We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!”
Review of Pousada Manaca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Manaca Inn
Ranked #7 of 96 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in one of the ocean view rooms and it was well worth spending the extra money for the view. Waking up to the sight of the beach and sound of the waves every morning was amazing. The staff were friendly and breakfast good too - overall a really good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 261 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

Pousada Manaca is located right at the beachfront a couple of minutes from the village center of Abraao. I stayed there with a couple of friends and we had the most relaxing time. The room was big enough for the three of us and had a small porch with a hammock, a refridgerator, AC and a ceiling fan and even a "real hot water" shower (not one of the common electrically heated shower heads). In the courtyard there´s a nice area where you can relax in the shadows and out front you can sit on the terrace and look out at the beach. Breakfast was another highlight, with fresh juice, eggs, home-made yoghurt, pies and other delicacies every morning.
To top it all off, the staff at Pousada Manaca was the best. Gerard, the owner, and Bianca (both speak English very well, Gerard also speaks French and German) were incredibly friendly and helpful with any questions we had about activities, where to go for dinner and any other requests (like helping us find a hostel in Rio and make a reservation when our previous reservation fell through).
For a relaxing stay on Ilha Grande, Pousada Manaca is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I spent 5 nights at Pousada Manaca (in August), in one of the upstairs rooms overlooking the beach and sea. It was just wonderful. Staff are all very kind and helped me with information about local restaurants, ferry/schooner schedules and fares, boat tours, hiking paths, etc. Two full-time staff are fluent in English. The room itself was very clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable, as was the hammock on my veranda. Breakfast was great (one can ask for eggs, in addition to the buffet of fresh fruit, nice breads, cheeses, meats, granola and homemade yogurt -- also fresh-squeezed orange juice). Manaca is in a great location. Very short walking distance to restaurants, shops, hiking paths, and the pier where ferries and schooners arrive/depart. But it is also quite nicely tucked away from the noise of Abraao Village. I highly recommend Pousada Manaca! Hope to visit again myself.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with veranda and sea view is highly recommended, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsh_12360827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Perfect location, right on the beach and approximately 2min walk from town. The upstairs beach facing rooms are the best. I could have lain on the hammock enjoying the view forever. We appreciated the advice provided by Gerard, the owner, on where to eat (and where not) and which travel agencies to use for day trips.The Lopez Mendez hiking trail is a must, it takes you along the beautiful coast line and through parts of the rain forest. I highly recommend going to Illha Grande when you travel to Brazil. It was definately one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: Upstairs see facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTL1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The location on the beach cant be beat! We opted for a sea view room for a little more. We relaxed on the hammock every morning and enjoyed the sound of the sea. The room itself is somewhat cramped and underwhelming but it is clean and functional. The breakfast was outstanding every single morning, fills you up and makes waking up a joy. Cant say enough about the owner accomodating us accidentally locking ourselves out of the in-room safe. They even lent us money until it could be openend! Great hospitality!

Room Tip: If youre going to stay at this pousada, pay a little more for the rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santiago P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Pousada Manaca was a quiet and charming guesthouse. Breakfast was delicious with freshly baked cakes, fruit etc definitely the best breakfast we had in the whole of Brazil. It is along the beach from the 'town' so it felt peaceful. We moved room a few times because we kept extending our stay, the beach facing upstairs are by far the best. The others are a bit dingy and dark. Take mosquito repellent as we were eaten alive! The hosts were really helpful and sweet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here with my husband. Great location on the beach. We asked for an upstairs beach facing room and made the the most of the hammock and view! Owner is very knowledgeable and gave us great tips on hiking to beaches and local restaurants. Lovely breakfast too and always cold beers in the room fridge!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
35.4 mi away
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
#2 of 96 in Ilha Grande
314 reviews
35.0 mi away
Aratinga Inn
Aratinga Inn
#1 of 17 in Vila do Abraao
700 reviews
35.3 mi away
Pousada Caicara
Pousada Caicara
#5 of 96 in Ilha Grande
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 96 in Ilha Grande
315 reviews
23.4 mi away
Pousada Dolce Vita
Pousada Dolce Vita
#13 of 96 in Ilha Grande
75 reviews
34.8 mi away
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
#6 of 96 in Ilha Grande
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Manaca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Manaca Inn

Address: Praia do Abraao, 333, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $84 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Manaca is located at "Praia do Canto" in Abraao, the main village on Ilha Grande, 15 min. walk from the ferry pier. At Pousada Manaca the emphasis is on location, excellent personal service and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Manaca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Manaca Hotel Ilha Grande
Pousada Manaca Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing