided directions to all the beaches we could hike to on the island. A really great stay on a beautiful island. Make sure you check out Lopes Mendez beach!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

That's because there are no cars on Ilha Grande. This Pousada is a very cozy place to stay while you explore the Ilha. Owned by a very friendly French gentleman with 38 years of island experience the Pousada is directly on Praia Abraão. It is a quick R$30 carteira legal ride from the dock in the village for your luggage as you walk behind the cart. Rooms are clean, neat, and cool, the girls will do your laundry on site and you get an actual real life sized bar of soap. Now that's a first and gets extra marks. Merci beaucoup Monsieur Gerard and staff!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ajaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Pros and cons:
Pros:
Gerard, the owner, is a gem. Very helpful and kind.
The breakfast is amazing.
The location is great
Cons:
Extremely expensive for what you get.
Didn't sleep through the night once because the bed is so insanely uncomfortable. New mattresses would fix that immediately.
Worst WiFi connection. Just get used to the fact that they basically don't have wifi
Very average rooms, small, plain.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank photographeronthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
35.3 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
555 reviews
35.4 mi away
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
#2 of 96 in Ilha Grande
314 reviews
35.0 mi away
Aratinga Inn
Aratinga Inn
#1 of 17 in Vila do Abraao
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 96 in Ilha Grande
315 reviews
35.3 mi away
Pousada Caicara
Pousada Caicara
#5 of 96 in Ilha Grande
238 reviews
23.4 mi away
Pousada Dolce Vita
Pousada Dolce Vita
#12 of 96 in Ilha Grande
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Manaca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Manaca Inn

Address: Praia do Abraao, 333, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $84 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Manaca is located at "Praia do Canto" in Abraao, the main village on Ilha Grande, 15 min. walk from the ferry pier. At Pousada Manaca the emphasis is on location, excellent personal service and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Manaca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Manaca Hotel Ilha Grande
Pousada Manaca Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing